Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews for Cashier

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Student Programs
Cashier Assistant/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Rocky View, AB19 February 2018
A very friendly environment and teaches you professional member service. There is lots of space to grow in the company and full time employees have good benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Cashier Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC18 February 2018
I was a little disappointed by other employees at my level and not my managers or supervisor, they were really nice in fact. I just did not like the culture there, so I left.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with fantastic employees
Cashier/Cashier Assistant (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB29 January 2018
Doing various tasks such as bagging and boxing groceries in carts, cashier duties, customer services, various cleaning and maintenance tasks, and working outside pushing carts. The other employees are fantastic, everyone is very welcoming and the management is very accommodating to students. The best part of the job is the staff that I get to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great First Job
Cashier /Cashier Assistant (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON6 January 2018
Great place to work, fast paced, great co-workers and products you can believe in! They seem to like hiring college / university students and had very low turnover while I worked there. Costco is a company unlike much of their competition and it shows in the overall morale of the workplace!
Pros
The People, The Pay, The Atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work terrible management
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 January 2018
working at Costco was definitely a challenge in regards to the leadership and management. Unprofessional and lacking in basic skills. On the plus side my coworkers are fantastic.
Pros
close to home
Cons
poor leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly productive and enjoyable workplace
Cashier/Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC3 January 2018
The company is a particularly well-organised one, the division of labour and employees hired allowing for work to be done efficiently along with fair pay and rules to follow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. Albert, AB25 November 2017
The hours were very accommodating. The employees weren't always the nicest or fairest. The wages were above average, highly recommend as a place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, very accomadative of schedules
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB26 September 2017
A typical day at work you signed in then checked in with Management to see what jobs needed done, if there was no management available at the current time you would find something to do around the area of your department until someone was around. The staff were friendly and everyone was very accomodating.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL26 September 2017
speedy flow of customers through a fast paced work place. meeting the needs of the members while being flexible and able to complete a multitude of tasks
Pros
highly energenic pace
Cons
not fulltime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON24 September 2017
Not the best place, manager didn't like me, I did whatever he asked always came in early, came in whenever he needed help, used me and then fired me. some of the other managers were nice people but this guy was stressed and couldn't handle it and didn't wan't to help me work and go to school .
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent store
Representative cashier (Former Employee) –  91 st edmonton23 August 2017
i was having a very good expeience working in costco as a cashier for 2 yrs ... people i work with was all good person to help . costco is a very good company to work ..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy to move up and great benefits
Pharmacy Assistant / Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 August 2017
a typical day at work means dealing with a lot of customers. it is a busy and fast paced environment with a lot of opportunity to move up if you work hard enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people to work with
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB31 July 2017
A fun experience to work in a big place with a lot of people, I learned how to deal with different types of customers. It's a different job and it has a lot to do and to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work family
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 July 2017
The work is fast paced and some time it becomes a little chaotic but the real saving grace is how much the managers and staff care. They truly care about your well being.
Pros
Great benifits great work family
Cons
Part time is five days a week f
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it’s alright
Cashier/Cashier's Assistant (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC15 June 2017
It’s a paycheque
It’s a way to pay bills
You make money so you can get by
At this job they pay you money
basically the only reason to work here is to get paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers feel like family
Cashier Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 May 2017
I loved working there, learned a lot about the runnings of a professional organization. It was a great company and there is room for growth and promotion.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely busy environment
Cashier Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL16 May 2017
I met lots of people there and over all enjoyed my time at Costco. However the management were not too understanding when it came to scheduling shifts. They required you give them your availability status but then would schedule you to work when you said you weren't available.
Cons
Were not understanding about when I was not available to work because of school.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great opportunity
Cashier assistant (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON24 April 2017
great position steady wage increase, kind employers/coworkers respectful busy environment, amazing lunch options, don't forget about the samples!!!!!!!+$4 /hour sunday holidays x2 pay and a half
Pros
free samples/ hot poutine and coffee
Cons
slightly dangerous working lot should have hazard pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great student summer opportunities
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 April 2017
It was an amazing job as a student because there were pay increases each summer and flexible hours for students. I also was able to keep my job each summer even though I left for school during the school year.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Standing on your feet for long periods of time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good summer job with nice employers
Cashier Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON26 March 2017
Costco is a very busy store, constantly working to cater to customer's needs. Very rarely could take breaks, definitely overwhelming at times. Overall good for a summer job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 5,790 reviews
52.8K
41.8K
3838
2179
1148

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.3Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture