City of Burnaby Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great crew
Tradesman 2 Aux. Painter (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC15 March 2018
Enjoy workplace enviroment,great crew,great boss, been temporary full time ,think that a full time position should become available sooner.A variety of jobs to be done with city of such size.
Pros
Variety and great crew
Cons
Not knowing day to day where job is
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very limiting
UX Designer (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC20 February 2018
People are not used to changes. Really hard to innovate since the people do not like changes and work must go through many people before it will actually be approved and accepted.
Pros
flexible hours as an AUX
Cons
no work for you - cutting your hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Politics around in IT
Analyst at IT(former employee) (Former Employee) –  Burnaby21 September 2017
It's nightmare joined that organization, all positions are reserved by friends even posted to the public. In IT even nightmare that a SM joined and fired those she didn't like with immediate effect....those worked for a long time just claimed OT as much as they could even durbig vacation... big make sense....I can't believe it's a government body.....good luck to those new joiners....
Pros
Government job
Cons
Management can do whatever they want even they just an employee
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, challenging, and rewarding
REC CLERK (Current Employee) –  BURANBY7 June 2017
A typical day is never the same. There is a lot of data entry, dealing with the public, answering phone calls, registering and unregistered from programs, making sure customers and turn over is flowing properly. Tending to medical emergencies if there are any.
Pros
nice people
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely workplace.
Dog Licence Canvasser (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC5 June 2017
The workplace is lovely with caring co-workers who are always there to help. It is a very casual environment which as a new staff member, I feel at home on my first day at work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mellow Summer Position
Survey Assistant (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC3 May 2017
Enjoyed jy summer at C.O.B working with great guys and enjoying all the delicious food in the Burnaby area.

Was a temporary summer position while I was goingto school.

Great Staff, great learning experience in a Municipal environment.
Pros
Great Staff
Cons
Slow days
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not at liberty to say
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC20 April 2017
With regards to my employment with the city i am not at liberty to submit a review of the job as I do not feel that it is necessary to do so at this time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 56Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well paying progressive employer
Building Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC19 January 2017
Burnaby was a great employer but after 26 years I needed a rest.
There was many problems between employees and management about working conditions. As an employer in general I had no complaints the pay was great with full benefits, union protection, I enjoyed my time with the city.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Server (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC19 June 2016
The club house is a fun place to work in the summer time. All my co-workers are great and the beauty of the establishment can not be beat.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC26 December 2015
Great place as a side job not enough to make a living year round, Too many people not caring enough but not the worst place to work.
Pros
Plenty of time off
Cons
No free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Entry Level Job
Drafting Technician (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC20 November 2014
Can be repetetive but everyone has their role and works as a team. Co-workers are great, a good stepping stone to future jobs.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Can be hard to move up
Was this review helpful?Yes 57No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Laborer 2 (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC18 September 2013
The sewers management team is horrible & that's why I want out!
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes 65No 35Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Fit but often monotonous
Lifeguard/ Instructor (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC9 December 2012
Working as a lifeguard for the City of Burnaby has been a good experience overall. Typically I do safety checks, stock first aid, manage other lifeguards, guard the patrons, deal with first aid emergencies, teach fitness and swimming and more. The hardest part of the job is staying alert during long guarding shifts. The most enjoyable part for me is teaching fitness.
Pros
fitness is a part of the job
Cons
on your feet a lot, rigid guarding schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 30Report

See more City of Burnaby reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Burnaby. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 15 reviews
54
44
35
21
11

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
3.0Culture

City of Burnaby Reviews by Location