City of Vancouver Employee Reviews

Found 38 reviews matching the search See all 58 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent
Backhoe operator (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC14 May 2018
overall a safe and reliable job, with a decent salary. you will learn new tasks and receive excellent training. fun to work and overall good employees work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
city of vancouver
Receptionist/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC1 May 2018
this is such a good place to work.
everyone that i've met was so friendl, if I didn't move provinces I would of stayed for life !
if I ever come back I would def come back !
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, the work was interesting.
Project Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC21 February 2018
The culture of this organization can be daunting at times but overall, it was a good place to work.

Advancement is difficult and a vast majority of personnel are working on a contract basis so there is not a lot of job security.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Civilian (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC30 December 2017
They will help you succeed at whatever goals you set for yourself! From Admin Assistant to Management, you can reach whatever career level you choose!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City of Vancouver
Seasonal Labourer (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC10 October 2017
Working for the City of Vancouver was a great experience, I learned a lot of different things I never know before. I learned how to build sidewalks, where the wiring for all the overhead lights like intersection lights is and lastly how to pave roads with asphalt.
Pros
The wage
Cons
The 6 month probation period
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment - issues with management
Theatre Attendant II (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC18 August 2017
My colleagues and our patrons make our work environment amazing!
Every day is different and always includes customer service whether at the bars or in-house.
Unfortunately, we had a change in management a few years ago which could have been a great thing but has been a serious struggle, especially for those working on the management team.

As I am not on the management team, I thoroughly enjoy working there.
Pros
Union wages, enjoyable atmosphere
Cons
inconsistent hours, extreme availability requirement with no guarantees
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic people
Administrative Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC4 August 2017
During my entire tenure with the City I've collaborated and have had the opportunity to work along skillful professionals who were always eager to guide and assist at moments when support felt dire.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect first experience for the City
Administrative Coordinator - Clerk - Payroll (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC3 July 2017
A laid back office atmosphere, busy schedule and great professionals at work, very helpful and understanding. flexible with my needs and gaps, called me back to work again with them.
Pros
early start early out
Cons
tedious and repetitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One day job.
Registration Officail (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC23 June 2017
I worked at the Vancouver Municipal Election. It was a good work environment. It was only one day of work. It was a long day, but it was a fun and new experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome workplace.
On-call Food Service Worker (Dishwasher) (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC5 June 2017
The workplace is lovely with caring co-workers who are always there to help. It is a very casual environment which as a new staff member, I feel at home on my first day at work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
UMW (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC8 May 2017
Good job security and salary. Take care of their employees. Union job. Flexible working hours. Provide good safety working environment. Fun working atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workout area
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC2 May 2017
great place to to work, beautiful city to work in,great wages, paid time off vacations, surrounded by great people, full benefits and great work environment
Pros
workout area
Cons
no cons at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun interactive place to work
Green Team Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC6 April 2017
Everyone works together as a team. The training is amazing. I have never experienced such a supportive work environment. The atmosphere is very positive.
Pros
working downtown van
Cons
answering calls fro angry citizens
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC4 April 2017
Work life balance and good benefits. Lots of different activities to become involved with. Pleasant co-workers that work hard and get a lot accomplished.
Pros
People taking pride in their work.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting environment with much to offer
Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC23 February 2017
Interesting projects and sets of technologies to work. Many different business units to work with, with different requirements and challenges. Good environment and people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable workplace
Rink Attendant (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC26 January 2017
A typical day working at the City of Vancouver involves interacting with the public who use the rink facilities as well as working together with coworkers to maintain the skate shops at the city rinks. We are also there to ensure everyone is safe in participating in skating and lessons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace and Great Staff
Program Assistant II, Cashier, Office Clerk (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC8 December 2016
Great place to work learned a lot from my colleagues. Understood the true meaning of Community and what it brings to people of all ages and the impact it has on everyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lame
Sewers Operation Engineer (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC23 November 2016
Lame management. Advancement is minimal at best. Nepotism is very high. No regard for skill or previous experience. It's who you know and who 'likes' you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and time off.
Acting Foreman / Acting Shop Superintendent (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC28 October 2016
Typical day is a shift from 3:00 p.m. to 12:30 a.m.

Great people to work with. Sometimes can get a little political being

a union shop. Try to keep out of that as much as possible.
Pros
Overtime, Vacation, good people
Cons
Working afternoons, long commute
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people however incompetent GM and up.
Security (Former Employee) –  City Hall11 October 2016
Senior managers are the problem in the City. They have the 1970 mgmt. style and have spent hundreds of thousands in severances because of incompetence
Pros
Great people
Cons
Poor 1970 style mgmt GMs up to City Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Vancouver. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 58 reviews
520
425
38
23
12

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.6Culture

City of Vancouver Reviews by Location