Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews in Edmonton, AB

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You need a good work ethic to be successful at this job.
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 February 2018
Busy you have five hours to get the your Section stocked and showtime ready

With the way the run the staff and with holidays sometimes there isn't enough coverage of staff.

They want people who think for themselves, management is okay as long as you work hard.

If you are part time they will change your schedule all the time, a guaranteed 25 hrs a week but more if they need you.

The hours are great if you are an early morning person, I found it hard to maintain a work/life balance.

The Pay and Benefits are good but you need to be there sometime and put in the hours to see those rewards.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 January 2018
at this job I learnt that not all people are ready to be in management, and it seems like the warehouse that I was clearly had a great job at finding those people. Costco likes to say that they protect their employee ,but in all actuality they will throw you under the but so to speak in a heart beat.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for young people
Electronics Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 January 2018
It's a good place to work, good job security, pay and benefits are also good. Like with any retail, you will get 40 hours only during holidays. Any chances to move up are based on your seniority, merits and qualifications are not the main criteria. Lifting heavy products is expected. Warehouse environment.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Advancement is not by merits but by seniority.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fast-paced environment
Frontend Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 January 2018
Given ours do not support a balanced life style, however a lot are given. Hourly salary was fair. A typical day was busy but not stressful. I have become stringer at working under a high-pressure situation. Management is really fair, as they consider your outside life schedule for schedule building. Hardest part of the job would be the heavy lifting required for loading assistance. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting to meet and interact with new people, such as customers and employees.
Pros
Plenty of benefits
Cons
Long and inconvenient hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun professional work space
night merchant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 January 2018
Was a great experience for me gave me many professional work skills and behaviour which i carry with me to every job. That is if you are a self motivating personality you get out what you put in.
Pros
If you work hard given lots of freedom
Cons
They put too much on seniority instead of who may actually be better suited for promotion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun to work at majority of the times.
Cashier and Cook (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 December 2017
My typical day working at Costco was great, i learned about communication skills more and how to work as a team when it gets extremely busy at the workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work with
Stocker/Cashier/Merch (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 December 2017
Costco have a opendoor policy and you can talk to anyone about anything.
Everyone in the management were very nice and helpful
Working there is fast paced
It felt that everyone in Costco was a family.
Pros
Free membership, good wage, good management, free food
Cons
Takes a while to become a fulltime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Inventory Auditor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 December 2017
excellent place to work. friendly co workers and management staff. good benefits and wages. paid vacation after 1 year. job security. fun place to go too. able to shop
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Lot Attendant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 November 2017
Great people to work with, great benefits. Great enviornment to work in , the friendly co-workers really helped me stay as long as i did. The reason i lwft was because of the phycial abuse from the customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Safe work environment
Front End Assistant/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 November 2017
Working at Costco was great since it taught me to communicate better with customers and be able to manage busy workflow. The best thing about Costco is my coworkers- they were just great and made every day at work enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productif
Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 November 2017
Best work place
Respect customers even if they are angry
Friendly
Busy Times Rushing
Its a family
Pros
paid 3 $ over weekend
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fun, multicultural workplace
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 September 2017
i loved working at costco, i have moved around many departments and i like all of them, it is a fun multicultural workplace. i have learned a lot and would love to go work there again
Pros
free membership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My view on Costco
Member Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 August 2017
Repetitive work!
Focus is on giving best member service.
Very social place to work.
Cross training in other departments gives you experience and opportunity to explore other areas to work in warehouse.
Pros
stable company, free food occassionally, high school environment
Cons
slow upward movement, repetitive work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent store
Representative cashier (Former Employee) –  91 st edmonton23 August 2017
i was having a very good expeience working in costco as a cashier for 2 yrs ... people i work with was all good person to help . costco is a very good company to work ..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, everybody helps each other and management gets there hands dirty and rolls up there sleeves to help as well
Merchandising/Stock Person (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 August 2017
Start of shift, might have to help pack grocery items, if not you check the list to find out what section your working in. Management is excellent and also helps where it's needed. Enjoyable part is when you have completed your section and the people you work with. Everybody is in it to get the job done!!!
Pros
Good benefits, profit sharing, fair wages, paid more per hour on Sundays, 2 paid weeks hoilday for P/T after 1 year, closed 9 days per year and your paid for those days, 8 paid sick days per year.
Cons
Inventory 2 times per year, somtimes short staffed, trying to remember where everything because product is move around
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work family
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 July 2017
The work is fast paced and some time it becomes a little chaotic but the real saving grace is how much the managers and staff care. They truly care about your well being.
Pros
Great benifits great work family
Cons
Part time is five days a week f
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with great benefits
Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 June 2017
Lots of fun working in a warehouse, especially morning or night crew when store is closed. Fast paced and never boring. You don't have to worry about what to wear, makeup or pretty hair,just be presentable.
Pros
benefits, pay, advancement, management
Cons
Can't dress up, wear good cloths
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible scheduling, amazing benefits
Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 June 2017
Benefits are well above any other employer at this pay grade.

You start above what most competitors offer for wage, and can earn raises the longer you can stay with the company.

Most employees start with temporary positions, but are often hired back, after their temporary contract has ended, as permanent employees.

Really a great place, always busy and things to do and numerous opportunities through the year to train in other departments like the Tire Center or Bakery.
Pros
Food and Snacks are a weekly delight from the in store deli and bakery.
Cons
Members can be real pricks, just like any retail environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy weekends with happy atmosphere
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 June 2017
Days can be very busy and hectic with somewhat strict management. Lot of standing and on your feet work but staff and atmosphere are relaxed. Decent work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly co-workers,and flexible hours
Tire Installer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 April 2017
Worked on both the early morning shift, and in the tire centre. never had a problem with any of my co workers or managers. they also have a good benefit plan.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 5,803 reviews
52.8K
41.8K
3841
2179
1149

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.3Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture