Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews for Stocker

Found 89 reviews matching the search See all 7,702 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Detached management
Stocker (Current Employee) –  Kanata, ON28 October 2018
The driving environment at Costco is one that always seems to get worse every day. The employees will usher you in early and are the only thing that keep you going until they tell you the reality of the situation at hand. Full time is very hard to get (atleast 2 years before full time) the incremental pay increases are extremely slow for part timers(1200+ hours for a small raise) and you will be given the same opportunities as people who are consistently lazy and unwilling. Above all management will seem great at first to you, but you will come to learn that managers will only do things for themselves and you are nothing but another employee. They will ask you to take on positions and jobs to help such a great manager and they could be gone next week for their own sake. The icing on the cake is the nepotism in this company, I have come to accept it in general, but this company pushes it to the max. If you have parents, relatives or a spouse that is higher or more powerful on a lateral scale, then those people connected, even if not suited will get it. Favourites and eventual bad morale boils down to the employees that are most knowledgeable not caring and getting prioritized first, which trickles down to new hires.
Pros
Great coworkers, great pay for a simple job if youre willing to play it long term.
Cons
Nepotism, Egos, Management very ingenuine.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone was supper helpful and kept very positive
Stocking inventory (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON25 September 2018
Great place to work. I loves the job. Too bad it was only seasonally. I would recommend working at Costco they are a bunch of great people to work with.
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great work environment
Morning Stocker (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 September 2018
Started work by getting greeted by managers as they hand out our duties for the morning. From there on it was constant work and lots of team work. It was never an easy day for us but with working alongside great managers and people the environment was never stressful and so work was done on time and as told.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team, great benefits
PM Merch Stocker (Current Employee) –  Ancaster, ON4 September 2018
Costco has a great team of people working for them.. lots of room for growth in the company, excellent benefits. Fast paced environment, lots of heavy lifting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work atmosphere, employees are very well respected and treated to great benefits.
Morning merch stocker (Former Employee) –  Orleans, ON27 August 2018
I'd recommend anyone to work at Costco. One of the fairest companies to work for - entry level positions are treated with very high importance from all levels of management and they have a great open door policy where the managers actually listen to everyone. All in all great place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postive Warehouse setting with physical work
Morning Merchandise Stocker/Safety Representative (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON16 August 2018
Working at Costco for the morning merchandise shift has been pleasant. Time goes by quickly when you start between 4 and 5 a.m. The current set of management has stalled with the development of employees who want to continue to climb their well constructed company ladder and frustrations are beginning to show. The other shifts and departments are flourishing with warehouses consternating opening and being constructed. Overall, Costco is one of the better companies out there.
Pros
Well established safe company
Cons
Early hours - no time off from Nov1-Dec25
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a very close knit team of employees
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 June 2018
A typical day started around 2 pm up to 5 pm depending on your shift. You would be organized into different areas of the store and are expected to maintain the floor at all times. It was a fairly simple job so there weren't too many problems. We would handle customer questions on the floor such as directions to certain products as well as clean up displays and stock displays as needed. My day spent most of the time inside the cooler stocking the milk and other chilled products. I learned how to better manage my time as i further worked inside there. The management had alot of changes while i was there, There were constant changes that seemed to contradict each other at times. But overall it was a positive experience with management. They would look after me. The employees are quite close knit for example going out after shifts and it felt a lot like a family if anything. The hardest part of the job would be just the feeling of being understaffed. When we are expected to clean a whole store with 3 people during the day sometimes as well as help other understaffed areas if needed. It turned stressful at certain points of the year. The most enjoyable part would have to be the interactions of members and employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy/Productive work environment
Stocker (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS17 June 2018
Very fast pace environment, receiving merchandise an stocking shelves, with strick deadlines. The most enjoyable part of the job was the people I worked with ,They were really laid back an friendly an easy to get along with.
