City of Ottawa Employee Reviews

Found 244 reviews matching the search See all 251 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good, staff are understanding, training is great
Wading Pool Attendant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 January 2019
Your daily routine with any job city of Ottawa job is to turn up at your shift and do the work that has been assigned to you by your supervisor. The staff are generally understanding when you have questions about the work or training and will guide you down the path of most success. From my experience there have been a few miscommunications between the office and employees in my position, other than that it is an amazing place to work!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't get paid enough for what you did
Special Needs Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Minto, NB8 January 2019
I was really looking forward to working for the city of ottawa until I started working there. I was a special needs support worker and I barley got any support from the others staff. There was time where I went the whole day without eating because I had to helped my kids eat because they were unable to do so which is fine that is my job but it would have been nice if i was offered asome help so I could eat my food as well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The City of Ottawa is a very good place to work
SENIOR BUILDING INSPECTOR (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 January 2019
As a Building Inspector you would start your day at 7am
Take all of of daily calls and proceed to book your day in order to
star the process of going to each location for the purpose of make sure that the work that was being inspected by you meet the Ontario Building Code.

You learn how to work along , prepare reports etc..

The management will not have your back on several occasion

The work place culture is changing very fast due to the new technologies coming out each year

Make sure that your on site decision with not be disputed by management

The most enjoyable part of the job, is to see someone happy that you have made a on site decision
Pros
Hours of works
Cons
Management refusing to change with the times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good
VERIFICATION SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 January 2019
Not enough training provided when asked for.
Depending on management, career growth is either blocked or supported.
The City offers such broad services that it allows you to jump around departments and learn new things about the City.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady Position
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 December 2018
It's a wonderful place to work if you're looking to stay in a position for a long time. I have been able to work at several locations doing various jobs which is great experience.
Cons
no lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super fun and amazing experience to have.
Camp Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 November 2018
Management was amazing and everyone was very welcoming and helpful when it came to my job perfomance. I really enojyed working with the kids and running activities with the other staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lifeguard/ Swim instructor
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 November 2018
Lifeguard/ Swim instructor
Good pay
Good training
Benefits
Safe and fun environment
Lots of work and credentials required
Overall good job to have as a student
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Competitive Work Place
Senior Systems Analyst (SAP) (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON14 November 2018
This place is really a great place to work. The benefits are pretty good. Management is ok. However I find it not progressive at all. They rely mostly on consultants so less opportunities for full time employees to get quality work. Politics is all over the place like any other public sector organization which sometimes kills the merit.
Pros
Excellent benefits
Cons
Future growth is not guaranteed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 October 2018
Everything is well managed and organized. Everyone is always willing to lend a helping hand and you make close ties with the clients, as well as your coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical employment for those looking for a salary
Bus Operator (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 October 2018
I am not typical, I look to strive and better myself on a daily basis. With so many employees and so little opportunity of moving forward my future looked unsatisfied.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Not efficient, split shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience!
Specialty instructor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa12 October 2018
Working with the City of Ottawa has been a great experience for me. While exploring multiple different aspect of my area of interest, I acquired a lot of experience working with multiple diverse groups. I would love to get more involved in the area as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice work place and productive
Flyer Distributor (Current Employee) –  101 centrepointe drive10 September 2018
little shifts, its more of a seasonal kind of job.. shifts are not always available. The working environment can sometimes be harsh because we hand out flyers during winter for 2 hours before we get a break. Funny enough that's when the job's availability is more
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Property Manager (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Orleans, ON4 September 2018
A good day at work 40 hrs a week
always good people to work for
Good envoriment to work
The management are good employees
The 40 hrs a week is a good thing
Everybody gets along
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Week end overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dance teacher
Introductory Arts Instructor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 August 2018
A typical shift at work consisted of teaching my student. It was a great experience that helps me develop my sense of leadership and determination. The workplace was in a nice environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life Balance
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON30 July 2018
The city of Ottawa offers a great work life balance, they have very supportive managers and wish want their employees to succeed. There are often many jobs available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An office
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 July 2018
Depending on what department you work in, things will be different. In the receivables/collections part it was a mostly older women who are generally 'catty' for the most part. Much fun.
Pros
Plenty of breaks
Cons
Strange atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quintessential teen job
Lifeguard and Water Safety Instructor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 July 2018
Unionized, fairly and clearly compensated, clear responsibility RE: replacing shifts and picking up shifts, fun environment, ample training leading up to hiring, good team dynamic (if sometimes a little cliquey - this is a teen job, after all).
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
offer student opportunities
Laboratory Asst WWS (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 July 2018
Really good job for students. Get an immersive experience into laboratories world + getting a valuable network. Only available to University student within the field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing
Student Helper (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 July 2018
Great training programs, and people with a great chance to produce into a career.

I would recommend this to anyone who can get the chance.

City of Ottawa
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace, geat team
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 July 2018
great bunch of people to work with and to work for. work life balance is ideal and excellent retirement benefits including pension plan. modern IT work place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Ottawa. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 251 reviews
5126
485
333
23
14

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.0Culture

City of Ottawa Reviews by Location