City of Welland

City of Welland Employee Reviews

Found 9 reviews matching the search See all 10 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor communication
Tax Clerk (Former Employee) –  Welland, ON7 November 2018
The City was ok to work for however communication is a huge issue. I enjoyed the job for a while however reached a point where I needed more work to do. I asked several people but no one was willing to give me additional work. Many days were spent with not a lot to do
Pros
good people
Cons
communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, with involved employees in the community events.
Facilities Manager (Former Employee) –  Welland, ON21 April 2018
- Arrive early and go over any pressing issues and concerns
- Interact with the trades staff prior to the them going out for their calls
- By constant communications with staff, I find out what the overall moods of the workers is
- Attend management team meetings
- Corporate involvement in community events encouraged
- Presenting new budget each year, and defending the requests
- Working with great staff, and serving the public
Pros
Dealing with and helping the public
Cons
Dealing with disgruntled persons first thing in the morning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Municipal Government
Manager (Former Employee) –  Welland, ON31 January 2018
Stressful, long days/nights dealing with politicians, other levels of government, media, the public, and various pieces of legislation that applied to your job.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Long hours at upper management level and political issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place for a proper life and work balance
Operator (Current Employee) –  Welland, ON22 November 2017
management don't seem to have any concern over life events outside the work place..
This type of position comes with a very stressful work life as it is and some management seem to add more unnecessary stress.
Very little room for growth or advancement..
On the positive side, there is potential to be a great place to work as it was in the past. The wages are good, although the gap between minimum wage and City of Welland's wages are closing..
In comparison to other public transit jobs, Welland's is the lowest paid.
Great pension plan but comes with huge penalties if you were to leave early
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Volunteer Firefighter (Current Employee) –  Welland, ON7 March 2017
The city of Welland is great, the people here have helped me a lot over the years and allowed me to expand my horizon past the boundaries some small city's hold.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Construction Services Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Welland, ON10 January 2017
Review many plans for the development of subdivisions for the City.

Enjoyed the employees at the City and their culture.
Learned a lot for development of subdivisions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postive, Uplifting Place to Work
Camp Councilor (Former Employee) –  Welland, ON31 March 2016
Management was fantastic, I was treated very fairly. Job was a very fun atmosphere, my co-workers were fantastic. I developed very close relationships with my co-workers as well as my boss. The hardest part of the job was keeping my energy up all day at the same level of the children, and thinking of new creative fun things to do with the children.

The best part of my job, was the being with children all day. We were always outside having fun, I loved going to work each and everyday.
Pros
Good hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working environment, learned a lot about road repair and maintenance, and the staff really helped me a great deal in attaining my DZ.
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Welland, ON5 February 2013
A typical day at work- show up receive instructions- work with road repair crew, tar and chip or filling pot holes with cold patch or grinding side walk trip hazards.
Learned about many different aspects of road repair and maintenance.
management was positive and respectful of employees.
Co-workers were up beat, safe and helpfull.
Hardest part of the job, shovelling on hot days.
Most enjoyable part, was working with some great people.
Pros
close to home
Cons
part time seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

See more City of Welland reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Welland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 10 reviews
54
43
33
20
10

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

City of Welland Reviews by Location