Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Front end assistant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 March 2018
The job was fast paced and required attention to detail as well as the ability to be social. the job was fast paced and required many different you to perform many different tasks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Costco Heritage26 March 2018
Good management that respects rights and needs of employee. A great place to work with all standards and rules in place to keep everyone safe. Very comfortable environment with locker rooms and staff rooms to take a break.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Clothing Associate (Current Employee) –  London, ON26 March 2018
My typical day at work is organizing and stocking clothes. I enjoy dealing with customers and helping them. I like working on busy days because it makes the day go by fast.
Pros
Good breaks
Cons
Late shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun with the right people around you.
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC25 March 2018
I spent most of my day stocking produce and found that most of the employees were fun to be around, although the warehouse manager could be quite intimidating. Other than that, everything was okay.
Pros
Free lunch sometimes.
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Service Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC24 March 2018
Service Deli Assistant
Prepares, packages, and labels meals, entrees, salads, party trays, rotisserie chicken, ribs, sushi, and sliced meats and cheeses. Assembles take-and–bake pizzas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 March 2018
i leand from this job is to how to promote the product and how to comvience the consumer to sell the product and reach at the goal of selling.The hardest part is to handle the more than one people at same time . The most enjoyable part is the appriciation of people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Company
Majors Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB23 March 2018
Costco really cares about their employees and it shows. Great experience. Hours were great, training was solid,and they genuinely appreciate your work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environement de travail agréable
Caissier (Former Employee) –  Ste.-Foy, QC23 March 2018
Environement de travail agréable. Par contre la compagnie a fermer ces portes. Acheter par une autre entreprise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with great benefits
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB21 March 2018
Being connected with Costco was a benefit! The job was great and kept me busy. I felt very respected and appreciated as an employee here. I worked closely with staff and made some friends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
FOOD SERVICE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON20 March 2018
Very easy staff to get along with. lots of hours availible. but they cap you in the positions. part time no overtime, full time no overtime. so theyre isnt room for extra money to be made
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report

Want to know more about Costco Wholesale?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Positive atmosphere
Costco Wholesale (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON20 March 2018
- provided customer service
- prepared and served food
- worked with a great team
- appropriately handled money
- very busy, and high demand
- awesome management!
Pros
amazing co-workers
Cons
very busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay and Work Life.
Night Merchandiser (Burlington Location) Part-time (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON20 March 2018
Fun atmosphere at Costco. The company regularly hosts events and bbq's to show workers appreciation.

Pay structure is very good, though it does take alot of time within the company to get up to max rate, which is around $26 an hour.

Company places a strong emphasis on promoting from within. Fun culture. Very busy!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, customer service, good team work
Cashier/Frontend Assistant (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK19 March 2018
Like you all know, Costco is a very busy place to work and customer service is the number priority of the company. A typical day at work is going into work and helping the customers by putting them through. I learnt the beauty of excellent customer service. Management is very good as they are easily accessible . They have a very good workplace culture as you have a good diversity of nations working there and everybody works as a team. There was no hard part to my job. The most enjoyable part of the job is when you render wonderful customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career with many opportunities
Meat cutter Associate (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON17 March 2018
From my time at costco i was a simple student. After graduation i could see myself moving and really enjoyed Costco, Only left to pursue my accounting
Pros
great benefits, job rotation, great hours, costco hot dogs
Cons
moving up is mostly seniority, salary starts slow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Front End Associate (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC15 March 2018
Great place to work. Management is fair and the work-load is manageable. The warehouse operations are very organized and employees are helpful and supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Stocker/Cashier Assistant (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON15 March 2018
Worked around my school hours. Plus the company really took care of their employees.Additionally when i went to school they kept me on as seasonal staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work Part Time
Seasonal Employee (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON15 March 2018
I enjoyed my time there. Didn't like some of the arrogance that went on with the senior employees. Supervisor did not appear to care about his employees. That would have been the only downfall.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bonne ambiance de travail
Commis saisonnier (Former Employee) –  Brossard, QC14 March 2018
Decu de n'avoir presque travaillé pour le poste dont j'étais engagé. Au lieu de travailler au service on m'envoyait toujours au marchandisage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible opportunities
Front End Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON13 March 2018
Costco provides numerous advancement opportunities and grows people in the direction they want to go. It opens unlimited doors as long as you have the drive to keep climbing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Company
Morning Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, Alberta12 March 2018
Costco is overall a decent company to work with. However, the starting pay is not at all very good, it takes a while to get to a decent wage, get full-time work or benefits and the hours are pretty daunting if you work morning (you start at 4am).
Work is very fasted paced and depending on your position, very labour intensive. The management are all fairly friendly and they do have an open door policy.
Pros
Free membership, good management, benefits after some time
Cons
Poor starting pay, hard to advance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 6,486 reviews
53.1K
42.1K
3937
2199
1163

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.3Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture