Convergint Technologies Employee Reviews

Found 22 reviews matching the search See all 100 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management by narcissist
Tradesman (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB15 February 2019
Area manager in charge of Base plant and Firebag is a one man wrecking crew. If for any reason someone annoys him, he makes it his mission to get rid of you. Multiple firings in the past 3 years has morale at a all time low.
Would be a great company to work for if it wasn't for this one individual.
Pros
Great company benefits, huge safety culture.
Cons
Self centered manager with a severe narcissistic personality disorder.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Revolving Door, Stay Clear.
Building Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB10 February 2019
Not a company that you can trust. Worked there 2 weeks, did what I was told, followed the safety rules, kept my yap shut, no issues.Then, after I got home for 2 weeks off, got a call from head office saying I wasn't the right fit?
DON'T DO IT!
Pros
Food, lodging, pay, and co-workers.
Cons
Everything else including fear of being fired every day cause that's all people talked about.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deceitful
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB23 January 2019
They will promise you a permanent position, good pay, group RRSP. On the other hand, you deal with backstabbing, gossips and lies, more lies and double faced people. Group RRSP after your hire is a scam. They never give the company portion at all!

The working environment is toxic!
Pros
good pay
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Disappointed
Administration (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 October 2018
They promote their "Motto" but sadly I did not find they lived up to it, unless you are a favorite you will go nowhere! I was hired perm, but turned out to be contract, I built the position, did all the training docs etc...and then they gave it to someone else!
I found a lot of backstabbing, gossip etc...

If you like being fake and all smiles this is the company for you.
Pros
Coverage
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and a lot of great people
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 August 2018
The staff, at all levels, are extremely inviting, friendly, helpful and motivating. Overall, the culture seems very positive and has a very family feel.
I would highly recommend Convergint. I've only been with them for a bit, but know numerous people who have been here for 10+ years, and all say the same positive things!
Pros
Good benefits, lots of work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to grow and people that legit care
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 August 2018
This company has been nothing but warm, fun, challenging in a good way and great folks to work with. The people have a culture that is not found in any other trades company, they have kept me busy when times are slow and support their crews when it’s flat out busy. I have been here for a few years and don’t plan on going anywhere. Lots of room to grow. Keep in mind you get out what you put in and it rings true with this company in all the right ways.
Pros
Culture, advancement, perks, hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 9Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Currently Working Here
Prefer not too (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB6 August 2018
Upset reading poor untrue comments. Really enjoy working here. Very open company. Good attitude and respectful you will never have any issues here. Great group of guys to work with. No issues with management at all
Pros
Christmas Dinner. Personal HH jackets. Great moral
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 12Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All but a warning...
Undisclosed due to possible retaliation. (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB24 May 2018
Are you desperate enough to work for a Company that trades your life for $? Both short term and long term? A Company that has more invested interest in preserving its physical assets and yearly revenue than the verbal and written agreements it has with its employees? Do you enjoy deceptive and alienating management methods? Does the concept of being potential collateral damage to protect Company image and maintain client contract, sound appealing to you? If so...Convergint is for you. Convergint will stop at nothing to be a multi billion dollar Company.

The wage will sound good and they’ll promise a lot of perks. Sadly they will slowly be taken away or you will quickly find that these “signing” perks didn’t even exist. Job security will be promised but you will soon see that it’s a “turn style” Company. It doesn’t matter how good you are at your job or with people... you must maintain a “chess like Pawn” modicum to achieve any long term employment.

