Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews for Stocker

Found 94 reviews matching the search See all 8,318 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
STOCKER (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC16 January 2019
it was my bad the reason i still dont work there anymore
back in the time , i was having family problems and it affected my future in the company , if i had a chance, i would still go back there to work again
Pros
great people and friendly bosses
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you're looking for long-term employment.
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 January 2019
At Costco as a stocker, the day-to-day operations are physically demanding. The managers are great to work for and I enjoyed my position at Costco. There is plenty of opportunity for advancement as they hire from within.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
STOCKER (CLOTHING) (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 November 2018
It is indeed a good place to work, competitive salary and kind bosses. They don't give you tough jobs. only those which is under your responsibilities and based on your ability
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Detached management
Stocker (Current Employee) –  Kanata, ON28 October 2018
The driving environment at Costco is one that always seems to get worse every day. The employees will usher you in early and are the only thing that keep you going until they tell you the reality of the situation at hand. Full time is very hard to get (atleast 2 years before full time) the incremental pay increases are extremely slow for part timers(1200+ hours for a small raise) and you will be given the same opportunities as people who are consistently lazy and unwilling. Above all management will seem great at first to you, but you will come to learn that managers will only do things for themselves and you are nothing but another employee. They will ask you to take on positions and jobs to help such a great manager and they could be gone next week for their own sake. The icing on the cake is the nepotism in this company, I have come to accept it in general, but this company pushes it to the max. If you have parents, relatives or a spouse that is higher or more powerful on a lateral scale, then those people connected, even if not suited will get it. Favourites and eventual bad morale boils down to the employees that are most knowledgeable not caring and getting prioritized first, which trickles down to new hires.
Pros
Great coworkers, great pay for a simple job if youre willing to play it long term.
Cons
Nepotism, Egos, Management very ingenuine.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
MERCHANDISER/STOCKER (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC10 October 2018
The company respects employees culture and differences. The management always make sure that safety procedures are observed to avoid accidents in the warehouse. Starting salary is low for apersons with their own family so might as well look for a part time to make ends meet but after couple of years you get a livable wage.
Pros
Nice environment of work, benefits
Cons
low starting salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace, hard working crews
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 September 2018
Lots of heaving lifting, everything at Costco is large scale. hard working fast pace environment. They have a great benefits package and lots of opportunity to grow. They care about their employees and you don't feel like a number. I found it to be a good company to work for overall.
Pros
Free membership
Cons
Weird shift times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone was supper helpful and kept very positive
Stocking inventory (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON25 September 2018
Great place to work. I loves the job. Too bad it was only seasonally. I would recommend working at Costco they are a bunch of great people to work with.
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great work environment
Morning Stocker (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 September 2018
Started work by getting greeted by managers as they hand out our duties for the morning. From there on it was constant work and lots of team work. It was never an easy day for us but with working alongside great managers and people the environment was never stressful and so work was done on time and as told.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team, great benefits
PM Merch Stocker (Current Employee) –  Ancaster, ON4 September 2018
Costco has a great team of people working for them.. lots of room for growth in the company, excellent benefits. Fast paced environment, lots of heavy lifting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work atmosphere, employees are very well respected and treated to great benefits.
Morning merch stocker (Former Employee) –  Orleans, ON27 August 2018
I'd recommend anyone to work at Costco. One of the fairest companies to work for - entry level positions are treated with very high importance from all levels of management and they have a great open door policy where the managers actually listen to everyone. All in all great place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report

Want to know more about Costco Wholesale?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postive Warehouse setting with physical work
Morning Merchandise Stocker/Safety Representative (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON16 August 2018
Working at Costco for the morning merchandise shift has been pleasant. Time goes by quickly when you start between 4 and 5 a.m. The current set of management has stalled with the development of employees who want to continue to climb their well constructed company ladder and frustrations are beginning to show. The other shifts and departments are flourishing with warehouses consternating opening and being constructed. Overall, Costco is one of the better companies out there.
Pros
Well established safe company
Cons
Early hours - no time off from Nov1-Dec25
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a very close knit team of employees
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 June 2018
A typical day started around 2 pm up to 5 pm depending on your shift. You would be organized into different areas of the store and are expected to maintain the floor at all times. It was a fairly simple job so there weren't too many problems. We would handle customer questions on the floor such as directions to certain products as well as clean up displays and stock displays as needed. My day spent most of the time inside the cooler stocking the milk and other chilled products. I learned how to better manage my time as i further worked inside there. The management had alot of changes while i was there, There were constant changes that seemed to contradict each other at times. But overall it was a positive experience with management. They would look after me. The employees are quite close knit for example going out after shifts and it felt a lot like a family if anything. The hardest part of the job would be just the feeling of being understaffed. When we are expected to clean a whole store with 3 people during the day sometimes as well as help other understaffed areas if needed. It turned stressful at certain points of the year. The most enjoyable part would have to be the interactions of members and employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy/Productive work environment
Stocker (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS17 June 2018
Very fast pace environment, receiving merchandise an stocking shelves, with strick deadlines. The most enjoyable part of the job was the people I worked with ,They were really laid back an friendly an easy to get along with.
Pros
good pay
Cons
wasn't full-time
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with, upper management not so much
Merchandising- Stocker (Former Employee) –  London, ON7 June 2018
Great place to work if you want a stable job with great income. Hard to move up in the company as many people have worked there for so long. Hard place to get into.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace, not very flexible
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB3 May 2018
It was a decent enough job, work was good but repetitive. Management was mediocre at best, really high expectations, not much guidance.
Was frequently understaffed, and the job was very inflexible for a part time job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working at costco
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON29 March 2018
a typical day at costco is busy, ive learned howto manage my timebetter with completing tasks such has keeping the clothing folded and neat.
Pros
good staff
Cons
busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Costco Heritage26 March 2018
Good management that respects rights and needs of employee. A great place to work with all standards and rules in place to keep everyone safe. Very comfortable environment with locker rooms and staff rooms to take a break.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun with the right people around you.
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC25 March 2018
I spent most of my day stocking produce and found that most of the employees were fun to be around, although the warehouse manager could be quite intimidating. Other than that, everything was okay.
Pros
Free lunch sometimes.
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 March 2018
Hired to restock and organize shelves in the produce area on the night shift.
Promoted to night merchandising team and proved myself as a valuable contributor to the overall organization of the produce department.
Further advanced to warehouse operations, which included moving large pallets of produce and other goods from the warehouse areas out to the shopping areas to be merchandised before opening hours.
I was able to apply my previous safety training plus acquired knowledge of mechanical lifting equipment to help ensure safe completion of tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast-paced environment
Merchandising -(Stocker) (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON13 February 2018
Fast-paced work environment with a great staff. Great management team, very accommodating and a lot of room for growth. Very busy environment with a lot of potential.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 8,318 reviews
54K
42.6K
31.2K
2282
1220

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.3Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture