Coastal Transport Co., Inc Employee Reviews for Driver

Found 24 reviews matching the search See all 82 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nasty place to work
driver (Current Employee) –  Abilene, TX25 May 2019
Office staff are no shows, lies and talks bad about their bosses. Cant sit and talk one on one. Coastal is a sorry nasty place to be. Party with drivers. Tells new folks I will call back and she never does. Leaves people hanging . To much work, but management has tons of facebook time.
Pros
nothing
Cons
tashy office people
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run like crazy
Driver (Former Employee) –  Abilene, TX12 December 2018
Worked here for almost 8 years, was lead driver when I left. We saw new trucks once while I was with them, they got new trucks shortly after I left over 5 years ago, nothing since, most trucks are In the 750,000 mile plus range.

Trailers haven't been replaced in years, think the newest the Abilene yard had is from 2000, many 30 plus year old trailers.

They hire anyone to be a mechanic with no certification of any kind, this guy was just changing oil at WalMart now hes lead mechanic, nothing is fixed until it breaks, I was on a first name basis with the local tow driver.

Pay sucks everyone else has gone up on pay in the last ten years not Coastal, the norm out of the Abilene yard is 14-15 hr days . Was on a 6-2 schedule last 5 years I was with them I never worked my 6th day due to no hours.

If your good at hauling fuel you can do whatever you please, start whenever you feel like it no one cares, favoritism is strong, good drivers can pick and choose loads.

Abilene is the redheaded step child of terminals, all the junk equipment comes here.

Losing business every day, lots of their Allsups are now being pulled by Wes T go Fuels and Penta Petro out west.


