Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews in Calgary, AB

Found 73 reviews matching the search See all 7,670 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast pace enviorment
Customer Service/Stock Replenish (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 October 2018
First I check in with management, stretch, Pull pallets off of truck.
Go to assigned area, clean up boxes , pull expired dates, begin stocking items.
Pros
Break, people
Cons
Late work hours, physical work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company for a long term relationship.
Cart attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 October 2018
COSTCO is a good place to work for a long term relationship, after working 1,000 hours your wage will increase 1 CAD, it´s really complicated to get a full time job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace, hard working crews
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 September 2018
Lots of heaving lifting, everything at Costco is large scale. hard working fast pace environment. They have a great benefits package and lots of opportunity to grow. They care about their employees and you don't feel like a number. I found it to be a good company to work for overall.
Pros
Free membership
Cons
Weird shift times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
Front End Staff (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 July 2018
Nice environment, nice people, good management style. You are made to feel like a member of a large family right from your first minute within the premises
Pros
Good employee relations
Cons
None yet
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Member Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 July 2018
I really Like to work with a team, its more fun. time goes so fast. work done so fast. We learn more when we are working in a group or in a team. I love to work in weekends.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont get sick
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 July 2018
Too much work and not enough workers. Very cold environment. If you didnt work fast enough, you got yelled at. Was 6 months pregnant at the time and had taken 2 sick days over a month and a half period and that resulted in termination. Employees are amazing but the management sucks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, rroom for growth
Morning Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 June 2018
This is a great company to work for. They treat their employees very well. Room to grow and learn in your area as well as advancements and transfers around the world. Opportunity to meet and interact with people from customers, coworkers and management.
Pros
Benefits, membership, room for growth
Cons
early shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay and benefits but poor work environment
Front End Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 June 2018
the majority of management is incompetent and tends to micromanage employees. Atmosphere is very fast paced and stressful. Pay and benefits are decent. In addition there is no wifi access in the warehouse, and the closest sources of food are of poor quality. Bring your own lunch if possible.
Pros
Decent pay, good benefits system, rewards employees for shopping in store
Cons
Poor management, no wireless access, stressful environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at costco and sometimes on Tires.
Tire Installation Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 June 2018
The amount of time actually spent in the tire shop was lower than time spent being sent up to the front end of Costco to help with stocking and bagging.
Pros
cheap lunch
Cons
inconsistant work levels
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place to work
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 May 2018
A typical day at work would be come in an hour before closing clean up my work area then after the store closed we would unload the trucks and stock. Management was terrible they would pick favorites and were very rude to pretty much every one. They are always understaffed so work never gets done and the employees take the blame for not working hard enough.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Rude Management, Understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment and always busy
Food Court Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 March 2018
Hard to get full time position, and always busy. Other than that great place to work at and has a good work environment and friendly people to work alongside with.
Pros
Good work atmosphere
Cons
part time hours, always busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Pharmacist Intern (Level 2) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 February 2018
It was good experience to learn at this place.
Staff is so good and helpful.
Manager is supportive and helpful.
Treats each and every member equally.
Well organised workflow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the work is fun but every day challenge
Cashier & Packer / meat receiving / Am Merch (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 January 2018
The work that done consist of alot of labour hard and physical work and I have to be on toes at all time when putting out every morning. At the end it all look good when finished. The management is good and they know what they are doing
Pros
best pay package
Cons
a lot of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 January 2018
My time with Costco was great. I took time off when I had a child and even though I was pregnant they took very good care of me as an employee. Now my child is grown and I would like to return to the workforce.
Pros
Flexable hours
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
free food
Food Demonstrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 January 2018
it is busy on weekends more family's come.
you always have to be in a good mood
everyone is respected equally
we have long shifts your legs well start to hurt
everyone is welcoming and nice to work with
Pros
free food
Cons
long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very great team member to work with.
Manager, Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 January 2018
Check logs for incoming daily products. Organize staff schedule. Complete order and receiving data. Make complete inventory safety checks.Check with each cashier to make sure cash is correct. Fill in with all aspects of costco team members when needed
Pros
great team members
Cons
some very heavy lifting of products.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Front End Assisstant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 November 2017
Company has a very strong management structure. Working in the tire sales department was a big leaning curve for me. I learned a lot on this job which will give me help all my life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 November 2017
Costco has a good work atmosphere and is a great place for students to work as they are really flexible and also have an CSRP program which allows students to have days off when needed for extra studying time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent work place
Certified Tire Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 September 2017
It was a great job when it came to benefits and a retirement savings plan. but I did not like how as a tire tech I needed to do a bunch of other departments jobs as well. I did not realize this applying for the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job.
Stock and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 September 2017
Enjoyed interacting with the people and stocking while helping people find what they are looking for.
Very strenuous job and on feet all day. But overall learned a lot and was good pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 7,672 reviews
53.7K
42.4K
31.1K
2256
1193

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.3Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture