City of Kitchener, ON Employee Reviews

Found 51 reviews matching the search See all 52 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good work culture
Engineering support- Site Inspector (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON25 February 2019
Loved my time at the city of Kitchener, was sad to go back to school after my Co-op. The engineering department was very supporting and always encouraged continual learning.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place.
Kitchen/ Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON4 February 2019
I worked here to help the homeless and old folks with food and setting there tables.. served them food then cleaned up after them! was an overall friendly place and a good spot to help out!.
Pros
Helping people.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only part time
Facility Attendant - KOF (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON30 January 2019
Pay was very low. Only 24 hrs/week. Shift was consistent but only evenings. Very hard to balance life/work with children in school. Never got to see them
Pros
Consistent hours
Cons
Evenings
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Re: comments
Deputy Returning Officer (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON25 November 2018
Excellent work environment and the flexibility to work with the people in the community they serve.
The people are excellent, dedicated to service, and ability to converse and answer questions appropriately is fantastic
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Not permanent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Deputy Reporting Officer (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON28 October 2018
Friendly staff and colleagues.Overall it was a good experience with great employers,employees and equipment. Organized with lots of knowledge and training provided.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON14 August 2018
It was a good time and was a good work environment with great group of guys and was one of the best jobs i had but moved on due to not being permenent
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Tree technician (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON12 July 2018
Management is well run here and are willing to help you advance in any field that you are interested in. This is a work place that truly wants to see their employees succeed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A collaborative culture
strategist (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON30 April 2018
Working at the City of Kitchener was a collaborative working experience and a fun and productive culture to be a part of. The work life balance was exemplary and was perhaps the best part of the gig.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for Lifeguards
Lifeguard and Aquatics instructor (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON22 April 2018
Friendly management, opportunities to gain hours and move up as a Head Guard, fun atmosphere. Snack days and fun in-services made the culture enjoyable. Work hard play hard mentality.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good all around job
Trail maintainer (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON27 March 2018
Good experience overall with great benefits, employers,employees and equipment. Organized with lots of knowledge and training provided for each task they perform.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good balance in the public service
Anon (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON27 February 2018
There are many positive and negative aspects to working in the public service. The City of Kitchener is a very innovative environment but management who are not held accountable really hold the best of the employees back in bureaucratic process.

The worst are the employees are kept on board due to their affiliation with the unions and are along for basically a free ride.

The best part of the job is serving so many excellent staff members but watch out for the grumpy old timers who should have left when they had a chance.

There are no opportunities for advancement in the city as their is always a tendency to hire from within management or from the outside so don't expect to get rewarded for your hard worked and earned career. You will be overlooked and undervalued. If you can find joy and value in what you do you'll survive otherwise strongly consider other areas if you have an aggressive career plan.
Pros
Good work hours with above average total compensation
Cons
Environment resistant to change and only average pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We get apaid lunch at Christmas and have Statutory holidays paid
Crossing Guard (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON10 February 2018
I enjoy my shifts at work plus the hours are good with my life style but since there is no work in the summer I need to find something else to help supplement my income since I have recently become widowed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance
Urban Forest Technologist (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON28 January 2018
Great work life balance and ability to work independently and as part of a multi-disciplinary team make this a good place to work.

The ability to bank overtime on contract is also beneficial when you don't get paid vacation.
Pros
Banking over time, salary, benefits
Cons
Budget constraints
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work!
Environmental Services Attendant, McLennan Park (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON11 November 2017
The City of Kitchener is an excellent corporation to work for. Management seeks to improve work environment and support all employee needs. I recommend the City of Kitchener.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Happy Place
Operator/Labourer (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON1 November 2017
Fun shifts, always have a respectful and kind full timer working with you. You have a uniform so you don't have to stress about wearing certain things. Happy environment, everyone is polite and nice.
Pros
Always something to do, you have a uniform, fun staff
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place!
Student Laborer (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON24 August 2017
Awesome place to work! It is a great and fun work environment that every person can enjoy. There is a lot of room to grow and move up in job positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice working outside
Sports Instructor (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON7 August 2017
Love working outside and in an active environment, however have had lots of problems with HR paying me. I love working with children and building towards my future but struggle with some of the co-workers.
Pros
Summer Full time hours
Cons
Hot days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Event Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON28 July 2017
Part time role that allowed to gain supervisory experience
Friendly staff who are always willing to help out when you encounter challenges.
Would love to work for the City on a Full time basis
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working outdoors
Temporary Labourer (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON8 June 2017
City of Kitchener works hard to promote a positive culture through face to face programs and online programs. Hours and benefits are great for a young family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary
Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON30 May 2017
I enjoyed my time working there and would recommend it to anyone. The only reason I had left the job was I was hired as a summer student and the summer term had come to an end.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport