Compass Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a nice place to work
Food service worker (OPG) (Current Employee) –  Pickering, ON20 February 2018
Unorganized management, They don't deal with any problems, They (sweep them under rug.) Favor's some people, disregards seniority.
Toxic environment. Management just don't see and care.
Pros
Love the clientel
Cons
don't get proper breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Cashier Supervisor (Former Employee) –  York, ON19 February 2018
early morning
not much, no opportunity of learning
poor management
multiple culture
long hour standing and less break
not much enjoy to working from here
Pros
free lunch
Cons
supper stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great First Job
Skybox Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS5 February 2018
This job provided me with many opportunities to grow and learn a new skill on a daily basis. Management was efficient and alway considerate to the needs of their employees as well as the satisfaction of the customer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Parents wark full-time part time
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 January 2018
I am currently working in aveda International Saudi Arabia.I want to come to work in Canada.I have to stay six months in Saudi.After that I would like to come to Canada
Pros
Normal
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great everyday job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  burnaby28 January 2018
straightforward work
easy tasks for everyone
approachable management
flexible days off
great pay but no commission
great, regular customers
set schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Associates or Supervisors
Restaurant Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON26 January 2018
No union, so they can move you around anywhere. Do not treat employees fair. Cut hours when sales aren’t their. Work quality his horrible. Pay is not worth the headache, push you to get the job done. Always cutting hours and never give help where need. Tell you if you don’t like your job their is the door.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything all about being in the money
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a friendly and fast paced workplace. a very fulfilling sense of pride with my coworkers
Waste collection in housekeeping dept NRGH (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC24 January 2018
Compass is a great company to work for... it has benefits comparable to other good companies. Staff is happy and friendly supervisors and bosses.
Coworkers cared about each other. If someone became seriously ill or had family emergency we all came together to help in whatever way possible with efforts from our supervisors
They care about our safety and have safety meetings everyday.
Pros
Great benifits
Cons
I can’t say there are any cons. I have worked for them and loved it there
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced
Server/ cleaner (Former Employee) –  Bordan24 January 2018
Compass group is a very efficient and productive work place. Seasonal work can slow advancement. Very friendly professional staff and fair pay rates make it an easy place to spend a summer.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
Assistant Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 January 2018
Ensure financial records are maintained in compliance with accepted policies and procedures (full accounting cycle)
Compile and analyze financial information to recommend or develop efficient use of resources and procedures, provide recommendations and maintain solutions to business and financial problems
Pros
none
Cons
bad culture no advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON22 January 2018
Everyone was friendly and easy going. Had a good experience working here. Always very busy and never left wondering what to do. Nothing to complain about and everything was run smoothly.
Pros
Free meal. Short hours
Cons
Few shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
SALES ASSISTENT (Former Employee) –  Milano, 20124, IT22 January 2018
i worked in a supermarket in my own town during the summer and was my first work experience. i was 16. I was in contact with many people and this experience was repeated every summer after school
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Camp Attendant/ ESS Compass Group (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB21 January 2018
I worked as Camp Attendant for ESS Compass Group
in a camp in the oil fields cleaning rooms
We worked long hours, 21 days on then 7 days off
Hard work but the benefits were great
Pros
Free Meals
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Napanee, ON18 January 2018
Found it okay at the start and free tired of it as it did not meet my satisfactory and I was going to be heading out of the area for a few months for work
Pros
Decent
Cons
Decent
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Patient Satisfaction Surveyor (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON11 January 2018
It was a really good position while it was available, you got to make you own hours - and you got to drive your own car ...which means your choice of music and talking to patients was fun and very educational. You really get to know our healthcare system. Plus you got to travel!
Pros
payed for gas and hotels
Cons
hospital environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs Improvment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON9 January 2018
This company does not provide their employees with the opportunity for advancement.
Employees are taken advantage of with low pay, while employees who are new or have little responsibility are making a wage similar to those who have worked with the company for a number of years, and have more authority and responsibility.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
IT and Marketing Intern (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON9 January 2018
only there for a short time
-got hands-on experience as a Business analyst
-work closely with the VP of business transformation
- there was not set shift, and could work from home
Pros
no micro management
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a terrible place to work
Dishwasher Chartwells (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB9 January 2018
The Management at Chartwells is terrible. They put you through long work hours, and expect you to work overtime without extra pay. They often don't order supplies needed to get the job done, and they over-work all their staff
Pros
Meals after Five Hours
Cons
Mean/Toxic Co-workers and management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is Poor
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON5 January 2018
Management only caters to staff they like. New employees are not given a fair chance and are ignored. Management shows favoritism and treat people from the agency poorly.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Poor Wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Waste Your Time
Server (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC4 January 2018
If I could have given a zero I would have! I was hired as a server for this company and the day I started was the last day that I saw the manager that hired me. She left! What a nightmare this dining room is. Dishwashers and kitchen staff are serving tables because they are so short of staff and can not keep people there. The servers that are there are set in their ways and do not want to help train new employees properly. I do not recommend applying here. There is no team work here and when it is mentioned you are literally laughed at. Its the tail wagging the dog. Management does not have any control, the employees do.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depending to the management
Team Leader General Help (Former Employee) –  Drumheller, AB3 January 2018
typical day is when your working with not enough resources, i learned to be strong and with the training i have undergo,the management is okay,the culture is not the best,hardest part of the job is when its busy not enough staff working I am working like 3 in 1 worker,tyhe enjoyable part when my strategies works in a challenging work place,
Pros
free food to eat.
Cons
not reliable to rely on their promises from the management
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Compass Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 3,052 reviews
5798
4878
3679
2284
1413

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture