CN Tower Employee Reviews

Found 43 reviews matching the search See all 44 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Guest services/ Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 March 2019
Great colleagues! amazing experience. I enjoy the working environment. it is great place to gain new experience and new perspectives with plenty of life experiences
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worker friendly
Guest Services Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 February 2019
it is an okay place to work if you are short on cash and need quick and easy money. if you are into that then i would recommend working at this location.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You'll probably be more qualified than your boss
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 January 2019
You will discover after working there that management and directors are largely unqualified for their jobs. The majority of them do not have a secondary school education, meaning that their subordinates are generally are more educated than they are. The head honcho of the CN Tower started as a line cook, now he's in charge of the entire building's operations.

Management will preach to you about how you are "the best of the best", but any other in-house security job in Toronto will pay you more (for example, the ROM, the MTCC, and the AGO all pay higher wages).

Work environment is toxic, basically high school all over again. Those "awesome coworkers" you think you have will be saying all sorts of things about you. You'll only have a handful of people that are genuinely awesome; try to identify them quickly.

Part time employees are expected to work the same hours, do the exact same job, and have the exact same responsibilities as full timers despite being paid less and receiving no benefits.

When someone has been there for a long time, the upper management will fire them and hire someone new so they can pay them less money. This problem was *rampant*, and was a big part of the reason why the building is poorly run and completely disorganized.

If you work in security, you will have no opportunity for advancement. You *might* be able to get a supervisor position, but odds are very good that you won't want the added responsibility for the miserable pay increase.
Pros
It looks good on your resume
Cons
You have to work there to get it on your resume
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved My Job
Bartender/Events (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 January 2019
A typical day would be working the floor chatting with travelers that stopped to check out the CN
I loved getting to know people from all over the world
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Admissions Cashier
box office cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 January 2019
-great coworkers
- fairly easy job (set up till, cash out customers and print tickets, greeting outside for about 1-2 hours and counting cash and organizing receipts at the end of the day)
Pros
coworkers
Cons
odd work hours for seasonal staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace but Fun work environment
Photographer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 November 2018
The CN tower is an major tourist attraction. It will be an fast pace working environment. However you're never overwhelmed because of the great team players that work there. The managers were amazing and caring.
Pros
Discounts at cafe and gift shop. Beautiful View
Cons
Sale Rejection ( dont take it to heart )
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productine and fun
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 October 2018
I'm only volunteering there and it's quite a fun environment. Workers are always willing to help you with your questions . There are also many benefits with working there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun event
Floater Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 September 2018
So much to do and lot's of opportunity to interact with people. A great learning opportunity and I acquired many new skills. I volunteered for the CN Tower climb in 2016 and 2017. It was a very fulfilling and exiting experience.
Pros
Lot's to do
Cons
Lot's of walking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Field Placement/Placement Student (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 July 2018
Great experience in the industry if that is what you are looking for. The job itself is great but the commute to downtown Toronto is not the best, and because of that I do find it cumbersome.
Pros
Experience
Cons
commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun job
Grounds Crew (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 May 2018
Amazing job, with great people.
Very involving with training and orientations, great team work and work place atmosphere. Outstanding service provider for both internal and external customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not fun
Guest Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 May 2018
The hour's were horrible, sometimes working a morning shift and than the next day I had to work an evening shift, so my sleep schedule was never consistent. Did not enjoy working with costumers. However they do provide a course in customer service excellence, and how to talk to customers which was amazing. If you are highly extroverted and very social than this job is for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 March 2018
This day was one to remember, because of the early hour we got to watch the sunrise and throughout the day, we got to greet climbers and direct them to where they should go
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours standing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solid workplace
Imaging Agent (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 November 2017
It's busy and can be a stressful place to work so be prepared. But I really liked my coworkers. And working at the CN Tower was a good way to stay busy over the summer. plus the benefits are neat.
Pros
lockers, benefits, coworkers.
Cons
very busy in the summer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great view of the City.
Restaurant Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 September 2017
The 360 restaurant open for lunch and dinner with a set menu. Very busy during dinners. Typical day would be assisting in guest service and ensuring their experience was something that could be talked about. The Food & Beverage Manager was a wonderful person.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Customer Service Representative (Hallmark) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 May 2017
I was working with Hallmark in CN tower(Part-time), gained great experience in working there.Good group environment. Supervisors are very supportive and ample coaching is available to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff members is what made me stay!!!
Guest Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 May 2017
Summer hours were great 40 hours a week but once winter hit you would only get 10-15 hours a week. This was the worst place I have ever worked. Horrible managers who "mock" staff. Extremely low pay (min wage) and Tickets sell for $35per person. Managers and CEO's rave about how much money they make yearly while front line staff struggle to get by. This just job is great for kids ages 16-18max.
Pros
Good staff members
Cons
Low pay, Rude guests, Bad Managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Satisfactory
COOK, (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 May 2017
Day at work is fun and healthy.
You learn at work to be a team player
Management is good
Work place culture is very democratic
Part of the job that is challenging is the fast pace environment
Enjoyable part of the part everybody inspired each other good vibes
Pros
Tips from clients
Cons
Peak hours always a preasure
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like to get a lot of experience
Chef (Former Employee) –  Downtown13 May 2017
Like I want to get a lot of experience while work there.

I like the because the place is busy and I like working in a busy company .

All my reason are true
Cons
Full time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is a good experience
Customer Assistant /Photographer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 May 2017
Co-workers are amazing, but the company needs manager Skills, Is a tourist place, some of the Guest are speak spanish so i work directly with them.
Editing and taking photos
Pros
Team work amazing
Cons
no manager skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile environment run by bullies
Guest Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 March 2017
This was the most dehumanising experiences of my life. The management team is full of mediocre opportunists who seem to revel in the destruction of individuality. Situations and errors never get fully addressed then the executive team wants employees to show up to pep rallies about how much money they make off your labour. All while you're just trying to get a schedule that enables you to make minimum wage work.
Pros
You might make some friends
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CN Tower. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 44 reviews
517
411
38
22
16

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.5Culture

CN Tower Reviews by Location