Claridge Homes Employee Reviews

Showing all 23 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful job, always worried about job.
Service Warranty Technician (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 February 2019
Poorly organized. Always worried if I was going to lose my job because company doesn't seem to care about it's employees.
I was hired to work on one location and now I am working on four locations and don't get paid for travel costs.
Very stressful job!!!! Like pulling teeth to get anytime off for docs appointments,etc..
Scared to talk to management due to everytime I due get into trouble for it and fear of loosing position.
People are great to work with onsite.
Pros
Customers
Cons
Not paid enough, salary and travel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Claridge
Jr. Accountant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 December 2018
This company gave me the chance to start my career in the home building industry. Taught me a lot and made me have a better understanding of the industry
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Environment
Worker (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 October 2018
The job itself is fine, I've learned quite a bit, however..

The management are highly unprofessional in the service/construction department.

Low pay for the amount of work/stress.

Plenty of drama and backstabbing. It is uncomfortable to be in the office with certain individuals. Your efforts and achievements will go unnoticed, you will be belittled for any and everything you do.
Pros
Experience
Cons
Drama, Backstabbing, Low Pay, Unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
training
Fork lift operator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON25 June 2018
site and task specific paid training provided for all employees who require it to do their jobs safely.
Most tools and proper PPE provided by employer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and welcoming working environment.
Interior Design Assistand (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 April 2018
- Excellent first job.
- Great learning experience.
- Great exposure in terms of client to employee, as well as manufacturer to employee.
- Excellent networking options, etc.
Pros
Great people, working environment and tasks
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a professional and a safe work environment
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 April 2018
Seniors take advantage of the juniors. Workplace bullying. No control of the senior management as the company is too scared to take any action. HR does not have any control!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Navan, ON16 April 2018
Good experience working in the construction industry. Performed next trade cleanup, surface protection, assisted in labour supervising Management could be improved but overall I enjoyed the work.
Pros
Compact walkable worksite
Cons
Low pay, urban wildlife issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full-time Site Coorindator
Site Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 December 2017
This role required a great deal of dedication, however the experience was very valued.

Usually I was responsible for opening the job site, which meant I had to be the first employee on the job site to open the gates (typically 5:30 am start).

I learning a great deal about project management as well as the construction contracts. working with the various trade was very enjoyable.
Pros
Watching a building get built
Cons
Working Long hours, somtimes weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad environment
Anonymous (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 September 2017
This place has seen so much turnover in the last few years. Management is poor resulting in unhappy employees, and the owners only care about penny pinching and investing the least amount of time and care possible into their employees. Salaries are below average for the amount of work expected. An extremely hostile, toxic environment overall.
Pros
Location
Cons
No parking, bad management, cheap company, low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 28NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
After Sales Service Tech " Low-rise residential " (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 September 2017
Not sure about the direction they are taking
Although they have the best interest in what is best for the company, changes have happened too fast
Hopefully it will work
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
downhill
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 June 2017
management changes have changed tone of workplace. head office is a mess, less support and communication with on site guys, arrogant and disrespectful service manager, not a great place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Work Environment (Accounting Dept)
Property Accountant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 March 2017
The absolute worst work place to work! Very cut throat and many back stabbers. Pay and benefits were ok, but that's where it stops.
Pros
Pay, benefits
Cons
Terrible work environment, management awful
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Superintendent/Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 August 2016
only person for a apartment building

rental agent is a backstabber

property manager does not show interest in her building

you have so many vaccants to clean maintain and paint in a short period of time

no future within company
Pros
good pay and free apartment
Cons
bad management bad rental agent, on call 24/7 no rotation
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 May 2016
ok job don't pay well, lots of layoff and no pay raise and they don't promote good work future ,company is not growing well and sales are poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsistent work environment
Property Administrator/Property AP & AR (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 March 2016
I was able to improve my resume and gain skills, however the work environment and business practices need a huge improvement to prevent so much turn over...
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace where we communicate a lot
1) Home Sales Agent Assistant (Current Employee) –  ottawa, Ontario6 October 2015
A day would include making up brochures, communicating with customers on best home options to fit their needs, comparing prices to other builders prices. work with a real estate agent, negotiate on specs for units.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 21Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace, everyone worked well together
Cleaning (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 January 2015
Workday started early. Most of the time I was the only female on site, but my fellow employees were often kind. I mostly worked alone. overall would work there again
Pros
paid breaks
Cons
worked alone
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 12Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
Intermediate Accountant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 October 2014
Not a great workplace
Not the best one in town.

People within the finance department need to speak up against unethical behaviour.
Was this review helpful?Yes 45No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
physically demanding
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON24 January 2013
- followed a strict schedule
- moved large amounts of material, daily
- dealt with many different types of people
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 15Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management at Head Office has your back if there is a problem with a trade.
ASST. SUPERINTENDANT/FINISHING FOREMAN (Former Employee) –  Ottawa & Area22 October 2012
They are very good at supplying you with the wherewithall to complete the job. Be it manpower, material or tools.

They let your set your own schedule with closing dates and PDIs in mind and trust you to complete it.

The people you work with are first rate once they know that they can trust you.

You can call any other super on another site for help and they are happy to do so.
Pros
straight up honest with expectations and support when you need it.
Cons
the pay is less than other co.s, no gas/mileage, could be sent to many sites in the year
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 11Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Claridge Homes. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.6
Based on 23 reviews
52
48
32
21
110

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.3Salary/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.3Management
2.3Culture

Claridge Homes Reviews by Location