Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews for Merchandiser

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overrated
Stocker - Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Orillia, ON24 September 2018
The staff you worked with were good . Management was looking to save money, by asking people to leave early before their shift ended due to the fact costco did not meet sales quota for the day
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work, Good Employer
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB18 July 2018
Not a bad place to work if you get a job in the right department. Morning Merchandising was difficult with the requirement to start your day at 3am. Hard to get the easy jobs that everyone wants like standing at the door looking at receipts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON15 July 2018
Organized,
good benefits, good management,
competitive wages
lots of perks with discounts and free membership
good work environment, i enjoyed my time here
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with good co-workers
Night Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 July 2018
I worked as night merch. Typically spent the afternoon cleaning up/stocking and the evening driving forklifts. I had great co-workers who I still talk to 3 years later and a good management team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somewhat decent place to work
Night Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB9 July 2018
Great place to work if you have been there for 20+ years. Management is constantly changing, they often play favorites and it can be difficult to advance. Can be a fun workplace, but they often change the rules depending on the warehouse manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented
Night Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC8 July 2018
Everyone was very welcoming at first but then quickly stop talking to you except for a few. I ended up feeling like I was being pushed out and it didn't make me feel very good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Workplace
Sales & Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON22 June 2018
Customer service. Poorly operated. Poor treatment. Inequal distribution of work. Preferential treatment. Eventually good hourly wages after many years worked. Good benefits.
Pros
wages, benefits
Cons
hours, staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, rroom for growth
Morning Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 June 2018
This is a great company to work for. They treat their employees very well. Room to grow and learn in your area as well as advancements and transfers around the world. Opportunity to meet and interact with people from customers, coworkers and management.
Pros
Benefits, membership, room for growth
Cons
early shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Merchandiser/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC6 June 2018
Great place to work and i highly recommend. Good benefits, salaries, and friendly employees. However it can get quite busy and stressful when customers are unpleasant to deal with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what it used to be
Night Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 May 2018
I have worked for Costco for 12 years as an hourly and manager. Lots of opportunity for someone willing to put the company ahead of their family. The job security is amazing, top benefits and wages as well. To advance you really have to tow the company line, they do not want innovators or free thinkers. The company has lost its family feel with the new CEO. A lot of the long term staff and managers are losing their dedication to the company. I can't say a ton of bad about the company it definitely has its good points just not right for someone that wants a strong family life.
Pros
Job Security and advancement
Cons
poor balance of work and home life
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report

Want to know more about Costco Wholesale?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place to work
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 May 2018
A typical day at work would be come in an hour before closing clean up my work area then after the store closed we would unload the trucks and stock. Management was terrible they would pick favorites and were very rude to pretty much every one. They are always understaffed so work never gets done and the employees take the blame for not working hard enough.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Rude Management, Understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
has potential to be the best of jobs
Merchandising (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON4 May 2018
Costco is a great place, they offer many benefits that help support your life, even as a part timer, but unfirtinally i find, unless you some how become the best of buddehs with the top managers or have put in at least 10-20 years of service, respect and freedom are very hard to come by, you are always fighting to keep your head above the water, barely being recognized for your good deeds but always having your failures thrown at you as a reminder not to do it again... i am making it sound like an -happy place, but i do suggest to give it a shot, i have made new friends and have learned great skills i would not have learned other wise... it may be a little difficult, but what job is-int
Pros
great benefits, great guaranteed hours, many different positions to try
Cons
moody managers, very fast pace, dealing with people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with friendly Co-workers.
Part Time Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON30 April 2018
Management is great
Learned about advertising sale products and merchandising it at the right location in the warehouse(Attract customers)

I would attend work for 5am and get the store ready before it opens. Stack products on a pallet to meet store standards, Move sale products to locations in the store that would grab customers attention, Clean working area, Bale the Cardboard box baler, help customers find products and also help customers load heavy items in their vehicle .
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a very rewarding work experience
Night Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB26 April 2018
During my employment at Costco Wholesale, I found that my coworkers were very dependable and easy to get along with. The management team was always willing and able to assist in tasks that required more than one person. They were also generally friendly, and if one were to put in 110% every day, the individual would be rewarded accordingly. Overall this was quite a lovely work experience, and I honestly would not mind working for this company again in the future.
Pros
Lots of opportunity for advancement, affordable wages
Cons
Indoors
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good place to work
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS16 April 2018
great place to work. go in do your job mingle go home people are great hardest is dealing with meat garbage most enjoyable is no one breathing down your neck to rush you to finish unless the store is about to open.
Pros
good benefits, pay
Cons
start off seasonal in hopes of getting in full time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy place to work
Merchandising department (Current Employee) –  Moncton, NB12 April 2018
This is a busy place to work but they have good benefits and a very reasonable salary. It's easy to make friends with your fellow coworkers here and the management team knows how to run a warehouse quite well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay and Work Life.
Night Merchandiser (Burlington Location) Part-time (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON20 March 2018
Fun atmosphere at Costco. The company regularly hosts events and bbq's to show workers appreciation.

Pay structure is very good, though it does take alot of time within the company to get up to max rate, which is around $26 an hour.

Company places a strong emphasis on promoting from within. Fun culture. Very busy!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Company
Morning Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, Alberta12 March 2018
Costco is overall a decent company to work with. However, the starting pay is not at all very good, it takes a while to get to a decent wage, get full-time work or benefits and the hours are pretty daunting if you work morning (you start at 4am).
Work is very fasted paced and depending on your position, very labour intensive. The management are all fairly friendly and they do have an open door policy.
Pros
Free membership, good management, benefits after some time
Cons
Poor starting pay, hard to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 March 2018
Good team. Good Pay. Bad Hours. Hard work, you can not slack of at all. Customers must be dealt with extreme patience. Good job for first timers to get the feel what it means to work hard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Morning Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB3 March 2018
great place to work, especially since you get benefits even if your only working part time. great for students. employees are all very friendly. team player environment.
Pros
free costco membership
Cons
hard to get promotions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 7,522 reviews
53.6K
42.4K
31.1K
2248
1188

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.3Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture