Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews for Stocker

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and great staff
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON26 January 2018
Great place to work and awesome pay to match. Lots of room for growth and love the staff and customers. Great early morning shift and lots of flexable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Realistically Wonderful
Morning Merch Stocker (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB18 January 2018
Costco, in short, is a great place to work. The systems and priorities put in place by upper management establish an energetic and "all together" atmosphere filled with awesome benefits, frequent wage raises, and a regular focus on cooperation and Teamwork. These are areas that Costco excels at. To be totally fair there are certain blemishes one can expect working in any retail environment and Costco is unfortunately not immune to them. Expect a tense environment during holiday seasons, expect some grumpy coworkers from time to time, expect some questionable decisions from leadership, expect what you would normally get working with human beings. But with that said, Costco does an impressive job at resolving conflict and recognizing this human element of the modern workplace. Often management will follow up a mistake with six or seven good decisions to follow it. So for every blemish, Costco may have, you can expect the Integrity to recognize and smooth over those blemishes.
Pros
Many benefits, Regular raises, Team focused, improvement focused
Cons
Consists of human beings who make human mistakes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Stock Person (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON18 January 2018
I enjoyed working with the other employees, the supervisors were very professional. I enjoyed how friendly everyone was. This is one of the best jobs i have worked at. the most enjoyable part of the job was how face paced everything was.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience
Stocker - Casual (Former Employee) –  Victoria6 January 2018
The company culture was great to be a part of during my time with them. During the Christmas rush there were always things to be done but management and team members made it so that the time flew by.
Pros
Great People, great place to work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Hard Working
Stocker (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON16 November 2017
A typical day at Costco is dealing with member(s) questions, helping members when they need a hand with a large item and stocking the shelves at night time for members to shop from the next morning. I learned how to deal with members from the good and difficult times, I learned how to communicate better with my fellow co workers, and I also learned how to become a team player while working with fellow co-workers as well. The hardest part of the job is probably dealing with not so nice members and learning how to deal and cope with them in a proper manner. The most enjoyable part of the job is stocking at night time and finishing your isle on a strict time limit, in a neat and clean fashion.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Working Every Weekend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When it comes to Manual labour jobs it is great
Merchandising - Stocker (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON16 October 2017
The pay and job security is top notch when compared to other similar jobs like wal-mart. There are plenty of opportunities to advance, and large pool of jobs (bakery, cashier, meat, forklift driver, cafeteria, tire shop) that are easily accessible should you wish to change
Pros
secure
Cons
physically tiring
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work but great pay
Merchandising Stocker (Current Employee) –  Langley, BC28 September 2017
Costco is a very go go go place, so the day passes quickly. Coworkers are great and management is usually okay. There is a ton of opportunity to go up in the company, which is great for ambitious people, but you can also stay where you are comfortable.
Pros
flexible hours, free membership, benefits
Cons
very busy, hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need to be fast
Stocker (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON10 September 2017
you need to work fast and be able to have less than 24 hour notice with change of shift.
its member driven and it good to be a member if you have a big family
Pros
free member ship for employee and their spouse
Cons
heaving lifting
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent, but Insecure Labour
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON25 August 2017
Decent job, however after the probationary period management decided to lay off all the seasonal employees to cut costs, and without prior notice. Otherwise the managers and other employees were very helpful with training, and never made any unreasonable demands out of the seasonal (new part-time) workers.
Pros
Cheap lunches, good pay, fun work environment, free membership
Cons
Long hours, insecure employment, membership valid through employment only
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, everybody helps each other and management gets there hands dirty and rolls up there sleeves to help as well
Merchandising/Stock Person (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 August 2017
Start of shift, might have to help pack grocery items, if not you check the list to find out what section your working in. Management is excellent and also helps where it's needed. Enjoyable part is when you have completed your section and the people you work with. Everybody is in it to get the job done!!!
Pros
Good benefits, profit sharing, fair wages, paid more per hour on Sundays, 2 paid weeks hoilday for P/T after 1 year, closed 9 days per year and your paid for those days, 8 paid sick days per year.
Cons
Inventory 2 times per year, somtimes short staffed, trying to remember where everything because product is move around
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Stock Person (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB15 August 2017
Every employee seemed to have a problem with at least one manager, Im not sure if this is a social behavior issue or a training issue. everything else about Costco is near perfect, especially the stock options they give you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job all in all
Service employee + stocker (Former Employee) –  Pointe-Claire, QC12 June 2017
Nothing special here, just work and when you hit brackets of hours complete you get raises. The ceiling for pay is rather high as a basic employee if you're there long enough so that more often than not enticed people to stay while I worked there.
Pros
Fun environment, fast pace
Cons
Weird hours, never have weekends off
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Costco as Always
Work as PT Merchandiser/ Stock Person (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC4 June 2017
Hard working team, that work together when there is a shortage on one area. Hardest part of job is to get all the correct information and details of product that customers demands most especially when that Beautiful Manager in our Department is not around. Enjoyable part of the job is when we have a 15 minute break where were able to get our smoke break.. then again later for 30 min. and the most exciting part..Lets go home!!! C U L8er....
Pros
tons of free, and Handsome Employee
Cons
Custumer is always right
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Early Morning Stocker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB31 May 2017
- Very fast pace

- You learn a lot the time you are there if you are a seasonal or full time worker

- There are a lot room to grow in the field

- Friendly environment
Pros
Great hours and you get paid well
Cons
very tight deadlines if you aren't quick on your feet
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Costco Stocker
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON31 May 2017
My shift was from 4am-9am.
It was a rough time.
However, the pay was good and Costco treated me well.
Even though I worked in the warehouse in the early morning, Costco always valued that and thanked its staffed with a treat after every shift.
Pros
Great company and work environment
Cons
Rough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Stock Person (Former Employee) –  St. Albert, AB16 May 2017
A typical day at Costco included getting your boots on and gathering any other equipment needed for that day. stocking any displays that needed it and facing any that did not, and lastly, clean up your section. The culture was relaxed, everyone worked hard but conversation while working was common. Management was great, they stepped in when needed and had good working relationships with their crew. The hardest part of the job was getting your muscles warmed up in the morning once that happened you are good to go for the rest of the day. The most enjoyable part was the conversations with my fellow employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Compensation
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON11 May 2017
Great company to work for lots of opportunity. unable to continue to work while in school though but do have a program to come back to Costco during the summers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Centers Stocker (Former Employee) –  Rocky View, AB28 April 2017
I enjoyed my stay at Costco very much, fellow employees were extremely friendly and the atmosphere was very fitting. I worked 5 am to 10 am everyday, moving and sorting merchandise, learned how to manage time effectively and work as a big team. Managers were fantastic people, workplace culture was very teamwork driven.

Hardest part of the job would be to make sure you are timely as doors open at set times, you must be done your job before the time expires.

Most enjoyable part of the job were the people, everyone was very nice, and easy to get along with.
Pros
Free membership
Cons
Little room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work envoirnment with friendly employees
Morning stalker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ab24 March 2017
Be prepared to work, easy to make friends and managers are easily approachable and helpful. Room for growth in a number of different positions, great benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress free and great co-workers
Stocker (Current Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB17 March 2017
I learned about the merchandise and equipment at Costco, I had the opportunity to train on the forklift and skud. The overall workplace is super friendly, my co-workers and supervisors were awesome to work and talk with. Management was very understanding about scheduling around school hours. Most enjoyable part of my job is working with my hands, lifting and feeling satisfied with how much I worked.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 5,754 reviews
52.8K
41.8K
3831
2178
1147

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.3Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture