Club Demonstration Services Employee Reviews

Found 46 reviews matching the search See all 990 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment, no support from managers
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 March 2019
I worked for this company for over a year. Sometimes we just stopped getting paid, I had to call payroll many times my manager emailed like 5 times in order to get paid after 2 months. Everything is just so complicated, when my friend got hired she had so many troubles with her application, it took her forever to be hired and to start working and then to start getting paid. they will cancel your shift many times if the manager doesn't like you. Sometimes you email HR or payroll and they just leave you hanging, they absolutely don't care about the staff. You have to work off clock because they don't want to pay you extra hours but you have to get the job done anyway
Pros
Eat many samples
Cons
not getting paid on time, no support from managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
communication excellence
Crew (Part time) (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK13 March 2019
it is nice to work with the company.make it happen with customers.meeting different people on daily basis.make a relationship with them and doing the business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CDS Demonstrator
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Nova Scotia, Canada23 February 2019
This job , has amazing team members, I love working with such friendly , helpful team who look out and care for each other. You get to meet so many people 75% of which are super 25% of which is extremely rude and disrespectful .
Unfortunately , our boss in NS , ruins all of our days, he is very degrading, has no employee skills and thinks we we are very beneath him. Even the people that are his elders get treated this way , your suppose to respect your elders.He will say unnecessary comments In front of customers , to intentionally degrade you and has no social filters and no care or respect for his staff.
Our supervisor is completely opposite, she is amazing and we strive at our job because of her positive attitude. She is a wonderful lady.
Unfortunately, this job has no benefits, security or raises but working in a family like environment(excluding our manger), is a blessing.
Pros
Working with a team that cares for all of us, one big happy group.
Cons
Manager, no raises, no benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agréable comme premier emploi mais quelques inconvéniants
Représentant des ventes (Current Employee) –  Anjou, QC17 February 2019
pour un premief emploi cm étudiante c bon, mais c de long shifts (6h par jour) mais ca compense avec un tres bon salaire. c aussi tres long et epuisant de tjr rester debout et se faire avertir quand tu t’assoies 5 min pour que tu puisses te reposer, les pauses sont courtes aussi, sinon lenvironnement est bien, tres chaleureux et enjoué
Pros
salaire
Cons
pauses courtes, rester debout trop longtemps
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC14 February 2019
nice working environment , good people, too much standing though but awesome managers and nice employees who love and care for everyone.
gained sales skills, leadership skills
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job
Costco Ste-Foy, Québec, QC (Former Employee) –  Québec City, QC11 February 2019
You can manage your schedules. The only thing I didn't like, it was you don't have any help benefits, not vacation plans.

I when on vacation and I provided my letter for the days that I was going to be away and after 3 weeks. I called the company to checked my next schedule. They told me that they dropped me down from the system.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail
Demonstrator (Current Employee) –  Boisbriand, QC11 February 2019
La plupart des employés sont plus âgé que moi et sont très gentil avec moi
Pros
Reer
Cons
Le fais de rester debout longtemps
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual part-time job
Food Server (Current Employee) –  Vaudreuil-Dorion, QC23 January 2019
Good first job experience or as a part-time job
Not recommended for people looking for advancement possibilities or employee benefits
Hours are not really flexible for students or people with other priorities (only two shifts available i.e., morning, evening)
Cons
short hours with no benefits or advancement possibilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interaction with staff and the public
retail food rep (Former Employee) –  Windsor Ont18 January 2019
Finding out which product I would be demo-ing that day, if cooking, I would get my cart, and everything I would need to make it a successful cook.
I learned about temps., handling foods.
Management was very supportive.
Different ethnic groups, appreciated different foods.
Keeping busy on slow day.
making your quota in sales.
Pros
Meeting different people everyday
Cons
standing in one spot for the whole shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 December 2018
A typical day of work is fun
what you learn is new things every day
management was great always there for you when you needed them
work place culture was was fun
The hard part of the Job moving the heavy microwave/ oven



