City of Edmonton Employee Reviews

Found 261 reviews matching the search See all 265 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome and unique workplace experience
Engineering Technologist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 November 2018
Working with City of Edmonton was a excellent experience of my career.
-wonderful multicultural environment at workplace
-Cooperative and helping senior management staff
-Lots of growth opportunities
Pros
good salary
Cons
More work load
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no connections, no work for you
employee (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 November 2018
The only way you can get a job with City of Edmonton, is if you have good friend or family work there
People with connections do what ever they want, people with out connection ....good luck to you
Typical day is out of 6 employees 2 of the are working and other 4 are sleeping or on the phone plying games
Many employees are sleeping at work
Promotions, how well you are connected with management that's how fast you will be promoted
Pros
no pros
Cons
favoritism, lies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its terrible
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 November 2018
-Misogynistic Culture of fear, humiliation and harassment fostered by and supported by upper management.
-Confusion and poor planning
-Nepotism and cronyism is the norm.
-Management treats temporary workers like pawns, whose schedules, place of work, and job descriptions can be changed without asking or any notification
-Temporary labourers are often given less than one day for notification of layoff
-The culture of gossip is extremely toxic. Especially amongst management. Both Direct and upper management
-Gives very little; almost no training on how to do the actual job you were hired for
Pros
Co workers
Cons
just about everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Supervisor/Market Planner (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 November 2018
I have worked at the COE for 7 years and it offers great job security and decent pay and benefits. While there are opportunities for growth they don't always seem to available.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Culture to break into and harder clients to manage.
Elections Receptionist - Office of the City Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 November 2018
It felt like the City's motto should have been what more can we take from our employees. There was a lot of hard work with little benefits and good luck if you are in a position that deals with the public. They feel like they own you because "they pay your salary". I have never been treated worse at a job by the clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for me
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 October 2018
If you enjoy feeling like you accomplished something in a day I wouldn't recommend CoE. If you want to punch a clock and float, great place.

Everything needs multiple approvals, union workers are invulnerable where management has nothing to review poor business practices. Change is rampant so you have to constantly navigate new procedures that no one knows, if someone doesn't want to do something they just pass the buck to another department and send you on a goose chase. Very frustrating and hard to stay motivated.
Pros
Many good people that try, slightly less hrs/week
Cons
Constant change and shuffling, many bad people who dont try, super process heavy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Park Ranger (Former Employee) –  Edmonotn26 October 2018
good to work for
learned lots and had some really good supervisors
learned lots of interesting things and the pay was very well
lots of opportunities to grow and better yourself
lots of courses offered
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
labour 1 (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 October 2018
I found working for the City was a great experience, working out side meeting new people the hours are great, wages were good, I look forward to returning next year
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Transit Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 October 2018
I worked there as a teenager during highschool.
Was a great experience.
Was a sales clerk and cashier.
Staff incentives for higher sales
Loved the sales atmosphere and dealing with customers
Capable of fast past environment
Pros
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want Job Security and no advancement
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 October 2018
This is a great place for work life balance, salary and benefits. However, will not promote from within and most always external hire.
If you have been here long time you will never change position.
Lots of wasted time trying to get things done.
Pros
Job Security, Pay and Benefits
Cons
Lack of movement and internal promotion for union employee
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to be
Building Maintenance Labourer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 October 2018
The city of Edmonton was a waste of time. they waste tax payer money sitting and doing nothing. they fix stuff only so they break again. the city of Edmonton is full of losers. and the transit CEO is an idiot i could do a better job drunk
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the job
drainage leader (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 October 2018
trouble shooting, drawing up blue prints, always something new, being a drainage leader.
drainage systems and how it all worked
management was good and bad
diverse employees
some sewer problems
always kept busy and always learnt something new
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on what you are looking for
Clerk II (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 September 2018
The job security and benefits are good, but the companies culture has taken a nose dive in recent years. So it depends what you value in your work life.
Pros
Security, benefits, hours of work.
Cons
Culture, work life balance, communication between management and staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly effective and responsive staff
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 September 2018
Staff able to deal with emerging issues in a very professional manner. Amazing opportunity to feel you are truly serving the citizens in this public facing organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Capricious top down management.
General Supervisor of Neighbourhood Renewal Design (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 September 2018
Management doesn't have a clear vision. They are very top down in management style. Little honesty or transparency as to policies or direction filter down to workers or supervisors.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Long hours, poor job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
temporary employee from May - November (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 September 2018
I get to communicate with the public. I get to work with my partner and the same location each year. I enjoy my co-workers. I get to work all the concerts that are held at the Stadium
Pros
Concerts, Grey Cup when held in Edmonton
Cons
Weather as I work outside
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unfulfilling career
Edmonton (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 September 2018
when I worked for this employer, I worked there for 12 years - I was overworked, underpaid, and underappreciated. The management was horrible, and I was pigeon-holed into a position regardless of all the hard work that I did. I will never encourage anyone to work for the City of Edmonton
Pros
Career stability
Cons
bad, rotating management, underappreciated
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wish i never left
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 August 2018
Great place to work for. Would welcome opportunity to go back. Met a lot of great people. I would recommend this company to anyone who meets there qualifications.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty standard
Outdoor Pool Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 August 2018
Some bosses are great, some aren't
Some coworkers are great, some aren't
Pay is good, hours are good, union is great
Would return and work with them again
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work atmosphere where everyone is equally respected
Horticulturist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 August 2018
I had the opportunity of working with friendly employees in a great and fun working atmosphere. I felt mutual respect among co-workers as well as upper management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Edmonton. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 265 reviews
599
484
339
220
123

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

City of Edmonton Reviews by Location