City of Calgary Employee Reviews

Found 221 reviews matching the search See all 226 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working for the City of Calgary
City of Calgary Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 October 2018
Loved working for the city of Calgary but I would like to work closer to home . Loved interacting with customers and employees that I work with We were tonight’s split shifts early mornings drove eight hours a day had to deal with situations of bad weather and good weather Train to drive an Airbrake vehicle
Pros
Bus pass
Cons
A lot of assaults on bus drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environement with relaxed themes
Sports and Recreation leader (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 January 2019
Very fast paced position dealing with children between the age of 3-14(typically). Good teamwork is required and supervision is helpful to improve the day camps and sports camps.
Pros
Fun environment
Cons
Long preperation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Employer
Information Management Analyst (Current Employee) –  City of Calgary21 January 2019
Great people to work with, awesome learning and advancement opportunities. Possible education assistance. Great benefits and hours of work. Very flexible.
Pros
Flexibility, benefits, hours, pay, people
Cons
Commute to some locations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to learn and grow
Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 January 2019
Great summer internship, you get to meet a lot of other students, the work load and responsibilities are quite fair. The City offers a really good mentorship program where you can be matched with a mentor that can help your career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's fantastic place to work. Great pay, great benefits, great retirement package.
Lead Hand for Confined Space (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 August 2018
I worked there for 27 years and enjoyed every day of it. I was given opportunities to learn new skills and get job advancement . I found the management was fair and we all had equal opportunity for positions as they became available.
Pros
4 day work week
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice to work there
Senior Programmer Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 February 2019
Nothing very fascinating but people are nice. Still stick with old technology. They try to grow but things are slow. Good benifits and salary. Free parking at some locations is good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was blessed to get hired by The City of Calgary.
Legal Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 October 2018
Everyday I am thankful that I was hired by The City of Calgary. They treat you always with dignity and respect and it was the first legal position I have had in 26 years that I feel like a valued member of a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for work life balance
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 September 2018
This is a great place for work life balance. Management seems to be lacking communication and leadership. Career opportunities are largely based upon education and not skill.
Pros
good pay and pension
Cons
lots of politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive work enviroment
Leader (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 September 2018
Very fun,productive and supporting work environment. So far it was my favorite place to work. I learned a whole lot of new things with all the training sessions that i feel like ill definitely use in the future.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
short hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complex work
Peace Officer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 January 2019
Interesting and complex work, good people and lots of diverse jobs.

Leadership is hit or miss depending on the department and division you are in.

Great pay and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is completed
Team Lead, Senior Planner (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 September 2018
Good working environment and opportunity for advancement.
Location is advantageous, good accessibility. Parking is also available. Lunch room is avaialble
Pros
relaxing atmosphere
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place
Golf Course Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 July 2018
Great place to work, treat you like people. Excellent work climate. wish all companies treated employees this way. One draw back, some positions traditionally held by women are not unionized and therefore you get treated and paid way way less.
Pros
Freedom to work
Cons
Systemic gender discrimination
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
golf course fun
Golf Course Lead (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 June 2018
great way to get a farmers tan. early mornings and beautiful grounds.
lots of lazy people looking to do the bare minimum. the best part of the job was a job well done.
the worst part of the job was doing other workers jobs over because they didnt do it right the first time
Pros
work by yourseif
Cons
working in all kinds of weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good summer job, fairly unorganized but a friendly culture
Recreation Leader (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 August 2018
Working with children can be stressful, and the management does not always seem to know what they are doing, but the coworkers are nice and it's good to have an outside job
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
CANSKATE COACH (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 August 2018
they where very understanding with the work hours and they had great management and I loved the shoes there highly recommend working there because of the friendly attitude and welcoming atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at as long as you have the right boss.
Security Advisor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 August 2018
Great place to work at without many of the perks that come with a job in the private sector, such as Christmas parties. Good internal training program.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to Work with Kids
Summer Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 June 2018
it was a definite learning experience where I strengthened my role of leadership. I was making no money because it was volunteering but I received a few free lunches and had some great times
Pros
Working with Kids
Cons
different location every week
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is fund to with the cops
Custodian/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta , Canada29 March 2018
A typical day of work is to keep busy and time go by fast. I have had experience that i do not know before. Also, the Management is nice , they look after you very good and friendly workplace. The hardest part of the jobs is remove the snow and your sweeper is broken. For me, the most enjoyable part of the job is driving on cops's cars.
Pros
best wages
Cons
health care, penson, vacation
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace to grow and advance your career
Excavation Permit Clerk Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 June 2018
Overall day to day work is fairly easy-going. Great place to grow and learn different skills. Management and workplace culture is okay, depends on your department.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience!
DR02, Volunteer Election Worker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 April 2018
This was a temporary position to help organize voter ballots for Calgary's 2017 Municipal Election. I enjoyed the work environment immensely, everyone was a good team player to one-another to get everything done and it was an experience I will not forget any time soon.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Calgary. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 226 reviews
596
478
339
28
15

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture

City of Calgary Reviews by Location