the most enjoyable part of the day is
1. Meeting new people
2. making new things every day
3.The Walking around the store
4.helping people find the product
Pros
everything
Cons
to long of a drive
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring
St Catharines - Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON15 November 2018
days felt very long as it was boring work to do. Mostly more people who have retired and are looking for extra income not recommend for anyone who is not a elderly person.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement agréable
Démonstratrice de produits alimentaires (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC31 October 2018
L'environnement est agréable mais pas d'évolution.
Pros
Salaire
Cons
Pas assez d'heures pour le soir
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CDS Woodbridge
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON28 October 2018
great staff, great management, easy 6.5 hour days, 2 breaks, one 15 minute one 30 minute break , everyday is different selling different products, I can have the days off I need, and ask for extra shifts too, tables are easy to push, not much lifting, if you love to talk then this is the job for you, Hardest part of the job is trying not to sample too much on the breaks,,,
best part is coming to work as my manager always smiles
Pros
drinking water at tables now
Cons
6 hour shifts not 8
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An okay place to work
Sales and Food Service (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON22 October 2018
Before the minimum wage increase, CDS was great because they paid well over minimum
Unfortunately, once the minimum wage was increased, the dislikes and nitty gritty parts of the job was no longer compensated by the mere 25 cent over minimum they offered
So many people figured they could get 35 cent less and more job perks or even just more hours and job security elsewhere.
I know of a few people who left after being there for 7+ years. Barely any of the new additions stayed on, many people who came in after I did, left just as quickly. I stayed on for about 6 months.
Standing for 6 hours a day on concrete and worse was that there was no job security
I only worked as a parttime student during the school months but because of my weekend availability I was always guaranteed 18 hours. During the school year, that's great
Come summer time I realized how much the full-time staff was suffering
No-one was ever scheduled for 5 days in a row, so barely anyone had 30-hour weeks, meaning they weren't fulltime
If someone gave in their 2-week notice, the manager would immediately cancel all their shifts for those two weeks
When new people were brought on, the rest of the team would suffer because there wouldn't be enough hours
ON top of that you could easily get cancelled when you were expecting to work, meaning there was no security about how much each paycheque would be
The people were pretty nice but there were a group of older ladies that were really close to the manager and would seemingly bad mouth everyone else
I personally had to beg around to pick up unwanted shifts
  more... or shifts for parents with family emergencies or who had to look after their kids on short notice. There were several weeks that I worked 8 days in a row - which sounds like a lot but with a maximum of 6 hours a day - some days being 5, 4 or even just 3 hours, the paycheque after all that hassle did not make it worth it at all.  less
Pros
free lunches
Cons
short hours, unreliable management, no benefits, standing on hard concrete for the entire day
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
handing out free samples in costco
Sales Associate (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Québec City, QC1 October 2018
The nice part about the job was that clients were always happy to see us. Everybody loves a free sample right. But we had to be on our feet for the whole shift which was not easy.
Pros
competitive salary
Cons
standing for the whole shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management team need working
Sale advisor (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB18 September 2018
I was an employee there for 4 months. I left because the management team needs work and required people skills. The manager did not know how to be a people person, she preferred getting sales instead of being a leader for her team.
Pros
salary
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is the most flexible workplace i have ever experienced
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 September 2018
i feel excited to routinely got at workplace because of the customer that visit.
working with very kindhearted colleagues.
manager is really motivating.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa Ontario CANADA10 September 2018
Long period of standing in one place, pushing cart back and forth every shift. Hectic customers taking a lot of free samples. My manager had poor leadership
,lack of employees social life. Boring
Pros
Fast paced at times
Cons
Short breaks, cant have a water bottle
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good environment to communicate with people
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BC24 July 2018
It is a new journey every day. I get to learn how to manage challenging situations every single day. I learn how to communicate with people and be considerate about what they need. The most challenging thing for me to learn was how to manage time. Seriously, you need to be fast and productive at the same time. At the end of the day, seeing an smile on a kid's face is the most rewarding thing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Demonstrator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 July 2018
Great members.
Good work hours.
Very welcoming environment.
Really good staff.
Breaks or better than other demonstration companies that i've worked for in the past.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Club Demonstration Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 990 reviews
5299
4285
3265
260
181

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture