Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews

Found 1,495 reviews matching the search See all 8,353 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A huge variety of education and cultures
Cashier Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK16 January 2019
Management is great to work with. You meet a lot of good people who work and shop there. Personal skills will dictate how you percive the vast amount of duties and members that you interact daily.
Pros
Relaxed environment, great start wages, great opportunities to advance
Cons
Mentally demanding atmosphere, fast pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace with basket ball and pingpong table
Sorter/Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON2 December 2018
overall Costco is a great company to work for, however there is room for improvement on many levels. I've learned at lot working at Costco. management could be improve in the areas of communication.
Pros
early start time
Cons
limited public transit
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work with wonderful people.
Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 February 2019
It was an amazing place to work, where effort is noticed and willingness to complete tasks is valued. The group became a second family and I loved spending my time there, both on and off the clock. I will gladly work for the company again.
Pros
Benefits at part time.
Cons
Scheduling can be difficult to book around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun exciting place to work with great staff and teriffic benifits
BAKER (Former Employee) –  St. Albert, AB13 February 2019
had great time there. wonderful people to work with and pleasant managers. very welcoming environment to be part of. the benefits are probably the best part of working there though.
Pros
benifits
Cons
constantly standing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
VAULT CLERK & NIGHT MERCHANDISING (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB14 May 2018
A typical day at work included working on the front-end, stocking shelves, and working with cash in the vault. I enjoyed working with management, and the overall culture was good. They had an incredible benefits package which was very helpful for the staff.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Physically demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You need a good work ethic to be successful at this job.
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 February 2018
Busy you have five hours to get the your Section stocked and showtime ready

With the way the run the staff and with holidays sometimes there isn't enough coverage of staff.

They want people who think for themselves, management is okay as long as you work hard.

If you are part time they will change your schedule all the time, a guaranteed 25 hrs a week but more if they need you.

The hours are great if you are an early morning person, I found it hard to maintain a work/life balance.

The Pay and Benefits are good but you need to be there sometime and put in the hours to see those rewards.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON4 January 2019
Good pay
Long hours but worth the time
Wonderful colleagues
Top notch managerial service
Great customer services
Fast pace environment
Two breaks: 15mins and 30mins after every 2 to 3 hours of work
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty fun
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON28 April 2018
It was a fun job that required a lot of hard work but as the day went on it got easier. In the morning you would come in early, rush around for three hours getting as much done as possible, then have a 15 minute break. around that time was when i would notice there would be less work to complete and as long as you dont have a problem carrying boxes of up to 50lbs then you should have no trouble with this job. the only cons i have to add is that the management was horrendous and they dont care about anyone who hasn't already been there for 5 years.
Pros
free christmas turkey, employee benefits, fun work enviroment
Cons
horrendous management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fast paced workplace
Stock/Merchandising Associate (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 November 2018
irrational shift times. extremely busy. It was great for when i was wokring and doing school, untill i needed days of for school reasons but management most of the time did not let me get days off because of how busy and understaffed the place was.
Pros
pay for part time decent
Cons
irrational hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a very rewarding work experience
Night Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB26 April 2018
During my employment at Costco Wholesale, I found that my coworkers were very dependable and easy to get along with. The management team was always willing and able to assist in tasks that required more than one person. They were also generally friendly, and if one were to put in 110% every day, the individual would be rewarded accordingly. Overall this was quite a lovely work experience, and I honestly would not mind working for this company again in the future.
Pros
Lots of opportunity for advancement, affordable wages
Cons
Indoors
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work, very welcoming
Seasonal AM Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON3 January 2019
I only worked there for a short period of time as I was a seasonal employee but it was a great job to have. Unfortunately hours were cut and we could not be kept on but there is the potential for a call back. The management team is wonderful. Overall a great job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a good company but depends on managment
Freezer Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB14 February 2019
-stock shelves, receive trucks, clean the work area
-management at my location could've been better
-Hardest part of the job is managing your time
-Most enjoyable part is looking at your perfected area when all the work is finished
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits but takes a while to move up
FRONT END CASHIER/ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 July 2018
This company pays well and has great benefits. All hired staff are hired as "part time seasonal" and they can refuse to keep you after 90 days. If they choose to keep you on, it takes about 3 years to get a full time position. They work as a seniority company instead of going by who's more qualified for a position when considering people for employment opportunities within the company. They do not work around any outside scheduling so if you have another job, make sure they're more lenient with schedule compromising. They do have a great student program if you are a university or college student and will work around that schedule if you have proof of acceptance and a schedule.
Pros
great pay and benefits
Cons
takes a long time to move up and no schedule leniency
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty accommodating
Electronic sales (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB22 November 2018
Was hired for technology sales due to past experiences, very accommodating if you want to go to college or university.
Wage is amazing for the job you do, moving around departments is pretty easy.
Pros
Very good pay
Cons
Each store has it's own "culture" which can be eh.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive upbeat work environment
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB11 January 2019
Very professional work place/company, typical day at work for the tire center was answering calls and dealing with a customers questions on pricing and size for their vehicle. Stacking tires and organizing stock. Taking in customers vehicles for tire repair, rotation, new set of tires or a re balancing. Making sure their vehicle gets treated with care and respect and paper work is complete. Costco Tire center is where I learned my customer care skills. The most enjoyable part of my job was working with amazing co workers, because Costco is such a big company they take care of their own and that's why everyone one that works at Costco is always a happy and nice individual.
Pros
Free membership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Good the Great and the helpful
Florist Sales and Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON31 October 2018
Bloomstar gave me the opportunity to work long hours and gain the knowledge necessary to move forward in the merchandising industry.
Costco has far too many employees to become close with the workers and are very helpful and knowledgeable.
Pros
long hours
Cons
too many employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast & fun workplace
Majors Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 July 2018
There's many advantages to working at Costco - free lunches here and there, many training modules to take advantage of, tons of experience to gain from working here.
Pros
Job security, higher than minimum wage
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK31 December 2018
Good place to work. Open communication format, extensive benefits and compensation, rewards and incentive programs. Availability of training and professional performance development opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace, hard working crews
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 September 2018
Lots of heaving lifting, everything at Costco is large scale. hard working fast pace environment. They have a great benefits package and lots of opportunity to grow. They care about their employees and you don't feel like a number. I found it to be a good company to work for overall.
Pros
Free membership
Cons
Weird shift times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture, people, and Organization
Sales Associate / Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON5 August 2018
Great place to work with great people and culture.

Very fast paced and there is always something to do. Great if you like working with your hands. Time flies when you work. Opportunity to work autonomously when the store closes and they play music on the speakers. Loved working here- had to leave because there was a 10 year waiting list for full time employment.

As soon as I left, they opened full time positions left and right. Whoops
Pros
fast paced, great people
Cons
can be physically demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 8,356 reviews
54K
42.7K
31.2K
2285
1221

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.3Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture