Circle K Employee Reviews

Found 84 reviews matching the search See all 5,758 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and cooperative co workers
Cashier/Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Greater Napanee, ON24 August 2018
Working at Circle K is an experience. I get to socialize with people of different cultures and learn from them. The management makes sure to meet its goal and maintain good relationship with the employees. The job is easy and straightforward once you get used to it. The hardest part is dealing with customers who are very persistent on what they believe is right. However, most customers are very understanding as well as the other employees who are willing to help and guide me upon starting working at the store
Pros
free drinks, flexible schedule
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a terrible place
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Baileyville, ME18 November 2018
I actually enjoyed my stay an CK. The job wasnt glamerous but the management always listend and tried to be supportive. The pay wasnt great but it was generaly a pretty stress free environment. They do annual pay raises
Pros
Always room for promotions if you want to work for it
Cons
Slow job advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Senior Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON19 November 2018
It can be quite stressful at times, and overwhelming. Just got to breathe throughout the whole process and you will survive. Customers can be demanding at times, you just really need to be patient and listen attentively to your customer. If they have been wronged in the past it's our job to make it better. The customers are quite honestly the best part. You get to meet all kinds of people and hear their stories. Management, on the other hand, doesn't seem to care about your wellbeing, however, this is just my personal experience.

Overall, great people, good job, just a very busy place.
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at.
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Trenton, ON15 November 2018
Nice place to work at. They value your work. The more potential you have the more work is lying on the platter. I acquired management qualities. Workplace culture is totally professional.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good friendly environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON11 October 2018
excellent place to work in great stuff great experience it helps you in learning new things like time management, improves your communication skills and experience.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked the night shift
Cashier duties (Former Employee) –  dublin, ga8 October 2018
worked the night shift/worked alone.

a typical day at work
what you learned
management
workplace culture
hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to Work but bad Area.
Store Clerk (Current Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, ON9 March 2018
You work Autonomously and practically run all the basic's of the store by yourself. You have the liberty to work at your own paste with the exception of having to serve customer when ever they come. At some locations the Jobs are unreliable since Circle K/Macs often clears out the staff when ever they lend the store to a private dealer. The Corporate locations are permanent until you quit or advance.

The Pay is minimum wage with a small increase for night workers. There is no 2 weeks vacation, or holidays but you are paid for 2 weeks vacation over time and pay extra on holidays you work. The Job Culture feels distant since social interaction with other employee's is limited. The work environment leaves little room for bad and abusive management. Due to the city, the store I work at sometimes has dangerous customers.
Pros
Work Autonomously, Sometimes Stable and reliable, Don't have to interact with other co-workers.
Cons
No extra days off other than weekends, Sometimes Dangerous Public, Employment can be really unreliable sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management and co-workers
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  St. Stephen, NB16 January 2018
In a typical day at work I generally work the cash register. I also am tasked to do pricing of product and placing this product throughout the store. I learn something everyday. such as what to do with a gas pump failure to closing at the end of shift.
The management are very peasant and very fair to work with.
Not sure what you mean about workplace culture, but realize that Circle K is always looking to be in tune with what the customer wants and trying to make this happen.
The hardest part of this job is not having our schedules until a day or 2 prior to the beginning of the week. No time to schedule appointments, although the management are very accommodating with this.
The most enjoyable part of this job is inter-acting with the customers.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Not knowing your next week shifts ahead of time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job and good pay
Customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 August 2018
its nice to work at circke k because people working there are nice and anyone can change shift schedule if he/she available but no job security your employer can fire you anytime
Pros
free drinks and coffee
Cons
shifts are between 8-12 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
STORE CLERK (Former Employee) –  Markdale, ON16 October 2018
it's not a bad place to work, my boss was quite reasonable. no benefits through which means its, not a job you want to stay at long-term. that's my review
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job
Customer Service Representative (Part time) (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON14 August 2018
Great for school goers as a part time job. No growth or career advancement. will have to deal with some really bad customers. No fixed breaks. Night shifts are fun
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly and productive environment
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 April 2018
Great company, one of the best conveniences in Toronto area. Workers are all very friendly and kind, fast-paced work environment and everything is done to perfection. Everyone cooperates together very well and work always gets done no matter what circumstance.
I enjoyed working with others and getting to experience what it is like to work in an office and file papers, organize drawers etc...
Pros
provides coupons, food, lunches
Cons
long hours depending on position
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 June 2018
- Arranging the stocks and checking the expiry
- Making fresh coffee every couple of hours
- Best management
- Hardest part is to deal with angry customers
- Giving a great customer service to the customers
Pros
Free Coffee
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS18 November 2018
as a gas station its pretty high quality. the hardest part of the job would be dealing with customers getting mad at you for things that aren't your fault. one of the best things is getting to work with a strong team of great people.
Pros
great team
Cons
Boring alone shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 December 2018
its very great experience to work as a CSR at convenient store. its fun also. i enjoy almost everyday as a employee over there. this is a great company to work with as a student or later.
Pros
help to manage expenses with study
Cons
all day buzy, first school then work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun
Customer Service Representative/Cashier (Former Employee) –  London21 September 2018
i worked here for very shortperiod of time but it was fun working here.
i was enjoyin the interaction with the customers and was overwhwlmed working their.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company but could use some technology upgrades
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sussex, NB26 July 2018
All computers are from before 2005 making things very slow when trying to assist customers.

Most of the day consists of cleaning the store and restocking shelves.

My co-workers were very nice and respectful teaching me the ropes.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Have to stand at all times, cant sit until break.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job oriented.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON12 November 2018
I enjoyed my job as there were more things to do in the store, I was paid good, was always happy about the customer service that provided. and love to work in a similar work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL18 October 2018
My manager was amazing! But the company do not care about their managers or employees. Great place to keep you busy and going, but you definitely do not get paid enough for the job....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always busy, managment wasnt great.
Subway Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Shelburne, ON23 July 2018
manager was never putting schedual how people would ask, so 2 people would work during massive rushes. You get written up for no reasoning. only hired people who had connections with the people on the inside already working. coworkers were nice, some very rude.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Circle K. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 5,758 reviews
51.4K
41.5K
31.6K
2680
1642

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.1Culture