If you like low pay, not knowing if your equipment will get thru the day and dont value your safety this is the place for you... some of the equipment is down right scary considering what your hauling.
Pros
Will hire with no fuel experience
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t apply if your a skilled driver
DRIVER (Current Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TX8 October 2018
Scroll pass them, this place is unprofessional and safety is not there intrest until someone is killed or injured! The pay is horrible, no overtime, if your fully endorsed and worth $600 to $900 a week. This job is for you. Hope this helps real truck drivers thats looking to slow down. This is not the place.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
Driver (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TX22 August 2018
Benefits are mediocre at best. The terminal manager is only there for the pay check and allows the employees and dispatcher to do what ever they want. She also refuses to confront issues proactively. You'll be in a different truck everyday and all the trailers are completely different setups and capacities. Mostly longer runs and very few in town runs unless you make the "favorites" list. Zero comunication in dispatch and in management. Ok for a temporary job but wouldn't suggest staying long term
Pros
They will hire anyone. Impossible to get fired
Cons
Long hours, 6 on 2 off schedual
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work and management does not care
Driver (Former Employee) –  Waco, TX8 August 2018
The only thing i can say is this is a good place for entry leval gas hauling after 6 months leave and get a real you look at the job dont waste your time and if reviews most are bad that should tell the job seeker something so move on find a better job.
Pros
Training for a novis
Cons
Everthing else
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy to be there
Driver (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TX30 March 2018
been there many years, stable work, manager is very helpful and cares. Always hear grass is greener for other drivers, but it green enough here. Good dispatch.
Pros
Good dispatch, stable enviorment
Cons
no matching 401 K
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Driver (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TX2 March 2018
They have consistent work, and the dispatch is fair. Manager is there to listen and is very helpful. Will do things to help you that other companies won't. If you do your job right, you get a bonus and you also receive a retention bonus after 3 years.
Pros
good atmosphere, consistent work, fair dispatch
Cons
no 401 k match
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outstanding
Driver (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CA2 March 2018
I love working for coastal transport and look forward to it everyday, theirs never ending work to be done and like the ability that the more loads i do the more pay i get. The bonus programs are top notch and the equipment is very modern and they continue to upgrade the fleet.
Pros
everything
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 10Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is the bottom of the barrel for fuel hauling
Driver (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TX27 February 2018
I work at the Fort Worth yard this place is trash she will sit there and lie to your face about the money you make which is cramp we pull more enthanol then fuel loads..The proof is the yard just ride by there. You work more hours with very low load pay.. You have to wait a year for your the sign on bonus which is crazy.. You deliver to Valero’s and AllSups tell me where are they located around hear trust me go to the racks and every other fuel driver will tell you the same story it’s no money here everyone can’t tell the same story with the same ending
Pros
None
Cons
Everything and I mean everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Driver (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TX12 February 2018
Good people you work with, trucks are well maintain, clean and look great. Easy deliveries in San Antonio region. Management and dispatchers are well cultured.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management from the top down is a joke
DRIVER (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ21 January 2018
They don't take care about their employees. They expect you to bend over backwards to help the company but as soon as you do something they don't like they throw you under the bus. Lowest paid in the industry, expensive insurance, no company march 401k, look for every reason to take your safety bonus, the management from the top down is a joke.
Pros
Always have work
Cons
Lowest pay in the industry, dont care about you, no company match 401k, high priced ins, Management from top down!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would go back if i had to.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TX5 December 2017
not the best place to work. old trucks,old trailers and a manager that did not know a lot about control. that is about it .bad repair done on trucks and trailers.
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fuel delivery driver
Driver (Current Employee) –  Hearne, TX21 September 2017
They always want you to work 12-15 hours a day. Dispatch gets in trouble for letting anyone off before they reach 12 hours a day. Pay is definitely not up to par for the hours you put in. Management is good and will let you have unpaid days off if you request it. Trucks are fairly well taken care of but most trailers are from the 1970s and 80s.
Pros
Good management
Cons
Long hours, poor pay, old trailers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good group to work for
Driver (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TX7 July 2017
Good people, good job ,demanding at times , upkeep of equipment generally good. Little slow on some , payed for extra work and waiting at racks to load.
Pros
On your own mostly
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Driver (Current Employee) –  Austin, TX27 February 2017
A good company to up start your professional driving career . A very friendly and interesting place to work. Get to meet lots of people
Pros
Flexible start and finish times
Cons
No weekends off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very excited
Fuel Tank Driver (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CA9 October 2014
I enjoy working we my coworker, very helpful, in any aspect of the job. I learned something new every day so I was looking forward, for the next day to do my job right.
Pros
Good shift to work, and new equipment.
Cons
There were time, that was unnecessary waiting to load the tank, because some other driver was wasting time on the rack.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bad experience with this company. Was only employed for a very short amount of time due to this.
Fuel Driver (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TX3 August 2014
Overall very bad atmosphere, working environment and poorly trained drivers and management. I was only employed here a very short time before quitting and going back to the oil field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good stable type of work, hauling fuel
Driver (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CA20 May 2014
Its a company to start and get your experience hauling fuel here local in San Diego, CA. I learned how how to load and unload fuel at gas station. Management is not all that good. Hardest part of the job was dealing with the dispatcher because they did not know what they were doing and when you offered to help them they did not accept any advise to make everybodies work easy. All the co-workers are awesome and very good to work with. The atmosphere working is great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's aight
Driver (Former Employee) –  Waco20 April 2014
$40 per load day drivers
$44 per load night drivers
$10 hour for delays i.e. Break downs, layovers
One of the lowest paid in the industry
Two way cameras in all the trucks with audio.
3 maybe 4 loads a day in a 10-12hr day.
4 if your lucky and you kill yourself and don't take a lunch or breaks.
6 on 2 off work schedule.
You WILL put most if not all 70hrs a week in.
Every 6 weeks you'll get a weekend off.
No assigned trucks, and slip seating.
Over all experience, not the worst place to work but definitely not the best. Definitely not into the whole rights infringement spying thing. If you're going to haul dangerous hazmat then why not go somewhere where they pay you more, give you more time with your family, better benefits, newer equipment, and don't spy on you with cameras in the trucks.
Pros
Automatic day cab Volvos
Cons
Two way cameras with audio in all the trucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 60No 8Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fuel driver
Fuel Tank Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ9 August 2013
10-14 hour days, dispatching was not always workable, unsteady work, did learn fuel vapors causes cancer and didn't supply masks for our protection
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 9Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Coastal Transport Co., Inc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 82 reviews
516
422
312
211
121

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.1Culture