Coppa's Fresh Market Employee Reviews

Showing all 29 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not very nice people to work for
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON26 November 2018
owner only care about them selves. worst store to work at. don't bother applying. owners are rude and un grateful

owner yells and screams at you in front of the customers and son call you a idiot if you don't know anything. Forgets employee in the store when closing
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work environment
Deli and cashier (Former Employee) –  King City, ON16 October 2018
Horrible work environment, managers were horrible, staff turnover is very high. Didn't like anything about this job other than some of the staff! Worked around 14 hours because certain staff didn't show up for their shifts etc. Owners talk about you behind your back, seem really snobby!!!!
Pros
Some great staff
Cons
Pretty much everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thank you
Cashier/Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  North York, ON24 September 2018
I had an amazing experience working at this location at Dufferin
It was such a beautiful atmosphere-the clients as well as staff were incredible to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Owners very rude and very hard to get a day off/understaffed
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON15 September 2018
Employees almost get scared when owners walk in and have to please them more than focusing on the customers. Employees are not treated well and there is favouritism with their family friends that work there. Some people get all the opening shifts and some people get all the closing shifts, very unfair. Also very hard to get a day off because every department is extremely understaffed. It would be a better workplace and work environment if the owners treated their employees like human beings.
Pros
can make friends
Cons
always closing, owners rude, hard to get a day off, negative work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful Management .No respect for employee
Cashier (Former Employee) –  North York, ON13 September 2018
closing shift 3 times a week .Arrogant manager who has no respect for employee and treat them like animal.The owner and his children micromanage employees all the time .you see owner screaming and insulting employees most of the time .no break on weekend .you must pay for uniform .no employee discount they have ridiculous loyalty plan for employee tht make them shop at the store for a year and at the end of the year if you have more than $500 they give 5 percent .
Pros
Employees
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice place to work
friendly customer service (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 September 2018
You can learn costumer service , helping people and improve yourself, most enjoyable time is when you helping costumer and that costumer is happy about you
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Dufferin, ON30 July 2018
Nice area, friendly customers, and very neat workplace . The co workers and the employer are flexible to work with. Everyone gets their own employee benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 11Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Data Entry Clerk (Current Employee) –  North York, ON30 July 2018
I find Coppa's is a good place to work. Friendly co workers, and opportunity for advancement. Family owned and you actually see them and are approachable if need be.
Pros
Benefits, employee pricing in cafe.
Cons
Can be long hours sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not fun to work here
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  King City, ON12 June 2018
Management doesn't care about you, very difficult to get time off even if you're just part time, most of the staff is stuck up, the customers at the King City location even make the job unbearable. Other then the occasional employee you meet eye to eye with, isn't an enjoyable workplace. The owner of Coppa's is very old school and just hasn't adapted to a new way of thinking
Pros
Get paid weekly instead of biweekly
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place for students to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  King City, ON10 June 2018
this job was the first one that I had and and on a dat to day basis I was a cashier and with this job it was scanning items, the biggest thing was remembering codes for all of the fruits and vegetables, so if you have a hard time remember things then this is not the job for you.
Pros
good working enviroment
Cons
no time for exams
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Lot Attendant (Current Employee) –  North York, ON14 April 2018
they will hire you on the spot and give you an opportunity they have hired 2 of my friends at the same location im at and they arehappy with them sofar as well i am glad to work for this company i know many may disagree as i see the reviews but so far i love working here
Pros
great hours and opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 8Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its work
Cake Decorator (Current Employee) –  North York, ON22 February 2018
Easy job but there expectations are too high but not enough pay.
My manager is pleasant and friendly.
The hardest part of the job is on busy days theres never enough time to complete my work therefore the job becomes stressful
They rarely pay overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Applicants BEWARE
Driver/Delivery (Former Employee) –  Dufferin30 January 2018
In the last 5 years Coppas has turned over more employees than you can imagine. Managers including store managers over 30, Deli clerks over 40, Produce clerks over 50, Grocery clerks over 50, Drivers over 4, Meat dept over 30, Cashiers over 60, HMR hot foods over 40, Human Resource Management over 5, and many more employees were fired without just cause.

