Compass Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
Kitchen (GH) General Helper (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 September 2018
Cant really say to many positives abut the company, was not really to impressed working at the location where I was at, it operated like it was a new business staff and operations was not very organized. It was a head ache. Maybe far better at different locations?
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostess
Hostess/Server (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON16 September 2018
I loved this Job, I was able to interact with clients in the suits, Always great guests. I always made sure my guest were very happy, and had everything they ordered on our menu, Food was always hot for them when they arrived to the suits. The fridge was always stocked, I've worked all the bulldog games, and concerts, it was never a boring night at Copps Coliseum.. They had new management take over, and things slowed down there, so they had told me I would be on call. But unfortionally I haven't recieved a call back. This was a great job, I always loved going into work. It was always evenings and weekends. I also became pregnant with my second child, and couldn't go back eventually. Great Job..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgusting
Concession Worker (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON10 September 2018
The concession stands are subpar and disgusting, days are 5 hours and super dead, hardest part of the job is learning to use the till. cleanliness is not a main priority, burgers, hot dogs and fries were left in a fridge for weeks on end, and almost everything was expired.
Pros
Free food and drinks
Cons
Disgusting work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Accounting Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  London, ON9 September 2018
It is a great experience to work in Compass Group. People are nice and productive. You can always communicate each other with the job difficulties and also let someone know what you got from the work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of politics
Accounts Receivable Associate (Former Employee) –  London, ON6 September 2018
This place is very toxic. Some managers are very unprofessional and discouraging. Lots of politics involved. Pay rates are very low. The workload is large .
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
reading,swimming,cooking,drawing,
Chef de partie (Former Employee) –  london30 August 2018
its a good place to work meeting a lot of people and learning new ideas and working hard.And working in different company producing great food.the staff are great and helping in working as a team.
Pros
30 min
Cons
35 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty good job
Prep Cook/Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Greater Toronto Area, ON29 August 2018
i enjoyed working at all the diferent locations, but the menu was constantly bland for my taste very easy. i wanted to be challenged. so i went back to school.
Pros
free food and drink
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Positive, great growth potential
District Manager Leisure and Entertainment (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 August 2018
I was promoted 3 times, great opportunities. I started as Executive Chef and ended up as a District Manager. Along the way i met and worked with many great people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cunfusing
Head Baker (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB12 August 2018
I'd rather not work for them if possible,,to many silly rules ,stupid recipes they want you to folllow ,to cheap ,poor management most times ,to many managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well initiative, Organized, Good communication
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Victoria Park, toronto, ON8 August 2018
cleaned everyday.
To make sure all Garbage bin are empty and restroom are sanitized.
Office table are well dusted and clean

Being a lead should always be balance besides my job and others as well.. to make sure they're doing there job done.

Team work is the most enjoyable part in job..
Pros
no job weekend.. it's great more time on family
Cons
7 hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre
Cashier Food Prep (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL4 August 2018
Amazing Co-workers
Poor Management/ treatment of their staff
Lack of Proper Training of new Employees
Great attention paid to Occupational Health and Safety
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work!
Janitorial Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB26 July 2018
The management is absolutely horrible to the staff. They don’t care what happens to us. To them compass comes first. Whatever you do DO NOT work here!!! they steal your vacation days, you get no raises, no incentives. They work you til you can’t take it. They yell at you in front of everyone. The management talks about the staff behind their backs. If your sick; too bad. Suffer through, or they call you a liar. I could honestly go on and on about how horrible it is!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work, not bad pay
Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 July 2018
You do lots of walking around transporting stock from station to station in the center. Heavy lifting is not really needed most things are light but wear running shoes.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
lots of moving
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You ca hiring works
Housekeeping Attendant (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB24 July 2018
If posting job you hiring the workers when we see the job my we think you people hiring for works we did see people looking looking job not getting nothing just nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
McGill Residency (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC23 July 2018
While working at McGill residency building it was a very different environment, dealing with all sorts of situations. I learned more french and how to constantly stay busy. Management was super nice and always put school first. The hardest thing working their was stay on my feet for long hours, and late nights. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to explore the city, and connecting with the students their.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Long hours on feet with timed breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Les règles ne sont pas toujours respecté.
aide général de cafétéria (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC18 July 2018
J'aime ce que je fais mais l'ambiance n'est pas trop bonne . J'aime travaillé avec les élèves. Les règles ne sont pas toujours respecté.
Le salaire est beaucoup trop bas pour le travail que l'on fait.
Pros
repas à petit prix.
Cons
Les règles ne sont pas toujours respecté.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not like the culture of the company based from my experience.
Sr. Director of Foodservices (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 July 2018
It's a very large company and I only worked at a small sector of the company. From my role as the Director of Food Services, it's a rather political...
Pros
Good work and life balance considering the industry I was in.
Cons
Unproductive work culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for anyone with an iota of self respect
Hospitality Associate (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC12 July 2018
There is a reason they post so many ads on here. Not a good place to work if you have ever thought "hey, I'm a person of value" or "I'm not worthless".
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, no respect, demeaning attitudes, very clique-y
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable environment
Executive Wait Staff (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 July 2018
Working at Torys was very enjoyable, great people and excellent admin. staff. Best work experience ever. Creating menus for clients and event planners and organizing the event from start to finish.
Pros
Friendly clients and co workers
Cons
Evening shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cashier/Kitchen Helper (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 July 2018
Fun-loving, hard-working and dedicated colleagues
customers are nice
will be able to practice multi-tasking skills
very productive
enjoys the benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Compass Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 3,374 reviews
5862
4968
3754
2320
1470

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture