City of Burnaby Employee Reviews

Found 22 reviews matching the search See all 23 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work because I deal with many people
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Human Resources26 February 2019
Volunteered at the City of Burnaby for many summers. But how can one get employed at the City? Places like this are nepotism inspired places! If you are not related to anybody already working inside -you won’t get hired at all!
Pros
Dealing with public is fun
Cons
Nepotism
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is good to have some fun!!!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Burnaby city11 January 2019
I would like to offer my services to the City of Burnaby on part-time,
casual, on calls, temporary full-time and full-time basis jobs.

I have University and International experience and education.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 11Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst employer experience
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC6 December 2018
Got injured permanently after countless efforts to try to refuse unsafe work. I was off for over a year with barely any contact with the employer. Absolutely no effort for accomadations for permanently injured workers. I was working fulltime as a auxiliary mon-fri prior to injury. All hr could come up with over a year later was a on call position with a pay cut.

Also the union offers barely any support and is most likely in bed with management. Total shock that this is a government sector employer. SHADY BUSINESS!
Pros
Pay is good
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You work here because you have to
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC6 December 2018
Terrible, this company is absolutely terrible. There is nothing positive about working here. I couldn't get paid enough if I were to offered another job at this horrible workplace.
Cons
Worst place to work, ever
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC7 October 2018
I loved volunteering for the City of Burnaby.I volunteered in many different areas. My co volunteers were great to work with, as well as those where were overseeing me
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIghtmare! Management is HORRIBLE!
Sr. Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC27 June 2018
Everyone lives in fear. No one has your back, ever. People take credit for your work and management tracks your every move. Some people (professionals) are required to report on every 15 minutes of work they do, everyday! The first opportunity that comes along, you get thrown under the bus! Co-workers are encouraged to report on other workers. It's pathetic!
Pros
none
Cons
management, work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work enviroment
Clerk 1 (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC24 May 2018
Working for the City of Burnaby has been a fun challenge for me. There are a variety of different departments and facilities you can work at depending on what you are looking for.
The energy is very fast paced at the facility I work at and my coworkers are very enjoyable to work with.
Pros
Team players
Cons
People having complaints
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer Visits (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC24 March 2018
voluntary visit senior be company organize some game, play with them and good conversation. Help to them to organize somethigs in them suite and prepared a little snark
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 18Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great crew
Tradesman 2 Aux. Painter (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC15 March 2018
Enjoy workplace enviroment,great crew,great boss, been temporary full time ,think that a full time position should become available sooner.A variety of jobs to be done with city of such size.
Pros
Variety and great crew
Cons
Not knowing day to day where job is
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very limiting
UX Designer (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC20 February 2018
People are not used to changes. Really hard to innovate since the people do not like changes and work must go through many people before it will actually be approved and accepted.
Pros
flexible hours as an AUX
Cons
no work for you - cutting your hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Politics around in IT
Analyst at IT(former employee) (Former Employee) –  Burnaby21 September 2017
It's nightmare joined that organization, all positions are reserved by friends even posted to the public. In IT even nightmare that a SM joined and fired those she didn't like with immediate effect....those worked for a long time just claimed OT as much as they could even durbig vacation... big make sense....I can't believe it's a government body.....good luck to those new joiners....
Pros
Government job
Cons
Management can do whatever they want even they just an employee
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 12Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, challenging, and rewarding
REC CLERK (Current Employee) –  BURANBY7 June 2017
A typical day is never the same. There is a lot of data entry, dealing with the public, answering phone calls, registering and unregistered from programs, making sure customers and turn over is flowing properly. Tending to medical emergencies if there are any.
Pros
nice people
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 11Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely workplace.
Dog Licence Canvasser (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC5 June 2017
The workplace is lovely with caring co-workers who are always there to help. It is a very casual environment which as a new staff member, I feel at home on my first day at work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mellow Summer Position
Survey Assistant (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC3 May 2017
Enjoyed jy summer at C.O.B working with great guys and enjoying all the delicious food in the Burnaby area.

Was a temporary summer position while I was goingto school.

Great Staff, great learning experience in a Municipal environment.
Pros
Great Staff
Cons
Slow days
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not at liberty to say
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC20 April 2017
With regards to my employment with the city i am not at liberty to submit a review of the job as I do not feel that it is necessary to do so at this time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 83Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well paying progressive employer
Building Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC19 January 2017
Burnaby was a great employer but after 26 years I needed a rest.
There was many problems between employees and management about working conditions. As an employer in general I had no complaints the pay was great with full benefits, union protection, I enjoyed my time with the city.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Server (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC19 June 2016
The club house is a fun place to work in the summer time. All my co-workers are great and the beauty of the establishment can not be beat.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC26 December 2015
Great place as a side job not enough to make a living year round, Too many people not caring enough but not the worst place to work.
Pros
Plenty of time off
Cons
No free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Entry Level Job
Drafting Technician (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC20 November 2014
Can be repetetive but everyone has their role and works as a team. Co-workers are great, a good stepping stone to future jobs.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Can be hard to move up
Was this review helpful?Yes 58No 9Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Laborer 2 (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC18 September 2013
The sewers management team is horrible & that's why I want out!
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes 71No 39Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Burnaby. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 23 reviews
57
44
36
22
14

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.5Management
2.8Culture

City of Burnaby Reviews by Location