Not a safe place to work and risk leaving a steady job you currently have if you want to continue to pay your mortgage and feed your family. On average your shelf life is 6-12 months. Employees that stay are the core employees that have been working there for years.
Pros
Never a dull moment
Cons
“Employees are Donkeys”
Was this review helpful?Yes 24NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job for Temporary Work
Front End Cashier (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON25 December 2017
I started working in 2017 and was impressed that my fellow employees were very welcoming in the beginning and were always more than happy to answer my questions throughout my employment.

Management is very understanding and will always check on you to see how you are feeling during your shift. The customers are generally very friendly and will have conversation with you while you are parceling their groceries. The workplace is very warm, welcoming, studious and relaxing regardless of how busy it becomes.

However, the only downside to this workplace is that head office is very fickle with hours and switching between part-time and full-time positions. I initially applied for full-time and received part-time instead, then it took a full two months to be approved for a full-time position. If you are planning to work full-time and then switch to part-time, you will have quite the battle ahead of you to keep your position.
Pros
Warm welcoming employees and managers, friendly understanding customers
Cons
Difficulty with receiving a raise in wages, fickleness with head office regarding hours and part/full-time positions
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nightmare ... Keep Far Away .....
Employee (Former Employee) –  King City, ON27 November 2017
Miserable workplace . The Grandpa Owner Sits At Home Watching You On Camera , He Watches Every Move You Do .. Employees Are Scared Stiff Working In This Store. Lots Of Staff Changes, If You Last MoreThan A Month Go Play the Lotto Cause Your The Lucky One ... Every week You See A different Employee. management Is Horrible . doesn't Matter How Hard You Work ... To This Company You Are Just A Payroll Number , Nothing More ......... Good Luck .
Pros
Brand New Store
Cons
Unstable Place To Work
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Opportunity
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee) –  King City, ON16 November 2017
Great company with lots of opportunity to move up and into different departments. Great products, great customers who are loyal to the store. Managers and owners are great, very down to earth, open to suggestions and work with you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 21Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON13 October 2017
I enjoyed my time working with Coppas fresh Market. the people are great! they treat their employees really nice. its a very respectful environment. it was a great job!!
Pros
three breaks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 23Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great family atmoshphere.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON25 September 2017
This is a very nice place to work with a great family atmosphere.
It is a family run business so they do things very Italian style but I like it. You get a free lunch at Christmas and if you a day off work you must give them at least two weeks notice.

I have been working here since 2012 and I enjoy it very much. I like my schedule because I don't mind working late shifts.
Pros
free lunch at christmas time.
Cons
late shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 21Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The owners are rude, racist and discriminating
Manager (Current Employee) –  Rutherford, ON12 September 2017
I have worked here for years and see it all. The way this organization operates is disgusting and disgraceful. The owners treat their employees like dogs. They do not respect their employees and this they are superior than all mankind. They are rude to their employees, constantly screaming and yelling at them in front of customers and other employees. They use threats and intimidation to control their employees. No wonder people are quitting. Some have even suggested to call the UFCW to start a union other want to call the human rights to file a complaint of harassment and discrimination. The owners need to realize that without the employees, the stores will fall a part. We can see it coming apart now and it will get worst if they continue to mistreat their employees.
Pros
Employees
Cons
Owners are rude and racist
Was this review helpful?Yes 52No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High quality grocery store
Cash and sales auditor, AP clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 August 2017
High quality grocery.
Good team.
Friendly management.
The most enjoyable is the wok I am doing on the daily basis. It is interesting and challenge.
Low salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 8Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Coppa's Fresh Market. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 29 reviews
58
43
37
24
17

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
3.0Culture