Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews for Front End Associate

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
costco.
Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB10 August 2018
it was a good working environment with great co-workers, it was quick paced and there was always something to be done. i learnt how to problem solve under pressure and finding a task so i am always working.
Pros
very hands on
Cons
little to no water breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff were fun, high pace job!
Part-Time Front-End Staff Member (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB8 August 2018
The day to day shifts were never the same and staff were always happy to work with. Did not always feel though management listened to concerns and issues when they were brought to their attention.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth the work
front-end assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON2 August 2018
Workplace is okay, some of the cashiers were nice, some were rude and most of the front-end managers have favouritism and are not very polite. I've gotten sworn at before.

The work is really demanding. I can't lift very heavy things so it was definitely challenging.
Pros
Free food
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and fun, very easy job
Front End Associate (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON24 July 2018
A typical day at work would result in me punching my access code in the cash till and once Costco doors open and there are customers in my line I scan every item, and take the money. I learned a lot of things while working especially off duty. There are some hard parts that come to the job like rud customers. But the most enjoyable is seeing what the customers are buying because I can get a glimpse of what there life is about. Management is fine, there are some problems with scheduling, and promotions. But other than that it is fine. The workplace culture is very diverse. There are like a million employees, but are divided in specific work areas. But it is very diverse.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
Front End Staff (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 July 2018
Nice environment, nice people, good management style. You are made to feel like a member of a large family right from your first minute within the premises
Pros
Good employee relations
Cons
None yet
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
Front End Assistant/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Langley, BC9 July 2018
This company gives you the option to experience all areas of the warehouse. You are given opportunities to explore other areas to see where you fit in and enjoy working.
Pros
Good pay once you put in the years
Cons
start out seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Maintenance/ Concessions/ Front End (Current Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC5 July 2018
Amazing place to work with lots of benefits, above average pay, friendly work environment, extensive in-house training and plenty of opportunity to advance.Management is friendly, hard working and makes you feel heard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits but takes a while to move up
FRONT END CASHIER/ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 July 2018
This company pays well and has great benefits. All hired staff are hired as "part time seasonal" and they can refuse to keep you after 90 days. If they choose to keep you on, it takes about 3 years to get a full time position. They work as a seniority company instead of going by who's more qualified for a position when considering people for employment opportunities within the company. They do not work around any outside scheduling so if you have another job, make sure they're more lenient with schedule compromising. They do have a great student program if you are a university or college student and will work around that schedule if you have proof of acceptance and a schedule.
Pros
great pay and benefits
Cons
takes a long time to move up and no schedule leniency
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Workplace
Front end/ Membership Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 June 2018
- Cash handling and product handling
- Learned how to keep up with multiple customers while also pushing programs (e.g. Costco Mastercard)
- Management works with you to insure both yourself and the customers are satisfied with your experience
Pros
Samples
Cons
Can be Tedious/repetitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB24 June 2018
Overall this was a wonderful temporary position. All team members were great to work with, management was very ran the warehouse in a fluent manner regardless of how busy (christmas season) is was.
Pros
Many opportunities.
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay and benefits but poor work environment
Front End Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 June 2018
the majority of management is incompetent and tends to micromanage employees. Atmosphere is very fast paced and stressful. Pay and benefits are decent. In addition there is no wifi access in the warehouse, and the closest sources of food are of poor quality. Bring your own lunch if possible.
Pros
Decent pay, good benefits system, rewards employees for shopping in store
Cons
Poor management, no wireless access, stressful environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy environment but no after work stress
Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC31 May 2018
Expect to be on the go all the time. That said the people who work and shop there are mostly friendly and understanding which means you don't take stress or work home with you. Management was understanding and easy to talk to in regards to personal of professional situations.

Don't expect to advance quickly. People stick with Costco for a long time so job openings are hard to come by and mostly hire senior employees.
Pros
Often has free food
Cons
Slow advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and everyone is polite
Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 May 2018
the co worker that I have work with are polite and willing to help if a person needs a help and also they value costumer first before themselves. willing to help a customer for their satisfactions
Pros
staff gets a free membership
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Red Deer County, AB23 May 2018
Costco is a great place to work and shop. They have amazing deals.
I was working as front end assistant, then worked in member service and that was my favorite position, then i was working as gas station assistant. Costco is a great place to work filled with friendly employees. I would come back to work there.
Pros
an hour lunch break
Cons
long lunch lineups
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Merch/Front End/Produce Assistant (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON18 May 2018
The hourly/workload ratio is absolute ludicrous at this company. Seemed to me like certain departments would clearly be doing less work and are getting paid the same (if not more than others). Very unprofessional people working there and most higher end managers seemed to be pretending to care about the work and did not take it as serious as they should have been.
Pros
Paid 15 min breaks
Cons
Zero shift flexibility, poor hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga16 May 2018
Fun and great staff, always got along well with everyone. Very easy to move up and the hire from within which is very good and the pay is really outstanding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Student
Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB10 May 2018
Excellent company to work for. As a student it was nice to know I had a job every summer and break that would provide me with lifelong lessons after my time was done
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace all around
FRONT END ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Rocky View, AB10 May 2018
Costco Wholesale is a place that one can gain valuable experience from working. They may even choose to stay because of the competitive retail salary, and the fair chance of advancing their career through working full time.

As a front end assistant, the shifts given is usually variable. On a typical opening day, we get ready to operate the very front line of the warehouse through cleaning the areas and stuffing the tills with boxes for members/clients to use. The bulk of the shift is taken up by either operating as a cashier or packer. Often times, members change their mind on an item that they were about to purchase, and I can be tasked with putting the collective items back to their place. If I am placed on a later shift that extends through closing time, we go out to help cart-pushers put back carts in their respective places.

Going to Costco has immensely improved my communication skills and attention to detail regarding customer service. Not a single day goes by without speaking at least a couple thousand words to everybody, so an improvement in communication skills proves to be imminent working as a Front End Assistant. As one would expect, the hardest part of work is maintaining the enthusiasm and positive attitude in the face of the mind numbing work environment.

However, Costco Wholesale treats their employees with a great amount of respect, and their hard work is recognized. This fair work environment encourages positivity, and it simultaneously teaches one on what hard work is like. With the combined experience of talking to members and coworkers alike,
  more... socializing is a huge aspect of working Front End. That being said, being able to socialize and have the ability to be your own personality is the most enjoyable part of the job.

Overall, I firmly believe that working at Costco will give a leg up to any type of sales position that one may apply in the future, as we are also pushed to promote our programs, which is for the members' own benefit. The position is relentless with communication, and my personal relationship with management has been efficient and amicable.
  less
Pros
Good work environment, good management, good experience
Cons
Can be very draining and have no energy left by the end of the shift
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall workplace
Front End Cashier (Current Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC9 May 2018
Overall solid job. Managers are usually fine. The aspect of teamwork does create a degree of solidarity among co-workers. For a student, the hours are very flexible to allow one to maintain their studies.
Pros
Food. Wage. Hours
Cons
Difficult to get time off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Student
Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB5 May 2018
Excellent place to work as a student.
Great boss
Flexible hours
Great staff and company
Firm but fair management
Learned patience and multi tasking.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 7,100 reviews
53.4K
42.2K
31K
2231
1179

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.3Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture