City of Mississauga Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing and supportive staff
Camp Leader (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON25 July 2018
Work is really fun, not very stressful. I have learned to manage my time wisely, as well as program plan for campers to have the most amount of fun at camp.
Pros
Little stress
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with
School crossing guard (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON24 July 2018
Good Job, supervision, fun place to work with.
Safety and security for school kids and elders.
Happy to interac with different people.
Good timings and support and seasonal vacations.
Pros
Free equipments for work
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Exciting Environment
Leader in Training (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 July 2018
I really enjoyed volunteering there, they taught me my position well and I understood the position and everything that was asked of me. I learned about how to care for the kids and how to provide good customer service to the children and their parents.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really nice place to work
Swim Instructor/Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON30 June 2018
The hours are regular so you always know what to expect. Because of all the training, you had to go through before being able to receive this job, I was 100% prepared for what was expected of me. My superiors were great and fun to work with it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Human Resource Assistant (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON26 June 2018
good place to gain experience and learn more, take something out of it, good job to meet people in a field you want to be in and good benefits overall good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome first job
Lifeguard and Swim Instructor (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON23 June 2018
This was a great place to work, coworkers made the job fun. It was very rewarding to teach swimming lessons as well.
Management was helpful and kind too.
Pros
breaks, awesome coworkers, flexible hours
Cons
A lot of time spent in the water, you're responsible for finding someone to cover your shift
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for students or anyone looking for a part-time job
Assistant Swimming Instructor (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON12 May 2018
The City of Mississauga provides its volunteers and employees with a fun and welcoming atmosphere to work in and ensures that everyone completes their task accordingly.
Pros
Relaxed Athmosphere
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization
Snack Bar Attendant (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON8 May 2018
Great organization that allows workers to grow and network. Provides a lot of great experiences to help with real life issues and helps make new friends. Overall a great organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome!
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON8 May 2018
Great pay, hours and management. Always room to grow and advance as there are many different positions. Friendly environment, great benefits and awesome teams.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my job, hate the politics
Program Instructor (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON28 April 2018
I have worked for the city for almost 5 years and in that in that time the amount of bureaucratic nonsense I have dealt with is insane. The upper management is only concerned with attending meetings and looking busy and they do not care about the front end staff. That being said I do love my actual job. There is never a dull moment and I am allowed to be very creative and relatively free. It just hard to know that there is almost a 0% chance that I will ever have a full time position there or be supported when attempting to move up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides valid experience however sometimes inconsiderate
Swim Instructor and Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON29 March 2018
Generally good place to work however you can get lost in the cracks if you are in first year. Love the program, children, supervisors, etc. The amount of trainings are ridiculous but it definitely helps in responding to accidents/incidents
Pros
excessive training, open to comments
Cons
short staff sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Community
Site Leader (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON6 March 2018
This was more of a community involvement position. It gave a great sense of wealth in giving back to the community and truly making you feel like you were making a difference.
Pros
Wages
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON13 February 2018
The City of Mississauga was a very enjoyable place to work as a student. There is limited room for growth in the company or for a full-time position. Otherwise great atmosphere and co-workers.
Pros
strong sense of community
Cons
no room for growth in company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Summer Job
Summer Student Parks (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON30 January 2018
Friendly staff, make great connections, ideal for those who enjoy outside work. Days are consistent and work is steady throughout the summer months. Highly recommend for college/university students.
Pros
Exciting environment
Cons
Early mornings
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to learn alot and open doors
Driver (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON30 January 2018
Great place to learn how to build yourself as a person and employee. Perfect way to open doors to newer opprotunities. You learn alot about the city and what each employee does.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work experience
Imaging Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON10 January 2018
I had learn a great deal of learning about building permits and the different stamps that engineers use . Data entry into a new software that I had learned
Pros
close to home
Cons
Not a paying experience it was coop placement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive work enivroment
Municipal Law Enforcement Officer (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON17 December 2017
A very positive work culture with a great work/life balance.
Everyone is friendly and willing to help new employees with any issues that may arise. Lots of back up
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair environment, but benefits are non-existent
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON22 November 2017
The work environment is fair and a good place socially. Dealing with staff at times could be frustrating. There are also benefits for entry-level positions as they will more often than not will offer a contract position for entry-level positions before they offer permanent positions with benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, nice people
Parks Labourer (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON18 November 2017
Great atmosphere, supervisors are always willing to help in your training/learning to do the job right. Supervisors are easy to approach with difficult questions. Great working outdoors in summer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's true what the say about working for the city
File Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON25 October 2017
Great company to work for! GREAT pay and benefits. Environment is positive and the people are very supportive and friendly.

Definitely a great place to work for!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Mississauga. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 132 reviews
581
438
312
21
10

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.4Culture

City of Mississauga Reviews by Location