Convergint is the “trades” version of the cut throat world of corporate greed. Nothing family about them. Just money, lies and deception. At least in Fort. Mac Murray.
Pros
“Some... good people”
Cons
Just about everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management with a lack of integrity
Tradesman (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB19 May 2018
Convergints maintenance operations in the oilsands are poorly managed, and potentially dangerous as a result. In the first six months of my employment they fired 3 people a shift, often for little reason. They preach integrity but it's clear they do not know what it means.
Pros
14/14 shift
Cons
Safety not important enough.
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away as fast as you can if possible
Tradesman (Former Employee) –  Alberta17 April 2018
An absolute gong show. Management is on a constant power trip and seeks to be constantly changing. Few consistent positions. If you are a big fan of drinking the koolaid and wearing blinders you may be able to survive for a year or more. If you are vocal about your views that differ from management positions, you may as well pack up your tools before the day is done. Always big ideas on improvement and asking for input, but input is ignored and ideas are pushed aside for the newest flavour of the month. Uneducated, uninformed,and biased management results in a truly hostile work place.
Pros
Had a free dinner at Christmas
Cons
Long hours, poor managers, hostile environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended !
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 February 2018
The management only favors the people they like and completely ignore the other hard-working employees. Culture is toxic with a political work environment. Lots of promises were made and not kept about advancement in the company. Promotion and advancement are only for those who are good friends with the boss. Also some supervisors completely lack team management and leadership skill to lead. They have high turn over rate and can't keep full staff even during the recession.
Pros
decent pay, good co-workers.
Cons
no job security, high turn over, no training, political work culture, very bad management + HR team
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues and leaders
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 February 2018
Finally a company that cares. I continue to enjoy everyday I work here.
The values and beliefs are the guiding principles for everyday work. I feel empowered and valued everyday and get to do my part to add to this fantastic culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 19Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid for your own sake !
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 February 2018
You could work here until you get another job, otherwise avoid this company for your own sake and future. Trainings and support are non-existent. Pay is decent. Upper management and HR are completely clueless and ignorant of what is happening within each team/department (especially the security team). They hired many full-time workers just for a few big projects that they got and as a matter of fact, mass lay-off happened after things were done. Remember to act happy in front of management and HR or they consider you a burden/liability. Promotion is unlikely to happen no matter how good you are unless you are in good relationship with the management.
Pros
Bbq, some co-workers
Cons
Ignorant management, unprofessional, unethical HR team with their "laid-off strategy"
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mysterious
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB31 August 2017
They fire people with no warning no reason and don't really care. The workers are good to work with. The work is comercial and HVAC assisting. If you're good friends with the boss go for it. Otherwise it's a gamble.
Pros
Average salary
Cons
Firing squad/ high turn over
Was this review helpful?Yes 65No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to work but job security is poor
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 March 2017
Overall a great place to work with technologies that are top notch.
Company is expanding and does well in the industry. Regardless of your performance your security is limited based on their ebita.
Pros
Great experienced people
Cons
Job Security is poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 15Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HVAC, controls, security company.
Apprentice Electrician 2nd Year (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB10 January 2017
Not advisable to those who are strictly looking to apprentice as an electrician.
Skills are transferable but the type of work does not require an electrical background and persons would gain more knowledge from doing residential. Unless you planned on doing strictly HVAC this company is a good starter and has possible long term opportunities.
Pros
Local work within a variety of places
Cons
at time undergoing management changes created some issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I found out i was laid off via facebook...
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB17 November 2016
The title says it all. I was told I would have opportunities for advancement, but when I was laid off, I had to find out from a former colleague on Facebook.. Management and HR went from GREAT when I was hired, to absolutely abysmal when I was laid off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most knowledgeable staff in the industry
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 October 2016
Great place to grow your knowledge of the industry and the people are great colleagues to work with.

Job security is never secure and unpredictable.

Ability for the installation department to follow through and complete jobs in a timely manner is in need of much improvement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 18Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still working with an 80's mentality
Security (Former Employee) –  Calgary13 October 2015
This company has grown over the last 10 years and management has not kept up with the growth. They have a manager for each employee and carry a large overhead cost. Others in the industry are efficient and becoming the new leaders for the industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
security system installation and serviice
Technician (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON31 July 2015
I learn a lot from my job, not only professional skills but also communication skills! Convergint cares more about worker's safety and personal development. and Convergint has their won culture, it makes cohesion very strong!!
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 22Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Convergint Technologies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 100 reviews
525
435
314
29
117

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.3Culture

Convergint Technologies Reviews by Location