Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not care about you
Commis au service à la clientèle (Current Employee) –  Saint-Jérôme, QC18 September 2018
They do not care about you, they prefere to use you and think they can because they give you nice assurance
Pros
Membership carte
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not work for
Front end/ Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 September 2018
I would not recommend working for this company They do not look after their employees or care about anything happening in their lives. As a student needing some time off for ems etc. they were never accommodating/
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of physical work,high paced demands,very repetitous.
Front End/Merchandise (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK17 September 2018
The day starts:
Swipe the employee card in,go retrieve carts, assist with heavy loads , pick up garbage in parking lot , cart corrals etc etc. At the last two hours of my shift I may get to operate a forklift and unload stock from the steel racking or stock shelves. I have also been trained to work at the Gas Station,Tire Shop,and the Propane Center.

Management:
Efficient,and multitasking

Workplace Culture:
As positive as can be due to some Unique individuals , otherwise most employees are exhausted from fast paced /effort work duties.

Hardest Part of Job:
Keeping a Smiling face and good demur when dealing with uncooperative or disrespectful members.

Most Enjoyable part of the Job:
The Company Infrastructure for possible advancement
Pros
Rewards for Christmas(Free Turkey), various meals for being safe in the workplace for extended periods.
Cons
Usual frustrations when dealing with the public
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Food Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB17 September 2018
Would recommend for starters and people that would like to stay with the company.

I had very good benefits and customer service was priority there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Member Service (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC17 September 2018
This is a fast past work environment consistent multitasking is a key skill to work here I would say. Definitely a fun work place, you will definitely make friends here - Also this company has numerous opportunities to move up
Pros
free membership
Cons
hard to get weekends off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and always room for advancement and change
Deli Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 September 2018
I enjoyed my time at Costco and loved learning how different warehouses operate within the same scope of procedures.
Hardest part of my job was working in the cold department freezers.
Pros
shifts had excellent start and closing times.
Cons
Couldn't get full time hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy and enjoyable place to work
Refunds Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 September 2018
Great place to work, meet lots of great people and learn great costumer service. managers are flexible with scheduling hours. You are trained properly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Costco
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 September 2018
Overall culture was not pleasant. Although I learned a lot about people skills, patience, efficiency, organization, book keeping, and much more! Great for temporary work.
Pros
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pointe-Claire, QC14 September 2018
I worked there very briefly, however they are super attentive to their employees needs and the pay is decent for a student.
They offer free membership and benefits as well!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bon environnement de travail avec très bons avantages sociaux
Marchandiseur (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC13 September 2018
Très bonne compagnie pour faire carrière, avec de bons avantages sociaux et une sécurité d'emploi. De plus, les possibilités d'avancement avec la compagnie sont nombreuses, l'ambiance au travail est très bien. J'ai aimé mon expérience de marchandisage, ce que j'ai moins aimé, c'est qu'on occupe un poste différent de celui pour lequel on a appliqué durant la moitié du quart de travail et j'ai moins aimé cet aspect là.
Pros
avantages sociaux, sécurité d'emploie, possibilité de monter assez rapidement
Cons
salaire
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere and fantastic co-workers
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 September 2018
Hard work but very rewarding. A very diverse company with amazing employee relations. Costco offers opportunities for advancement and training in all areas.
Pros
Great benefits. Amazing co-workers
Cons
Physically demanding, shift work and must agree to work all weekends, home life suffers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positif
Aide Commis (Restaurant) (Former Employee) –  Boucherville, QC9 September 2018
Belle ambiance de travail, possibilité d'avancement, demande une bonne tête sur les épaules.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier and Front End Assistance (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC9 September 2018
While working at Costco, I was given the right amount of training that was needed. The supervisor was always present when they were needed. Although it was a past paced work place I never felt rushed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in Costco is fun
Deli Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 September 2018
1.Demonstrated ability to work within a team or individually equally effective
2.Collaborated with other teams’ members over cross functional activities
3.Able to work with little supervision; self-motivated, organized, and punctual
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Efficient Workplace with Minimal Job Security
Service Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 September 2018
Training is sub-par, communication with management is difficult to come by, hours can be absolutely rending, and efficient use of time is valued above all else.

The people who work for Costco become kind, hardworking individuals by necessity, and the work is very fulfilling to do. Overall the job was a valuable learning experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful busy pharmacy
Certified Pharmacy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 September 2018
We would quote 2-3 hour wait times, the customers were very unhappy and sometimes aggressive.

As a part-time employee you're only guaranteed 25 hours per week but are expected to be available as if you were working a full time job, you have to work 5 days per week, even if its only 5 hour work days, which you cannot live on.


Benefits are awesome, but not worth the stress....
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for a first job
Tire Technician, Lot Attendant, Packer, Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 September 2018
can advance quickly if you work hard enough, but it is usually first come first serve with a lot of stuff, and seniority in others. being a packer is a nightmare.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team, great benefits
PM Merch Stocker (Current Employee) –  Ancaster, ON4 September 2018
Costco has a great team of people working for them.. lots of room for growth in the company, excellent benefits. Fast paced environment, lots of heavy lifting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Front End Assistant (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON3 September 2018
Such an amazing job to have. Staff is very friendly and accepting to new workers. The most enjoyable part of the job is the people that you meet and the positive attitude everyone has when coming to work. Always putting the members first which is amazing customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Product Demonstrator (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK30 August 2018
I am involuntarily writing because this is a requirement. I don't have anything specific to say about the job. I mainly just encouraged passerby's to try out the available product and inform them on the product.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 7,528 reviews
53.6K
42.4K
31.1K
2248
1187

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.3Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture