Clean Harbors Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People their are clickey
PRODUCTION WORKER (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB14 August 2018
Just tell you to do the work without showing how to do it, and the people their have their own group and if you don't fit into the group the make you feel very unwelcome, I am vegan i felt so out of place when it came to having party for the workers they bought food for everyone else besides me,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Driver/Operator (Current Employee) –  Fort St. John, BC6 August 2018
FSJ management is terrible.
So many Bosses to answer to.
Petty. If you're their buddy prepare for lots of hours and OK working environment.
If you're not part of the in-crowd, prepare for a miserable existence.
Pros
Some good people on the crew
Cons
FSJ Management is unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mentally exhausting, toxic environment to work in
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 August 2018
Equipment is junk, Mangers believe the job trumps home life, so don't expect balance.
Taking vacation time is punishable by no hours once you return.
No seniority, so don't expect better treatment after time served.
Expect passive aggressive behavior and rumors from management after any illness or personal time taken.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fort mac over hired
Eo/operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB25 July 2018
Well fort mac is union and be prepared to sit and not 1 or 2 days if you're under a yr seniority you could sit 4-9 days outta your 21 . That's really the only bad part I found besides the typical useless union crybabies
Pros
Money
Cons
Hard to make money sitting
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American owned Company
Driver (Current Employee) –  Corunna, ON22 July 2018
Equipment is tired and worn out. Needs to be updated. They talk the talk but don’t walk the walk when it comes to compliance. Company is top heavy with layers of management going through the motions day in and day out. Out of touch with front line workers dealing with their customers on a daily bases. Not given proper equipment to do required job task because of shoe string department budgets.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Poor equipment and out of touch management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
EO laborer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 July 2018
Clean harbor gave me a chance to do shutdown in some of the best rafinery in Canada i feel previlage to be part of the clean harbor team 98xp is where we make it happen let's go!!!
Pros
Experience money co worker
Cons
Away form family
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Whitecourt, AB18 July 2018
Great place to work. Great people just long hours hard to plan things with the family. Other I work with are great just looking for something closer to home
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operator
Operator (Former Employee) –  Ft Saskatchewan1 June 2018
If you’re going to work for the ft Saskatchewan shop your actually working for lonestar. Harbors bought them out last year with the intention of being extremely busy and becoming a major player in the hydro business. They also decided to run the hydro division the way lonestar was, even though they acquired over 20 million in debt from lonestar. As far as I can see, they made a huge mistake.Our pay changed from every week to every two weeks, absolutely no work, and employees on both sides angry.Management has no clue what’s going on lol. Good luck.
Pros
None anymore
Cons
Won’t know who your working for
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job/very flexible/great opportunity for advancement
Operator/Driver (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB26 May 2018
If you take initiative and desire to move up in the world both financially and socially, this job can provide an excellent opportunity. Hours are not guaranteed how ever when there is work, the money can be very good. Seems to be a high turnover rate winch leaves room for quick advancement and management is quick to move you up if you show initiative.
Pros
quick advancement, flexible hours
Cons
no schedule, work is feast or famine
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly run hire buddy
Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB4 May 2018
If you’re a buddy lots of hours. If you’re not a buddy then expect to be treated poorly.
Policy, procedures, and safety are only looked at when it’s convientant to them.
Work shift recently changed to have a bit more home life.
Training was supplied great company to get all your tickets with.
Workers get the lower grade camp rooms.
Expect to be packing and moving a lot.
Overtime is 8/44
Pros
Supplied camp, overtime after 8/44
Cons
Unorganized chaos
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work!
Human Resources Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 April 2018
Day 1 - my position was changed to a whole new department and position that was NOT mentioned in the interview! My entire team was in the states and was very difficult to.work with. Unorganized, low pay, poor management and a horrible stuffy culture. Highly suggest to look the other way!!! Upper management gets paid a fortune meanwhile everyone else is compensated poorly. Can't begun yo explain how awful this experience was.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to gain experience
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Fort St. John, BC27 April 2018
Great place to gain some experience. However I there was a lack of advancement as well as a lack of interest to help me with advancement from management. New employees were making more hourly then myself after 6.5 years of loyalty.
I do however miss my coworkers
Pros
Benifits
Cons
Poor leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay away from leduc terminal
super b chemical driver (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB25 April 2018
Worked there for many years as a chemical driver.Very cliquey mgmt.No advancement,certain drivers are favored and the management are extremely incompetant.Overall C.H. is a good company.But this terminal operates in an extremely hazardous fashion with no concern for the employees or the enviroment.
Pros
good money
Cons
management needs to be totaly replaced.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Wash Bay Tech (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB2 April 2018
I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this company. I would still be there had the company not restructured and eliminated my position. The hardest part about working there was being away from home.
Pros
great people
Cons
being away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I lost 3 years of my life in that company for nothing!
Cook, Chef & Second Cook (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 April 2018
Believe me guys, i was the best employee EVER, i was 3 times employee of the month, all boss know me,i was working in that company almost 3 year street exactly like a robot, i never have a holiday or any benefice, i was the strong worker man in cleanharbors, they send me to the harder job that no body accept it ! before i return to Tunisia, the big boss give me a job offer that i can be back to the company at any time. so now no body want speck with me, because i need an official job offer to can be back to alberta with my kids, very very very BEEEED company, Never scarified for her NEVER. You are just a number in cleanharbors Edmonton. Ray Chahed
Pros
Null
Cons
A lot
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work, waste of time
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Alberta20 March 2018
individuals getting laid off after just one month of starting, job is a complete waste of time, and the entire plant was shut down within 3 months...

There is no point in working for this company

0/10, worst job experience I have ever had
Pros
Nothing
Cons
poorly run
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environmental Company
Environmental Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON19 March 2018
Great large environmental leader in North America.
This was a good company with good leadership and satisfying work culture and environment.
Long hours, but very interesting and satisfying project work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a really great company to work for
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB16 March 2018
Depending on the time of the month, depended on how busy you were.
They allowed me to excel within the company as I proved myself to be worthy
The environment was very clean, bright and spacious. A very inviting work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome coworkers good equipment awesome housing
Field Supervisor/Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB5 March 2018
Awesome coworkers good equipment awesome housing. Enjoyed my time working with Clean Harbours would return in a heartbeat management needs more experience
Pros
Enjoyed my time
Cons
More management help for staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
got laid off.
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB26 February 2018
its a great company. but due to the economy , i got laid off . safety was the number one priority . great stuff, very friendly . competitive pay as well
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Clean Harbors. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 611 reviews
5113
4156
3148
278
1116

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.9Culture