City of Markham Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Supervisor of Forestry (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON20 May 2018
There were some great people and professionals who are passionate about their fields of practise.
Benefits were great, hours of work were very good and there are many great potentials.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Summer Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON21 April 2018
It was always a fun place to work with good people and hard working management. I enjoyed it here as it was a relaxing environment and it was 8-4. Very laid back
Pros
long lunches
Cons
coverage
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start my career
Program Instructor II (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON11 April 2018
Fortunate to have an amazing mentor and boss for my return to the workforce.
Supportive staff that work well as a team.
Great place to work if you like dealing with the public.
Tough to move up or get a full-time job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing job to start out and great environment.
Learn to Skate & Power Skating Instructor (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON29 March 2018
Loved working for the city of Markham and plan to continue to do so. It was a great environment with a great group of people, especially the bosses, would highly recommend this job to others.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
city of markham
Camp Counselor (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON25 March 2018
-Great company
-Everyone is passionate and caring
-Very supportive staff
-Everyone is accountable for each other
- The CEO is always a helping hand in any circumstance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Up and Coming Municipality
Contract Administrator (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON11 March 2018
City of Markham is growing and there is a lot of opportunity to grow with the City. As an employee in the Engineering Department there is a variety of different projects to look after from park construction to rehabilitating existing intersections. Overall the team and support staff are great to work alongside with. As the City is growing there is not too much precedent for how to go about doing certain things, however this does open the door to creative problem solving and proposing new ideas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated public servants
Thornhill Councillor (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON28 February 2018
A committed and absolutely professional upper management staff. Staff at all levels were always available to provide expert advice and suggestions. From a governance perspective, I always had confidence in their thoroughness.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lifeguard
Swim Instructor & Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON10 February 2018
I worked as a swim instructor and as a lifeguard part-time. It is a great way as a student to get started and earn some money. However, with all the qualifications and the pay (in comparison with other municipalities) it is not that great.
Pros
Great way to start off as a part-time job
Cons
Lower pay in comparison to other municipalities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, easy going workplace
Pool Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON30 January 2018
Serving members of the local community is fun and rewarding.
Colleagues are friendly and helpful.
Management recognizes that we have a life outside of work.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swim Instructing and Lifeguarding
Swim Instructor and Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON24 January 2018
Depending on who is supervising and managing the team on the day you're working, this job can be a huge learning experience or something you have to grind through. Each week someone on the team brings snacks, which is awesome once you're tired out from teaching classes.
Pros
Great Team and work environment (if the management on the day you work is amazing)
Cons
Swim Instructing - Always in chlorinated water so you become dry and your hair will die
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Summer Student - Operations (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON15 January 2018
I enjoyed my experiance working at the city very much, the job was very fullfilling and taught me alot of skills to be used later in my career that proved to be invaluable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun day at work
Guide and assist kids age (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON10 January 2018
A typical day would be going on time, and doing the best I can at work. Assisting any customers that have troubles, communicating to the people surrounding me, and having a great learning experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Camp Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON19 November 2017
I volunteered there for a summer and really enjoyed myself. I had nice co-workers, welcoming environment, activities were well-organized. Overall good experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interesting place
Trim crew and Garden/Lawn Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON25 September 2017
I learned a lot of valuable maintenance skills while working with the City. Learned a bit about weed Identification and the proper way to trim and mow lawns, and the proper way to maintain them through the season.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall experience
Parks Labourer (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON10 September 2017
Working for the City of Markham was very humbling, showed me what how so many people do little things that people don't really notice in making our City a better place. The management was amazing and made the job very easy and did not pressure us when it came to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place at the summer camp with the kids
Summer Camp Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON7 August 2017
I enjoyed working at City of Markham as a summer camp counsellor as playing games with the kids is fun and enjoyable. My co-workers are also resourceful and helpful.
Pros
Relaxing job, not much stress involved
Cons
Pay is only minimum
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Purchasing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON3 August 2017
Good environment and helpful co workers.
I have learned new systems here at the City.
Management is good.
workplace culture is positive
the best part is knowing that everyone works hard to make Markham nice, clean and beautiful. Safe place to live and call it home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
there is free gym time
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON30 June 2017
its a fun place to work/volunteer. Everyone knows each other, the pickup sports are poorly managed. Also when people rent out the gym the management does not compensate time for the pickup sports. Hardest part of the job is talking to people that are difficult to handle.
Pros
most of the people who work there are alright
Cons
there are very bad coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
effective
Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON14 June 2017
While the work load is relatively light, they are the most underpayed in the gta. they are constantly hiring more people, when they cant afford to give people all of the hours they ask for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff and overall work place
Recycler (Current Employee) –  Unionville, ON26 April 2017
Provided day to day direction to customers in the proper sorting and disposal of items at the depot. Removed all items not suitable as recycling material. Conducted job duties in a safe manner in compliance with City/Provincial regulations, codes and procedures.
Performed duties such as keeping the site and surrounding area free of litter to ensure the site is acceptable to residences as well as shoveling and laying down salt when it snows.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
Always having to work Saturdays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Markham. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 56 reviews
527
417
39
22
11

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.0Culture

City of Markham Reviews by Location