Coldstar Solutions Inc Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unbearable Management..
Driver/Delivery (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC28 April 2019
You might want to avoid this place at all cost.. Management is incredibly unbearable nasty to say the least.. most of the staff are a blast to work with but again management in Victoria are horrible.. no room at all for advancing job is blah but one thing is for sure benefits are incredible but you can get those anywhere.. they are definitely better folk to work for..
Pros
Benefits and family values
Cons
Management Management Management!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Coldstar Solutions Inc
30 April 2019

We’re sorry to hear about your experience with management at ColdStar, but we are happy to hear about your positive connection with your peers. We strive to create a fun and respectful workplace – honouring and taking all company values seriously. Employee relations is very important to us, and your feedback is taken seriously.
- Human Resources

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very caring and passionate company
Lead Hand/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Produce Division8 April 2019
Coldstar is a very kind and compassionate company which gives every employee room to grow.They have excellent benefits which offer which covers you 100 percent.They have alot of fun activities throughout the year for their staff.I am very happy to be part of the Coldstar Solutions team and look forward to the future of the company.
Pros
Excellent medical program and job security
Cons
Overtime where needed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good enough job
Freight Assembler (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC10 March 2019
the job was alright but just a job for me at the time. a lot of people made a career out working there and it worked out well enough for them, i just needed a job to pay rent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company
LABOURER (Current Employee) –  Langford, BC7 February 2018
very great atmosphere and very approachable management team. positive fellow employees. physical and mentally rewarding. good benefits and the salary is good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Refrigerated environment only
Warehouseman/Leadhand (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC10 August 2017
If you don't mind working in refrigerated environment, or freezer environment then you should try coldstar. Pay was decent, and the company Christmas party was fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work if you can handle it.
order picker (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo4 August 2016
I worked nightshift from 12:00 to 8:00 am. october 2015-june 2016 Very unorganized warehouse..... no signage. That was my biggest problem. Very high paced and stressful job done in -1 and -40 degrees. You start out by stacking chicken bins and cleaning. Then the trucks come in and you unload them with a forklift or standing jack. After everything is in the warehouse you build orders and put them in their respective place. at 6Am the truckers come in and you load their 50 foot trailers on pallets.
Honestly i was fired, but i still respect the guys there. The night manager bob, is a salty old school guy. But he has a WEALTH of knowledge about warehousing. Liston too this guy because he wouldn't ask you to do anything he hasnt done with his 30 years of experience. When i started i didnt like the guy, but when i left he honestly made me a better man and a better worker.
The only thing i should warn people about is that it is a high paced stressful job done on graveyard hours. There is NO mistakes, you mess an order up or dont ship something it costs the company money and time.
If you are a sorta weak person who cant handle stress and getting it right do not apply here. I fit what i just typed but i lasted 8 month's can you?
Also, the truckers are all really cool guys. Gus is a guy you want to learn from because he is a great teacher.
This job takes a mature experienced warehousing guy. There is no room for mistakes, bob is a awesome boss but he is TOUGH. Just work really hard and DONT be afraid to ask him questions.
Pros
great benifits and wage. good guys to work with. guss the trucker is amazing
Cons
bob liked to yell, horrible hours, stressful, cold, no mistakes
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good stepping stone job
freight builder (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC3 April 2015
Got fired for going to the bathroom..... there turn over rate is disgusting! Bosses dont care about you. Only good if its your first job
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freight Assembler
Freight Assembler (Former Employee) –  Victoria BC1 November 2014
Breaking down freight according to stop
Manifesting freight
Assembling freight by order
Loading / Unloading trucks using electric pallet jacks / forklifts
Sanitizing trucks in compliance with HACCP regulations

Coldstar were a great company to work for, with knowledgeable staff and great benefits
Pros
Great staff, excellent coffee, medical benefits
Cons
Night Shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
treats everyone like they are replaceable
Driver (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC18 July 2013
Work here to get experience as soon as things start heading south consider leaving
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Coldstar Solutions Inc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 10 reviews
53
41
33
22
11

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.0Culture

Coldstar Solutions Inc Reviews by Location