Pros
good pay
Cons
wasn't full-time
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with, upper management not so much
Merchandising- Stocker (Former Employee) –  London, ON7 June 2018
Great place to work if you want a stable job with great income. Hard to move up in the company as many people have worked there for so long. Hard place to get into.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace, not very flexible
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB3 May 2018
It was a decent enough job, work was good but repetitive. Management was mediocre at best, really high expectations, not much guidance.
Was frequently understaffed, and the job was very inflexible for a part time job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working at costco
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON29 March 2018
a typical day at costco is busy, ive learned howto manage my timebetter with completing tasks such has keeping the clothing folded and neat.
Pros
good staff
Cons
busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Costco Heritage26 March 2018
Good management that respects rights and needs of employee. A great place to work with all standards and rules in place to keep everyone safe. Very comfortable environment with locker rooms and staff rooms to take a break.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun with the right people around you.
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC25 March 2018
I spent most of my day stocking produce and found that most of the employees were fun to be around, although the warehouse manager could be quite intimidating. Other than that, everything was okay.
Pros
Free lunch sometimes.
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 March 2018
Hired to restock and organize shelves in the produce area on the night shift.
Promoted to night merchandising team and proved myself as a valuable contributor to the overall organization of the produce department.
Further advanced to warehouse operations, which included moving large pallets of produce and other goods from the warehouse areas out to the shopping areas to be merchandised before opening hours.
I was able to apply my previous safety training plus acquired knowledge of mechanical lifting equipment to help ensure safe completion of tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast-paced environment
Merchandising -(Stocker) (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON13 February 2018
Fast-paced work environment with a great staff. Great management team, very accommodating and a lot of room for growth. Very busy environment with a lot of potential.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and great staff
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON26 January 2018
Great place to work and awesome pay to match. Lots of room for growth and love the staff and customers. Great early morning shift and lots of flexable
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Realistically Wonderful
Morning Merch Stocker (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB18 January 2018
Costco, in short, is a great place to work. The systems and priorities put in place by upper management establish an energetic and "all together" atmosphere filled with awesome benefits, frequent wage raises, and a regular focus on cooperation and Teamwork. These are areas that Costco excels at. To be totally fair there are certain blemishes one can expect working in any retail environment and Costco is unfortunately not immune to them. Expect a tense environment during holiday seasons, expect some grumpy coworkers from time to time, expect some questionable decisions from leadership, expect what you would normally get working with human beings. But with that said, Costco does an impressive job at resolving conflict and recognizing this human element of the modern workplace. Often management will follow up a mistake with six or seven good decisions to follow it. So for every blemish, Costco may have, you can expect the Integrity to recognize and smooth over those blemishes.
Pros
Many benefits, Regular raises, Team focused, improvement focused
Cons
Consists of human beings who make human mistakes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Stock Person (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON18 January 2018
I enjoyed working with the other employees, the supervisors were very professional. I enjoyed how friendly everyone was. This is one of the best jobs i have worked at. the most enjoyable part of the job was how face paced everything was.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience
Stocker - Casual (Former Employee) –  Victoria6 January 2018
The company culture was great to be a part of during my time with them. During the Christmas rush there were always things to be done but management and team members made it so that the time flew by.
Pros
Great People, great place to work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Hard Working
Stocker (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON16 November 2017
A typical day at Costco is dealing with member(s) questions, helping members when they need a hand with a large item and stocking the shelves at night time for members to shop from the next morning. I learned how to deal with members from the good and difficult times, I learned how to communicate better with my fellow co workers, and I also learned how to become a team player while working with fellow co-workers as well. The hardest part of the job is probably dealing with not so nice members and learning how to deal and cope with them in a proper manner. The most enjoyable part of the job is stocking at night time and finishing your isle on a strict time limit, in a neat and clean fashion.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Working Every Weekend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 7,704 reviews
53.7K
42.4K
31.1K
2259
1194

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.3Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture