City of Thunder Bay Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Thunder Bay (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay29 August 2018
Excellent place to work. I like working there. It is a great place to settle down and raise a family. The pay is excellent, as are the benefits. Highly recommend.
Pros
Good job
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great potential to grow
Property Agent (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON14 July 2018
supportive people in the departments
great benefits and pension
job security, potential to grow if motivated and show interest
they provide training for advancement
Pros
ability to grow, benefits and pension
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON13 April 2018
I worked for the city of Thunder Bay for 15 years. It is a
great place to work with wages that are at the top scale.

Co workers and management team are awesome.

Only reason I left was to relocate to southern ontario
Pros
overtime always available
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard to work for the city
Anything (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON3 February 2018
its a great job but outside is hard in the winter and i love my job but need more hours and pay i love workin with kids they are wonderul to work with..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
School Crossing Guard (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON8 January 2018
Great job but very little hours per week. Only 2.25 hours per day and minimum wage. Staff are great as are the kids at the schools. Lots of traveling around which is good for new residance as myself.
Pros
Time in between to get jobs done
Cons
Min hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I found it a great place to work. I made a lot of lasting friendships in my years with the City.
Operator IV. Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON28 August 2017
I enjoyed getting up in the morning and going to work. I didn't always know what my day to day assignment would be but often it would be diversified. I could be repairing roads one day or hauling material another. I definitely learned to operate various pieces of equipment proficiently. Management did their jobs well in my opinion, but not without a lot of friction from many employees for whatever reasons. Certainly the moral was in need of a boost. The hardest part of the job for me was working as productively as I could while watching other employees texting or just sitting idle. Probably the most rewarding part of my job was accomplishing the task assigned and going home knowing, I had done my best that day.
Pros
Fair breaks were allowed (eg. half hour lunch and 2/15 minute coffee breaks)
Cons
Sometimes the lack of cooperation limiting production.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mind numbing
Equipment Operator IV (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON23 August 2017
Unfortunately, public sector work life is difficult due to lack of advancement until many many years are put in . The pay is average. the biggest perk it has is job security.
Pros
the city will be there when the next recession hits
Cons
absolute boredome
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
ACTING SENIOR WEIGH CLERK (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON20 June 2017
Meet and greet the public......pleasant staff that work as a team. Time flies by when you are having fun and at the end of the day everyone goes home happy.
Pros
quiet work environment
Cons
smell of garbage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Student Summer work experience
Grass Cutting Crew. Summer Employment (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON12 February 2017
This was a great job to have as a student during the summer months. I enjoyed the experience because it taught me practical work experience in a public employed sector.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and fun/educational
Student Laborer - Environmental Division (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON4 October 2016
it was a very good job. I learned a lot and my co-workers and supervisors were very encouraging and enjoyable to work for. I recommend this job for anyone interested in working for a good wage and with good crew members.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A vibrant exciting place to call work on a daily basis.
Child Care Cook (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON19 November 2015
The City of Thunder Bay is a great employer and I enjoyed work on a daily basis while I was under a long contract. Working with children was challenging and very rewarding at the same time. It was nice to be able to show parents that the place they entrusted their children to was safe and educational yet fun and memorable at the same time.

Management was very understanding and I don't have anything negative to say on that regard. It was a fair and rewarding place to work every single day.
Pros
Hour long lunch!
Cons
Early morning shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and great atmosphere
Student labourer (roads) (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON9 November 2015
Arrive at work, go through tailgate safety meeting discussing days overview, load the truck need for the crews daily tasks. Once this is completed we were drive to destination of the tasks at hand and complete. Crews were active and worked together, got a long great with fellow employees, great management and lead hands. Crew was like family and made the job more satisfying as friends.
Pros
Great Pay
Cons
Summer ended
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive environment
Planner (Current Employee) –  Development19 October 2015
City of Thunder Bay has been a great employer who fosters leadership, advancement, and personal growth. The environment is dry and work is hard. You will need to learn patience as projects move VERY slow through the corporate process.
Pros
Advancement Opportunities, security
Cons
Slow process for change
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun environment
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON28 March 2015
Although I only worked as a volunteer the staff at City of Thunder Bay Recreation and Culture division I can tell they have a well organized and caring staff.
Pros
free drinks and snacks
Cons
no salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laundry Aid
Laundry Aid (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON23 January 2015
-Wash, dry porter linen in two different long term care facilities
-fill daily quota on linen carts
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 14Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We would go fishing and travel to the USA
ONTARIO BREAST SCREENING NORTHWEST COACH PROGRAM (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay On.13 September 2014
Staff was excellent to work with over my 38 years there many happy times.
Every day something different never the same daily events
Pros
leardership team
Cons
Staff disciplinary issues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace with nice supervisor
Community Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON2 January 2014
It was a good way to learn Canada culture. I enjoyed helping people and meeting new friends.
Pros
many chances to meet new people
Cons
instable
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 10Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not enjoy it too much
Lifeguard/Instructor (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON19 February 2013
Lots of time spent indoors during the summer weather. Not very many hours available. Work flexibility does not work well with students. Working with upset/disorderly customers while trying to tend to your tasks is very common.
Pros
i got to swim
Cons
bad hours, lifestyle has to adjust to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 17Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Thunder Bay. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 19 reviews
59
44
35
21
10

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.6Culture

City of Thunder Bay Reviews by Location