Costco Wholesale Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stability
Analyste (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 May 2018
They have an open door policy
Great opportunities for the right person
Benefits are superior
Retirement program
Bonus for certain levels
Typical office politics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
VAULT CLERK & NIGHT MERCHANDISING (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB14 May 2018
A typical day at work included working on the front-end, stocking shelves, and working with cash in the vault. I enjoyed working with management, and the overall culture was good. They had an incredible benefits package which was very helpful for the staff.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Physically demanding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work with amazing benefits
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON14 May 2018
Worked here for over 25 years. Love the people. Love the job. Ive learned so much as an employee at costco. The benifits and rewards are well worth the hours put in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace all around
FRONT END ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Rocky View, AB10 May 2018
Costco Wholesale is a place that one can gain valuable experience from working. They may even choose to stay because of the competitive retail salary, and the fair chance of advancing their career through working full time.

As a front end assistant, the shifts given is usually variable. On a typical opening day, we get ready to operate the very front line of the warehouse through cleaning the areas and stuffing the tills with boxes for members/clients to use. The bulk of the shift is taken up by either operating as a cashier or packer. Often times, members change their mind on an item that they were about to purchase, and I can be tasked with putting the collective items back to their place. If I am placed on a later shift that extends through closing time, we go out to help cart-pushers put back carts in their respective places.

Going to Costco has immensely improved my communication skills and attention to detail regarding customer service. Not a single day goes by without speaking at least a couple thousand words to everybody, so an improvement in communication skills proves to be imminent working as a Front End Assistant. As one would expect, the hardest part of work is maintaining the enthusiasm and positive attitude in the face of the mind numbing work environment.

However, Costco Wholesale treats their employees with a great amount of respect, and their hard work is recognized. This fair work environment encourages positivity, and it simultaneously teaches one on what hard work is like. With the combined experience of talking to members and coworkers alike,
  more... socializing is a huge aspect of working Front End. That being said, being able to socialize and have the ability to be your own personality is the most enjoyable part of the job.

