Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews for Front End Associate

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, a good place to work.
Cashier and Front- End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC14 October 2018
Staff and management were all very friendly and helpful, however hours were not guaranteed for my position. Other than the lack of hours, it was an enjoyable job.
Pros
Opportunities to advance
Cons
No guaranteed hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
costco
Front End Assistant (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC9 October 2018
This was my first seasonal job ever and at this Costco I worked at pretty much almost but not everyone was so rude to me no one talks to you durning break time the managers minus one person are very rude they talk behind your backs and treat you poorly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Front End Assistant (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON1 October 2018
it is a great place to work that ensures that you have benefits of the help you need. the members are a little much but you learn to roll with it, a great place to work during school
Pros
brenefits and ability to move up
Cons
crowded
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work Environment
Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ON24 September 2018
The workplace at Costco was very positive and encouraging, and taught a lot about how to multi-task and problem solve on a daily basis. Management staff was very helpful and encouraging to every employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not work for
Front end/ Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 September 2018
I would not recommend working for this company They do not look after their employees or care about anything happening in their lives. As a student needing some time off for ems etc. they were never accommodating/
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of physical work,high paced demands,very repetitous.
Front End/Merchandise (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK17 September 2018
The day starts:
Swipe the employee card in,go retrieve carts, assist with heavy loads , pick up garbage in parking lot , cart corrals etc etc. At the last two hours of my shift I may get to operate a forklift and unload stock from the steel racking or stock shelves. I have also been trained to work at the Gas Station,Tire Shop,and the Propane Center.

Management:
Efficient,and multitasking

Workplace Culture:
As positive as can be due to some Unique individuals , otherwise most employees are exhausted from fast paced /effort work duties.

Hardest Part of Job:
Keeping a Smiling face and good demur when dealing with uncooperative or disrespectful members.

Most Enjoyable part of the Job:
The Company Infrastructure for possible advancement
Pros
Rewards for Christmas(Free Turkey), various meals for being safe in the workplace for extended periods.
Cons
Usual frustrations when dealing with the public
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier and Front End Assistance (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC9 September 2018
While working at Costco, I was given the right amount of training that was needed. The supervisor was always present when they were needed. Although it was a past paced work place I never felt rushed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Front End Assistant (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON3 September 2018
Such an amazing job to have. Staff is very friendly and accepting to new workers. The most enjoyable part of the job is the people that you meet and the positive attitude everyone has when coming to work. Always putting the members first which is amazing customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job
FRONT END ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC28 August 2018
based on seniority, very nice people that work there however if youre a male, be prepared to be used for very physical shifts. they would get me to lift heavy couches, fridges, tvs, etc but i didnt mind. have to bring in buggys at the end of each night and sometimes throughtout the day.
Pros
time goes by quickly
Cons
very very busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It became a nightmare near the end
Cashier/Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB24 August 2018
The job is quite demanding as you are on your feet all day and have to deal with members the whole time you are there. Other than that, it would be a fun job to work at if the management wasn't idiotic. Favoritism, scheduling problems, unrealistic expectations... you name it. I felt constantly belittled and underappreciated. And not to mention all the petty gossip and drama that occurred between employees. Just toxic, toxic, toxic. STAY AWAY.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Toxic work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work habits
Front End Cashier (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON12 August 2018
great place to work , great people very passionate about their jobs. lots of opportunity to advance. no uniform treats employees like family. would recommend
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
costco.
Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB10 August 2018
it was a good working environment with great co-workers, it was quick paced and there was always something to be done. i learnt how to problem solve under pressure and finding a task so i am always working.
Pros
very hands on
Cons
little to no water breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff were fun, high pace job!
Part-Time Front-End Staff Member (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB8 August 2018
The day to day shifts were never the same and staff were always happy to work with. Did not always feel though management listened to concerns and issues when they were brought to their attention.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth the work
front-end assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON2 August 2018
Workplace is okay, some of the cashiers were nice, some were rude and most of the front-end managers have favouritism and are not very polite. I've gotten sworn at before.

The work is really demanding. I can't lift very heavy things so it was definitely challenging.
Pros
Free food
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and fun, very easy job
Front End Associate (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON24 July 2018
A typical day at work would result in me punching my access code in the cash till and once Costco doors open and there are customers in my line I scan every item, and take the money. I learned a lot of things while working especially off duty. There are some hard parts that come to the job like rud customers. But the most enjoyable is seeing what the customers are buying because I can get a glimpse of what there life is about. Management is fine, there are some problems with scheduling, and promotions. But other than that it is fine. The workplace culture is very diverse. There are like a million employees, but are divided in specific work areas. But it is very diverse.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
Front End Staff (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 July 2018
Nice environment, nice people, good management style. You are made to feel like a member of a large family right from your first minute within the premises
Pros
Good employee relations
Cons
None yet
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
Front End Assistant/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Langley, BC9 July 2018
This company gives you the option to experience all areas of the warehouse. You are given opportunities to explore other areas to see where you fit in and enjoy working.
Pros
Good pay once you put in the years
Cons
start out seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Maintenance/ Concessions/ Front End (Current Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC5 July 2018
Amazing place to work with lots of benefits, above average pay, friendly work environment, extensive in-house training and plenty of opportunity to advance.Management is friendly, hard working and makes you feel heard.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits but takes a while to move up
FRONT END CASHIER/ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 July 2018
This company pays well and has great benefits. All hired staff are hired as "part time seasonal" and they can refuse to keep you after 90 days. If they choose to keep you on, it takes about 3 years to get a full time position. They work as a seniority company instead of going by who's more qualified for a position when considering people for employment opportunities within the company. They do not work around any outside scheduling so if you have another job, make sure they're more lenient with schedule compromising. They do have a great student program if you are a university or college student and will work around that schedule if you have proof of acceptance and a schedule.
Pros
great pay and benefits
Cons
takes a long time to move up and no schedule leniency
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Workplace
Front end/ Membership Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 June 2018
- Cash handling and product handling
- Learned how to keep up with multiple customers while also pushing programs (e.g. Costco Mastercard)
- Management works with you to insure both yourself and the customers are satisfied with your experience
Pros
Samples
Cons
Can be Tedious/repetitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 7,518 reviews
53.6K
42.4K
31.1K
2248
1188

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.3Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture