City of Toronto Employee Reviews

Found 480 reviews matching the search See all 490 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For Part Time Workers
Part-Time In charge (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 October 2018
As a part time worker for the past 10 years. I have witnessed the decline in the way staff are treated, the abuse of power from higher ups, favouritism, lack of support, and professionalism is no where to be found. It's almost like high school with the amount of gossiping that goes on.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, active work
Learn-to-Skate Head Instructor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 October 2018
Being apart of recreation programs is a fun part time job.
Its a great position while youre in school or on the side of a full time job.
The staff are great and easy going.
Pros
Fun, Active
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work and great co workers
Arena Pool Operator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 September 2018
i like showing up to work everyday because everyday brings new adventures. The staff are great and the public they have there good days and there bad but overall i would recommend anyone who is looking for a job apply with city
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive salary and benefits
Senior Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 September 2018
Good working conditions with market rate salary and benefits. Medical and Dental benefits are considered to be the highest in Ontario. Vacation benefits are very good.
Pros
Very interesting and challenging work
Cons
Internal favouratism is prevalent
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for Student
Recreation Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 September 2018
Very good part time hours. Fellow co-workers are usually friendly and helpful. Hardest part of the job is dealing with the public, they think you owe them something.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, helpful and understanding
Custodian, Toronto Water, Parks Labourer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 September 2018
I have enjoyed working with great people with the City of Toronto and with staff members in the community centre that I'm working at. Management has been great to me with their understanding with communication and the concerns to making the job safer for everyone. the hardest part of the job is if there isn't any communication, not the right tools to use, it would difficult the work done the proper way. The most enjoyable aspect of the work that I like the work, knowing what I am doing the job the right way with the proper supplies, tools.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff to work with
Camp Counsellor (Current Employee) –  Toronto6 September 2018
I live in North York but I love working in Scarborough because of the staff. The people and kids at my summer camp location keep me coming back! I intend to continue the position and move up eventually.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh hard to feel great about these guys
Music Teacher (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 September 2018
I have worked for the City for a long time but have found it almost impossible to get even an interview for positions that I seem to be qualified for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Youth Camp Leader (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 August 2018
Cool place to work and be yourself. This allows for you to enjoy what you do from planning to running games with the youth to help provide them with a safe space within the city of Toronto
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City of Toronto position
Student Trainee (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 August 2018
In the Summer of 2005, I worked as a student trainee in the Vector Borne Diseases Department for the City of Toronto. I worked with many other students to mitigate the spread of diseases such as West Nile Virus which is spread by a mosquito.
Pros
Official use of a company vehicle
Cons
long hours spent in the hot sun.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an attractive job environment
Finance Trainee (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 August 2018
I have started as a co-op student, and I would say I have received no training whatsoever. I was getting humiliated and ignored by others since I was not holding a high title.
No one had time for me. My classmate had hired in the same department and different division, and he had the same experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Sports Instructor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 August 2018
It was fine. The cprs are kinda bossy and everyone think their above you. But the staff around are amazing we work as a family and I love hang with them
Pros
You do nothing
Cons
Rude cprs
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work with lots of room to grow
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 August 2018
great place; but varies with location. management could be better in some establishments. Hours of seniority play a big role in how fast one can move up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance
Parking Court Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 August 2018
The job provided security, great benefits and work life balance. The environment was collaborative and the hours were great. Opportunity for advancement after many years of seniority.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Advancement is slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure job with great benefits
GIS Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 August 2018
Working hours are able to be flexible to fit my commute from west GTA. Good benefits and pension plan. Management isn't always great but i've been lucky to have a few really good ones.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rpn
RPN (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 August 2018
Good pay and retirement plan
Diversity place to work for
They don't support the staff, any mistake happens, the employee will be the first to go or blame
Never appreciate what staff do
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and flexible workplace.
Dance Instructor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 August 2018
- pay was ridiculously high for a recreational dance teacher
- CRP is lenient with how the class goes - i.e. you decide how to run your classes
- tiring work with kids but it is in a safe and nice environment
- great part time job for a student
Pros
Good pay, welcoming environment, safe environment
Cons
Tiring work, management was disorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Public Health Nurse (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 August 2018
Great Place to work. Lot's of benefits and great work environment. Lots of different departments and opportunities. Pay is not bad but wish it was more.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Councilor in Trainer Leader (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 August 2018
As a recreational leader who worked for many other camps, this was by far the most organized. They have great trips and good facilities. Overall a solid place to be at
Pros
Good staff culture
Cons
Tiring
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Camp
Camp Coordinator/ Children Sports Instructor (Former Employee) –  56 woodfield Rd. Toronto ontario30 July 2018
Great place to work when you are a student. Lots of hours and great pay. You are outside most of the time so fresh air is a plus. Staff is usually pretty good as well
Pros
pay, hours
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Toronto. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 491 reviews
5231
4184
354
211
111

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture