Conestoga College Employee Reviews

Found 115 reviews matching the search See all 117 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student
Full-Time Student (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON29 April 2019
I have no reason to review a school as a place of employment but indeed is insisting on it. This is of no benefit to anyone. Review your policies, this is stupid.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Tech Tutor (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON29 April 2019
Typical Work Day: A typically workday involves troubleshooting computer related issues. (Similar to entry level IT Support).

What I Learned: Furthered my communication skills, learned networking skill sets, computer troubleshooting skill sets, organizational processes and program structures.

Perspective on Leadership: Management was great, however, as with every organization there is always room for improvement. My suggestion would be to develop stronger connections with employees.

Culture: Workplace culture is fantastic, employees and management are respectful and always willing to lend a hand.

Hardest Part of the Job: Dealing with difficult students, inpatient individuals or coming across problems outside of our scope. (Such as hardware failure etc.)

Best Parts of the Job: Helping student's overcome tech barriers, empowering students to increase the digital literacy and assisting faculty with tech concerns.
Pros
Flexibility, learning environment, great people
Cons
Limited room to advance and poor hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work while taking classes there
IT Service Desk Technician (Former Employee) –  Conestoga College Doon Campus29 April 2019
Very good about working around my school timetable. Pay was ok, hours were good, and the other staff members were friendly. The work was rewarding and felt important.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Part-time Instructor (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON24 April 2019
I worked with enthusiastic students and dedicated teachers and administrators. I loved working there, but when they switched from Quark to InDesign I was no longer qualified - I now am an expert at Indesign.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work enviroment
Student Technician (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON20 April 2019
It is a great place to work they have a wonderful bunch of people working there. They are friendly and helpful I would highly recommend it to any one.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun, Organized, Challenging
CJIQ (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON15 April 2019
Great place to work. Walking through the halls you feel like you're apart of a community. People are friendly. Employees and teachers are supportive.

The computer system is hard to manage. If you take the time to learn it, it gets easier.
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Head of Staff and Encouraging Environment
Embedded Systems Developer (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON4 April 2019
The Head of Staff is always ready to teach and allow for learning as well as bettering oneself within the environment. The fellow coworkers boost a sense of friendship as well as healthy competition.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
Electrical Co-op (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON13 March 2019
Working at the College as a Co-op student gave me great hands on experience in a real world setting. Staff were great, managers were excellent. They gave me great advice to continue my journey to becoming a licensed electrician.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for part time students
Millwright Technician Assistant(Part Time) (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON9 March 2019
Productive and good place to learn basics and improve your skills and learn new industrial automation stuff. Very good atmosphere to work and staffs are really willing to teach and explore
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal efficient workspace
Varsity Rep (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON6 March 2019
The athletics department was small but very efficient, management was very involved with all staff and the day to day operations that it made everything feel personal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible student job.
IT Hardware Technician (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON5 March 2019
Overall this is an excellent job for students. The typical work day during the school year consists of ensuring the computer labs are functional and addressing any service tickets that arise.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Early hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job in canada
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON27 February 2019
i worked in helping the one card office to issues id cards to the new students .
Managed the data of the issued id's in the system
Helped students to gain more knowledge about their one card facilities inside or outside the campus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Professor (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON23 February 2019
Working at Conestoga exceeded my expectations. The polytechnic education system provides students with the practical hands-on tool-set to drive innovation and world classed excellence as they enter the workforce. It is more than a job, but a calling. If you have the background and are a like minded individual with a burning desire to share your experiential knowledge, Conestoga is the place for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is so friendly, professional and fun work place
Instructor / Professor (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON3 February 2019
Working as a professor in Conestoga College is a real fun respected work.. dealing with domestic and international student is the ultimate culture and education experience. Management support is the key of success.. loving the job, helping the student, serving the culture and the society is the fundamental goal of being a professor. I really enjoy being working in Conestoga College
Pros
Na
Cons
part time instructor sometime create financial difficulties
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
CO-OP DATABASE ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Doon, ON26 November 2018
The Staff is good , helpful.Typical day starts at 8:30 and ends at 5:00pm.Workplace culture is kind of office work.Management is exceptional and understanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and Challenging
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON22 November 2018
Being in the classroom is rewarding and challenging. Navigating Conestoga "systems", preparation and grading requires far more effort than expected. The college provides an incredible amount of support through workshops. Despite the educational support, as a part time instructor be prepared to work as an individual. Some attempts are made at integrating but generally you are on your own.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very complex work enviroment
Manager Campus Safety and Parking Services (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON18 October 2018
Experienced Safety Security Manager with a demonstrated history of working in the higher education industry. Skilled in Customer Service, Supervisory Skills, Public Speaking, Team Building, and Occupational Health. Strong security and protective services professional with a MBA speciality in Health and Safety Leadership focused in Business Administration and Management from University of Fredericton.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good school
Practical Nursing Student (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON17 October 2018
i learnt alot. The professors were very knowledgeable for the most part. Poor food availability and pricing. Library and health sciences centers were well done and provided excellent learning environments.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Got the opportunity to interact with people and learn management skills
Food Bank Leader (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON4 October 2018
Awesome place to work in and the entire team is very supportive. Learn about how to manage the food bank service which included managing the entire inventory of the food bank and the visit records.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
PEER TUTOR (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON and Guelph, ON17 September 2018
It was nice being able to make my own hours that worked around my school schedule as well as keeping a balance on my life and homework.
The hardest part of the job was about being prepared. Each student had different needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Conestoga College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 117 reviews
571
434
38
24
10

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.2Culture