City of Brampton Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public Service
Coordinator Programming and Presenting (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON9 July 2018
There has been a steady improvement in management and vision. I have had a wonderful career here. The changing demographics offer unique opportunities to develop as a professional.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
Project Coordinator, Engineering & Construction (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON26 June 2018
Focus on the company and your individual experience while employed there
Provide reasons for why you liked or disliked working at the company
Nice working environment
Team spirit.
Pros
1 hr. lunch time
Cons
reasonable hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding job but with fluctuating environment
Inclusive Program Instructor (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON17 June 2018
In my experience on the job I was not as fortunate to be located at the same recreational center and with the same participant throughout a season, I was required to move to various centers and adapt to each participant, environment, as well the stationed staff. The rewarding side of the job is the possible life long impact you leave on each of the participants your are responsible for. Not to mention the staff, including the site heads and boss, are very clear about the situation and what is required of you while making that extra effort to make everyone feel apart of the family.
Pros
support filled job as well as an active job
Cons
High tolerance, patience, and adaptibility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and fun
Facility Operator (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON30 May 2018
I love my position with the City.
I love that every day brings new challenges and learning opportunities.
I have been with the company 20 years and it truely doesn’t feel that long.
It’s awesome to go to work every day and enjoy what you do and who you work with.
Pros
Working with your friends
Cons
The public can be harsh
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Concession Stand Attendant
Concession Stand Attendant (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON29 May 2018
I had a great experience working for the City of Brampton as they gave me flexible hours. This was great because I was able to work while going to school. I also liked how friendly the atmosphere was as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Skate Instructor and Camp Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON28 May 2018
I loved working for the city, it was the best job I had. Staff were friendly, there were many opportunities to grow and they provided all the training/ certificates you need.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rather unpredictable workplace
GENERAL VOLUNTEER (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON20 May 2018
Enjoyed my volunteer experience at the City of Brampton recreation centers. Developed many important and necessary skills needed to be successful in life.
Pros
Good management
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Student Labourer (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON30 April 2018
Super fun, everyone is very kind. Good pay. It was a pleasure to come into work everyday. Lots of positivity in the work room. I would recommend this company especially for a student job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding, must be passionate
Swim Instructor and Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON25 April 2018
Must be passionate about teaching swimming. Lots expected of you for a very little salary. Was at $14.00 before the minimum wage raise and still at $14.00 so is not worth paying for all my qualification and keeping them current utilizing lots of my time.
Pros
Great way to impact people wanting to learn how to swim
Cons
Bad pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace environment
Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON23 April 2018
The city of Brampton has very great people who are very welcoming to new employees. Everyone I have encountered so far is really nice and respectful. The environment is good to work in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience
Asst. Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Brampton19 April 2018
I am so thankful for this experience and am glad that i had the opportunity to work there at such a young age. I would highly recommend youth to work here and gain this experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work place is a clam environment
DECK SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON18 April 2018
Recommend it to any one looking for a good first. This job has taught me a lot. One bing how to deal with customers and how to get the job done in a fast and timely manner .
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back, easy going work. Very few hours
SPORTS INSTRUCTOR (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON14 April 2018
pay is great, above minimum wage even for students. Many people are hired, and there ends up being a drastic excess of employees for the work available, resulting in few hours for all.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Whatever
SPORTS INSTRUCTOR (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON10 April 2018
Not a completely terrible place to work, pay is nice because it's a government job, but hours are not good. Lucky to get 10 hours a week
/////////////
Pros
good pay
Cons
few hours a week
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place, very unorganized
Skate Instructor (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON3 April 2018
I loved working with city, I would do it again in a heartbeat. Although the management was unorganized and my coworkers lazy, everyone was super friendly and the kids made it worth it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Crossing Guard (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON30 March 2018
enjoyed my job a lot, met a lot of nice people and got to know my community a bit more. wonderful experience. I was able to hold a part time job yet be with my family when they came home from school. hardest part of the job have had to been the fact that you have to stand outside in all weather conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Recreational program staff (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON20 March 2018
Fun place for youngster to work at, as your first job. Lost of friendly customers, staff, and participants. Just one thing, not enough hours for current staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everything you've heard about working for the government is true
Network Administrator (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON17 March 2018
Everything you've heard about working for the government is true. There is very little turnover because people get comfortable there. This is a double edged sword.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team
Inclusion Instructor (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON15 March 2018
Team is great and you have the opportunity to build great relationships with clients and management team. Most rewarding feeling is helping others and seeing a smile on their face.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No good place to work anymore
IT Manager (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON14 March 2018
City of Brampton has changed a lot the last 3 years, it is very unstable, a lot of lay off, lack of leadership, IT is not moving forward, a lot of micromanagement and little vision. No promotions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Brampton. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 194 reviews
588
456
342
22
16

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

City of Brampton Reviews by Location