Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews for Front End Associate

Found 229 reviews matching the search See all 8,076 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Abusive/toxic work environment
Front End Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 January 2019
Working with the public on a day to day basis can be a very difficult task in itself. Working at one of the busiest warehouses in North America has it’s challenges and unfortunately the biggest one is management. They let the members do whatever they want, undermining the staff who try to maintain company policy. Eventually you become numb to your purpose as an employee and turn up to work just for the paycheck. :(
Pros
Good pay/benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall nice place to work
Membership Counter/Front End/Marketing (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON11 January 2019
Employees are awesome, a little bit of miscommunication when it comes to management and supervisors. Lost of different areas to work in so you won't really get bored.
Pros
coworkers
Cons
communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing, felaxible,easy going staff. Great Management.
Front-end Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON10 January 2019
Great staff, reliable hours.. schedule was all over the place though. Hard to plan ahead of time. No consistency in schedule. Looking for 8- 4:30pm.....
Pros
Great staff, steady pay.
Cons
Random hours/ all over the place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Costco wholesale
Front End Cashier (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC6 January 2019
Costco was my third job and probably the best one. Everyone is extremely nice, you're like a big family their. Members are kind and appreciate the work we do.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON4 January 2019
Good pay
Long hours but worth the time
Wonderful colleagues
Top notch managerial service
Great customer services
Fast pace environment
Two breaks: 15mins and 30mins after every 2 to 3 hours of work
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly enviroment progressive
Front-end Teller Operator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON1 January 2019
Costco provide the perfect environment for progressive and friendly work place for every Employee.
You get to learn lot of things to get your work experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company overall to work
Cashier and Front End Assistant (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC30 December 2018
Its a good place to work but being regular part time you don't get enough hour of work. People who work here are nice and cooperative and easy to talk.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment with great coworkers
Front End Associate (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON30 December 2018
Worked part time during breaks from school. Everyone was friendly, understanding and approachable.This was a great stepping stone, and I learned a great deal about working with others, and interacting with customers.
Pros
Friendly work environment
Cons
Standing in the same spot for long periods of time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun work environment and face paced
Front End Associate (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON28 December 2018
As a student Costco is a great company to work for as they give you lots of hours over the summer. You can work all summer and then you can go to school in the fall. You don't have to worry about your job, as it is secured and you can come back for the holidays and summer to work again.
Pros
great competitive pay
Cons
hard to get 2 days off back to back
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company for a starting job
99 Heritage Gate SE Calgary - Front End Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 December 2018
typical work day at the Costco location i work at is pretty busy and chaotic. we are one of the busiest locations in north america and therefore the work pace is very fast and it can get pretty stressful but the benefits and starting salary is fair.
Pros
flexible and great benefits
Cons
fast paced and high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report

Want to know more about Costco Wholesale?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Front End Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 December 2018
Great place to work. Great work environment and is friendly to everyone. Great for summer job and while in school. Sometimes get a late shift but other than that the starting pay is above the normal minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good
Cashier and Front End Seasonal worker (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK11 December 2018
Biggest thing about working for Costco, is it depends on the region,. The store location I worked at hired very young students, and the management treated them poorly. Girls and boys were disciplined if they were even seen speaking to one another. FORMALLY disciplined. Not violating any policies and still written up for simply talking to the coworker while you were working the same till or passing by one another in the aisle.
My best advice, shop at the Costco before you apply. The atmosphere for a shopper is pretty much what you will experience working there.
Pros
Pay, and advancement.
Cons
Heavy lifting and standing on hard concrete all shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and well maintained work place
Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 November 2018
Typical day at work. Very friendly environment. Everyone is helping each other out. Loved how we had free lunches on every holiday events. Each department is very well organized and well maintained. I have learned a lot of management skills and how to manage everything in certain amount of time. How to deal with customers and up sell them. Over all I had a very lovely experience working at Costco wholesale
Pros
Events, Health Benefits, Free food, Friendly environment
Cons
Less hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for every age but for different reasons
Front End Cashier (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC17 November 2018
If you're a student - they give you the hours you want.
If you're a part time - they give you some benefits
If you're a full time - they give you the best benefits in the world and they try their best to make sure you're happy/safe/taken care of.

Stay here for like 25+ years and you'll be able to own a couple houses because you get raises depending on how many hours you've worked. Some employees make over $25 an hour.

Chill worklife, and everyone is super welcoming.
Pros
Easy job
Cons
Gets boring
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and positive workspace!
Front-end assistant (Former Employee) –  3180 Laird Rd, Mississauga, ON L5L 6A54 November 2018
I gained alot of customer experience while working for Costco. The work place is filled with nice fast paced workers that are willing to go above and beyond for your satisfaction. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to make new friendships with my co-wokrers
Pros
Costco membership
Cons
8 hour shifts only
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Front End Assistant (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON31 October 2018
Great place to work. Open door policy. Accepting of ideas from all levels. Training is easy. Never forced to do more than i can handle. Focus on team efforts helps to ease tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Fast, and Friendly!
Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 October 2018
I worked here for 3 months in front end and it was a great experience! My managers and co-workers were all super friendly and had no problem showing me the ropes, It wasn't a hard job to learn and it was so fast paced that time went by really quickly. The Managers would always made sure you got your breaks and they would usually mix you around a little bit so you're not doing the same job all day. There is really good advancement options and they encourage you to as well.
Pros
Scheduled breaks, very friendly work environment, great advancement options.
Cons
Can get repetitive, can be stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, a good place to work.
Cashier and Front- End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC14 October 2018
Staff and management were all very friendly and helpful, however hours were not guaranteed for my position. Other than the lack of hours, it was an enjoyable job.
Pros
Opportunities to advance
Cons
No guaranteed hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
costco
Front End Assistant (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC9 October 2018
This was my first seasonal job ever and at this Costco I worked at pretty much almost but not everyone was so rude to me no one talks to you durning break time the managers minus one person are very rude they talk behind your backs and treat you poorly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Front End Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 October 2018
I learned so much and have take away a lot from my time there. I appreciated the welcoming work place environment and all the kind people. It was a wonderful experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 8,083 reviews
53.9K
42.6K
31.2K
2271
1210

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.3Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture