Community Ventures Society Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and supportive place to work
Community Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Port Moody, BC21 February 2019
A very welcoming agency. The team was very helpful as a new staff coming in. Some individuals are more challenging to support than others and CVS provides additional training with them. Supervisor are helpful and will meet with me anytime as needed. I'm so happy to have been hired with this company.
Pros
Welcoming and helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
CSW (Former Employee) –  Port Moody, BC9 February 2019
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
CSW (Former Employee) –  Port Moody, BC6 February 2019
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work.
Community Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Port Moody, BC5 December 2018
Provides the chance to support some incredible individuals and to make a real difference.

There are many opportunities for advancement and hard work is generally well recognized. Management is always looking to better the company and is very accessible to everyone.

CVS has very good team environment feel and is a great place to work.
Pros
A lot of relevant and useful training, dedicated staff, lots of team building activities (ie bbq's, seasonal parties for individuals and staff), very forward thinking agency, person centred approach, room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Official response from Community Ventures Society
21 February 2019

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at CVS. We strive to create a positive culture and are so pleased you enjoyed your time working for CVS and supporting the individuals we serve.

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Community Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Port Moody, BC1 March 2018
cvs is a great company to work for. the clients are all so sweet. it is a unionized position as well which is a bonus! great people to learn from- definitely liked working here
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Official response from Community Ventures Society
21 February 2019

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed working at CVS and appreciate you sharing your experience with others. We agree that our clients are great and we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us.

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great position, well paying, tiring job, but rewarding. Government branch controls everything though and can leave you without work for weeks.
Behavioural Interventionist (Current Employee) –  Delta, BC17 April 2017
Management was great, position itself was great, tiring but very rewarding.
Pay was very good.
The union/board(?) that controls the company does not have the best interest of staff and clients in mind.

Hours worked well with a school schedule. Position was flexible during shift. Manager was knowledgeable, organized and interested in the well being of our client.
Pros
Hours worked well with a school schedule.
Cons
Job security is poor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Program Facilitator (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB2 January 2017
Am really appreciate the opportunity given to me to work with community Venture . The working environment was good and the staff there was extremely helpful and excellent
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and professional
RESPITE WORKER (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC28 September 2016
Professional and supportive environment. This agency is committed to maintaining quality of life of their clients. They have provided a professional work environment
Pros
PRofessional
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taken for the job experience.
CSW (Former Employee) –  Port Moody, BC13 November 2015
CVS has some awesome staff who really do care. Sad that the management doesn't. U can be called in with an hour or less warning and then chastised if not available that quickly. Very low pay and low kl. per shift with 2 or more clients, usually more than 2 clients. No directive, very little or no on site training. Staff there for longer period are very gossip minded and give little to no assistance, even when asked
Pros
gets u some experience if fresh from school
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Community Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC12 February 2015
I was part of a Day Program team where I would take out the program's participants to community involvement such as Pool, mall, park etc
Pros
outdoors!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the people I supported, management needed reorganizing
Community Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC2 February 2014
Supporting individuals with physical and emotional challenges in their lives. I learned that inclusion is an ongoing area of work, especially when you are in the community. Strong advocates needed in this area of work. Co-worker on the whole were professional, however lots of burnt out staff. The hardest part of the job was working with people (staff) who did not want to be there. The most enjoyable part of the job was educating the public about the challenges, adults with special needs face, and changing the stigma attached to this.
Pros
Close by
Cons
negative staff attitudes
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Outreach Care Worker (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB30 June 2013
work involves going on social outings with members on alternating weekends (no work on long weekends). learned that personal respect is appreciated regardless of a person's status or condition. have worked with interesting co-workers.
Pros
get to many outings I would not have gone to
Cons
shifts are often during evening meal time and into the late evening
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Community Ventures Society. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 13 reviews
53
43
34
21
12

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture

Community Ventures Society Reviews by Location