CITY OF WINNIPEG Employee Reviews

Showing all 82 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Civic Job
Instructor/Guard III (Former Employee) –  winnipeg mb22 May 2015
Spent a long time at this employer!! Great co-workers, didnt seem to get paid a great deal for what was asked of us (public relations, safety, etc), Worst part of job was dealing with management and getting time off when needed..
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 8Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City of Winnipeh
Utility Assistant/Labor (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 May 2015
Depends on your department opportunity for advances varies drastically across departments, difficult to attain full time, when hired as a seasonal employee
Cons
sucks for students
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 11Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Clerk (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 May 2015
Good people, good management, good benefits.

I would suggest this job to all of my friends and to date, it is my best job i've had yet.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lifeguard
lifeguard and swimming instructor (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 April 2015
A typical day at my job involves opening the building, checking the AED trauma bags, and testing the pool deck alarms. The management is friendly and are willing to help their employees. The co-workers are always very friendly and make the work place a good place to work. The hard part of the job is when dealing with angry patrons that take their frustration on one person/the facility. For situations like that you have to always remember to keep a friendly face and smile. Also, you must remember to take your time and do your best to help with any problems or situations at hand.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co workers and work environment
Clerk A - Internship (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB17 February 2015
I've learned many basic office skills here that may help me towards my future. The most enjoyable part of this job is just being able to do my job and be the best i can be and help out the most i can.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 9Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace of both fun and pain
Executive & Special Assistant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 February 2015
Working in a political office can be both fun and painful at the same time.

Fun tended to be when left alone to develop unique advertising for the Councillor as well as developing policy positions to be used both in Council as well as in Committees.

The less enjoyable was the 100+ emails and phone calls from residents of the ward, members of the public service, and other individuals received on a daily basis. All of these contacts have to be responded to in a timely and intelligent manner, regardless of how intelligent or personality challenged they may be.

Other work involved maintaining the Councillor's website, keeping the office clean, and keeping the Councillor out of trouble.
Pros
Independent
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gotta love kids
Recreational Technician B (Former Employee) –  winnipeg18 November 2014
a typical day would be go down to the wading pool phone in and walk the pool sweeping and looking for any hazards, then close the drain and begin to fill pool and watch it, half way through turn on clorine finish filling pool and before opening take water reading and make sure they are good let the kids in an watch them and play with them and make everyone have a great time
Pros
fun, active get to be around water, good hours
Cons
weather, boring some days
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good summer job
Wading Pool Attendent (Current Employee) –  Outdoors2 November 2014
The work hours are great but, it is only seasonal. Great benefits as long as you have good weather outside.
Pros
independent decision making
Cons
weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great balanced workplace
Technologist 1 (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB9 October 2014
Lots of areas for promotion, variety of opportunities and good work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 10Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
funny but long summer
Waiting Pool Attendant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB2 September 2014
‘Siting in the sun for 8 hours, getting good money watching kids. i learned how to be a mature adult and in force rules when broken. had no co workers, hardest thing is sitting there watching kids.
Pros
good money
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all a great place to work while being a student.
Recreation Technician C (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 April 2014
Simple work and pays well. Great for students with a busy life who love kids.
Pros
Flexible work schedules
Cons
Not a lot of hours per week
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 8Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with great benefits and opportunities for advancement.
Skilled Labourer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB29 November 2013
Typical Day
A typical day of work started at 7am with a meeting and discussion of the work to be done, a drive to the site, safety audit, and working until around 1pm at which point we took lunch. After lunch we cleaned up the site and drove back to the yard for around 3pm, or just after, unless there was approved overtime available.

What I learned
I learned how to repair roads, sidewalks and curbs. Framing, dismantling, and finishing concrete. I also did asphalt work when required.

Management
Excellent management that will always work with you to explain expectations and work through interpersonal conflict between employees respectfully and professionally.

Co-Workers
For the most my co-workers were great, there were a few egos here and there but generally once a positive work ethic was displayed an individual didn't seem to have too many problems at work.

Hardest part of the job
Id say teaching new employees or employees from other departments how to work in street maintenance while meeting the expectations and time frames was the hardest part of the job.
Pros
Amazing salary and benefits, straight forward expectations, good people.
Cons
seasonal indefinitely, short construction season.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 11Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work environment.
Technical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB30 October 2013
The days started early but that was a good thing. People were great to work with, I just wish this position was all year.
Pros
Good pay, great job.
Cons
seasonal.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
Recreational Program Leader (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 April 2013
Great place to work. Not for people who are shy as you have to instruct and lead large groups.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good salary and benefits and advancement
Clerk B (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 April 2013
Very busy, the way I like it. My co-workers were wonderful. The hardest part of the job was not being able to do things faster for the vendors. The most enjoyable part of the job was my co-workers and also dealing with the vendors.
Pros
salary, benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 10Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intersting culture, and work environment
Parks Coordinator - Utility 2 (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, Manitoba25 February 2013
Pros – The people are great - you really get to know the people you work with, and the potlucks are fun. The work is very interesting - you are responsible for quite a bit from the beginning. Hours are standard, which is great since there's no overtime

Cons – Bad/inefficient work flow/distribution. There's always a lot of work to be done, but the way it is distributed to employees needs to be fixed. There was a whole month that I basically had nothing to do, and days were pretty boring because you have very limited internet access
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place great people
Skilled Laborer (Student) (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 January 2013
hardest thing was getting in and out of a work truck 100 times a day, drilling numerous holes in concrete. Learned basic concrete forming and finishing. overall good place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Position, Great Team to work with
Aquatics Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB29 October 2012
A lot of problem solving, Leading teams thru improvement plans.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
retired (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB26 October 2012
Hard workers good wage good benefits new equipment that didnt break down
Pros
good benefits
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8am Start
Teachers Assistant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 October 2012
This was a great job working with the Children in Downtown/ Westend Winnipeg.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CITY OF WINNIPEG. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 82 reviews
538
425
316
21
12

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
4.2Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

CITY OF WINNIPEG Reviews by Location