City of Ottawa Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 April 2018
With tones of other staff to help you out with any difficulty, and the ability to request hours at your own choice. The city of Ottawa is a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Summer job
Animal Control Officer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON31 March 2018
Great Summer job, enjoyed the experience, great training, staff was good to work with. Had contract extended into the fall and their recommendation helped get me a job with the Ottawa Humane Society over the winter!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Skating Instructor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 March 2018
Great place to work. Co-workers are friendly and very easy to work with. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with kids. I learned how to take control of some situations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Transportation (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 March 2018
Poor management leading to poor workplace culture.
Male-centric management, self-obsessed.
Catastrophically risk adverse.
Technology adverse - IT group won't allow for any customization nor use of any non-standard software.
Pros
HR payroll always provided a correct paycheck - on-time.
Cons
Non-unionized staff have short life spans, easily dismissed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and pay
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 March 2018
Great pay and benefits. Terrible management. Helps if you know someone to get you in permanent, Not what you know its all about who you know. Great co workers
Pros
pays well
Cons
management is awful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 March 2018
Always looked forward to coming into work and was always around fun people. Advancement was always available if wanted, co-workers showed the same work ethic.
Pros
Fun
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe workplace, poor management
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 March 2018
As it is with the City of Ottawa, it makes it very hard to get fired or lose your position. The job itself is fairly easy but includes a lot of memory and knowledge.

The management keeps switching as they get promoted and get replaced which makes it very hard to get along with them. Some seem unorganized and can sometimes affect your job.

With the city of Ottawa, you need to be bilingual which could be a con for some.
Pros
Safe workplace
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and friendly environment
Recreational Leader (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 March 2018
An extremely rewarding job as youre always with children. Great employes, a very positive work place with extremely understading bosses. They're always there to assist you with anything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Legal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 January 2018
I worked in two departments. The first was great... interesting work, great people to work with, overall environment was friendly and not stressful at all. Second department I worked in was a great place to work but management would never give you a straight answer when it came to becoming a permanent employee
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Management made you play a guessing game to whether you had a job or not at the end of the week
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chill environment
Supply Teacher (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 January 2018
Management was good

Pay was good

Environment was laid-back & fun

Employees were great to work with & friendly

Good work/life balance

Part-time & Full-time employment
Pros
Good pay, good environment
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 January 2018
I love working for the City of Ottawa. I learned to get along with coworkers, dealing with customers, and I grew as a person. I learned that customers are always right and to respect their wishes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Wastewater division foreman (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 January 2018
Very hard to make the cut.There is lots of training but overall the hours are nice,the benefits and pay are excellent..................................
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work enviroment
Laurier Ave W - Maintenance Helper IV (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 January 2018
It was a good work environment in which you were able to work independently and learn good team skills. I would recommend for anyone to apply and work there
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple instructions. Flexible hours
Rink Attendant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 January 2018
Relaxed environment that brings you closer to the community. Its easy when you finish training and you don't require much supervision. The pay is steady and shifts are reliable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun but tiring
Programme leader (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON14 January 2018
Days at work are very long but there is always learning curves and new knowledge obtained every single day. Good staff and tons of training for every situation. Overall great place to work.
Pros
free snacks
Cons
stressfull
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job for highschool students
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 December 2017
withing the city of ottawa, specifically being a lifeguard and swim instructor was a good job when i was 16-18. As i got older i was primarily working with younger people which created a very isolated work environment.
Management was young adults who often didn't know how to act appropriatly in the work place and towards the people "working" for them.
The job paid well however there are two different rates for lifeguarding and teaching swimming lessons. if you are interested in teaching swimming lessons you are looking at working only evenings and weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 December 2017
Working at the city was amazing. It had great hours as well as my coworkers were all respectful.
There is no better place to work then the city of Ottawa.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at... Lack of hours
School Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON30 November 2017
I've been working with the city for 3 years, and I have to say that I've had tons of fun working there. Working as a before care and after care counselor was never a job I would've seen myself doing, but having done it, I'd recommend it to just about anyone who's looking for a first job. Being around kids allows for a fun, fast paced work environment. It's also a great way to improve your communication skills and meet new people. My only complaint would be the lack of hours...
Pros
Easy job if you enjoy being around children
Cons
Lack of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good spot to work
Sidewalk Plow Operator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 November 2017
Worked 12 hour shifts cleaning sidewalks in the city of Ottawa was a fun spot to work and really enjoyed it but only worked when I got called in which was very hard to deal with and never got called back for the next year which was disappointing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for a student
Aquatic Lifeguard and Swim Instructor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 November 2017
The lifeguard/swim instructor position offers a lot of good hours and flexible scheduling for a student who wants to work. Getting paid above minimum wage for fun work with like-minded young adults is great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Ottawa. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 211 reviews
5107
471
326
23
14

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.0Culture