Overall, I firmly believe that working at Costco will give a leg up to any type of sales position that one may apply in the future, as we are also pushed to promote our programs, which is for the members' own benefit. The position is relentless with communication, and my personal relationship with management has been efficient and amicable.
  less
Pros
Good work environment, good management, good experience
Cons
Can be very draining and have no energy left by the end of the shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall workplace
Front End Cashier (Current Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC9 May 2018
Overall solid job. Managers are usually fine. The aspect of teamwork does create a degree of solidarity among co-workers. For a student, the hours are very flexible to allow one to maintain their studies.
Pros
Food. Wage. Hours
Cons
Difficult to get time off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Opportunity
Stocker/Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON8 May 2018
You start at a fair wage and as you accumulate hours your wage goes up. They also have a seniority system, if you have been there for a while, you can move up into management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable and fun
Assistant/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 May 2018
I love my coworkers, everyone is so nice! Lots of new faces constantly when they hire seasonals so you get to meet a lot of people. Once you get to know them and have fun, every shift is actually enjoyable. Otherwise the job is very repetitive and can become boring very fast. If you want stability and good benefits, definitely recommned working here. Very flexible for students they only give you 15 hours a week distributed on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. However sometimes they give little to no hours during the first 2 and sometimes 3 months of the year when business slows down. Lack of communication between managers and supervisors can be annoying and everyone has a diferent answer. When asking for time off, or if you have any questions make sure you ask more than one person to have a better idea. However it's nice that you don't have to respond to only one supervisor/manager, you can pretty much pick and choose once you get to know them. Most of them are really nice anyway. If you work in a department with lots of employees, like the front end, it's easy to switch shifts and get time off. Easy to move within deprtments too, just look for the postings in the lunch room and apply as soon as you see it. Both timeliness and seniority are taken into account.
When business is slow, sometimes they ask you if you want to go home early but if you need the hours, they let you stay too. When they're really short of people and business is busy they might even ask for overtime. Overtime doesn't happen very often though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun loving environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 May 2018
Costco is a great employer. Everyone gets benefits as soon as they are part-time which is unheard of in most retail jobs. Costco also gives 6 weeks off unpaid to whoever wants to take it during the winter which is great for those who want to travel. This is along with the 2 weeks vacation paid you already get.
Pros
Lots of free food in the break room
Cons
Lots of weekend shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great placer to work
Night Merchandising/Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON6 May 2018
As long as your doing your job its a perfect place. some member can really get on your nerves but that's part and parcel. The pay scale is a little scary at first and it difficult to get in full-time but as long as your committed and apply yourself it will be ok.
Pros
Great pay! top pay scale is 26 dolllars an hour
Cons
some management can be real winners. lol
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
has potential to be the best of jobs
Merchandising (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON4 May 2018
Costco is a great place, they offer many benefits that help support your life, even as a part timer, but unfirtinally i find, unless you some how become the best of buddehs with the top managers or have put in at least 10-20 years of service, respect and freedom are very hard to come by, you are always fighting to keep your head above the water, barely being recognized for your good deeds but always having your failures thrown at you as a reminder not to do it again... i am making it sound like an -happy place, but i do suggest to give it a shot, i have made new friends and have learned great skills i would not have learned other wise... it may be a little difficult, but what job is-int
Pros
great benefits, great guaranteed hours, many different positions to try
Cons
moody managers, very fast pace, dealing with people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but very fast pace environment
Cashier and Customer Service, PREUC (Former Employee) –  Saint-Hubert, QC3 May 2018
I liked working at Costco, but it was very demanding and required a fast pace work ethic. However they have great benefits if you are looking to work part-time or full-time, but no benefits for students...
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Very demanding work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace, not very flexible
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB3 May 2018
It was a decent enough job, work was good but repetitive. Management was mediocre at best, really high expectations, not much guidance.
Was frequently understaffed, and the job was very inflexible for a part time job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good atmosphere
SALES REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 May 2018
I am glad to work with costco, positive attitude, helpful, busy and more fun as well as great and engaging and educate the members helping them to find their products.
Pros
Free Lunches, Stat and Vacation Pay
Cons
Short Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn't for me
Product Demonstrator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa East, ON1 May 2018
Personally the management style and environment wasn't my fortay. Working in this position is not recommended to anyone with a food allergy or sensitive smell.
Pros
snacks on break
Cons
standing on feet for hours, odors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty fun
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON28 April 2018
It was a fun job that required a lot of hard work but as the day went on it got easier. In the morning you would come in early, rush around for three hours getting as much done as possible, then have a 15 minute break. around that time was when i would notice there would be less work to complete and as long as you dont have a problem carrying boxes of up to 50lbs then you should have no trouble with this job. the only cons i have to add is that the management was horrendous and they dont care about anyone who hasn't already been there for 5 years.
Pros
free christmas turkey, employee benefits, fun work enviroment
Cons
horrendous management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Great team work
Cashier. Stocker. Food Sampler, Gas Attendant (Former Employee) –  St. Albert, AB26 April 2018
I loved working with customers, I enjoyed working with a wonderful team. I had to leave because of school but loved going to work. I learned being patient and as helpful with customers as possible. I was generally very great with customers.
Pros
Benefits, Great coworkers
Cons
Running out of boxes for customers, and a set amount of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, friendly workplace
Meat Wrapper (Former Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC24 April 2018
Costco is a great environment to work in, very spacious, hours are flexible and the pay rate is great, they offer a pension plan, benefits after 4 months, etc. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with people I get a long with very well, the training process was very easy so I had no issue learning brand new things at this work place.
Pros
Hourly wages, Flexible hours, great communication with co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Front-end Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON24 April 2018
Productive and fun workplace. Many departments to work in, and great benefits. There is also an excellent salary and room for growth coupled with experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisors were power hungry
Cashier and shopping cart collector (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC21 April 2018
Usually started by collecting shopping carts in the parking lot for a few hours followed by cashiering a few hours and then back outside collecting carts. The work was easy and the people generally friendly. I did not like some of the supervisors who were power hungry and thought they were better than people because their pay was higher.

Overall it was a decent part time job with flexible hours, it just didn't suit me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work defiantly pays off working here!!!
Baker Assistant (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB17 April 2018
They take really good care of their employees. It is hard work and very fast paced but it makes the day go by fast. Really good place to work, highly recommend if you get a job there to work to impress cause you could get a career out of it.
Pros
Benefits, good pay, flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 6,451 reviews
53.1K
42K
3933
2199
1163

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.3Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture