Cineplex Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, always busy
VIP Kitchen working in various positions (Former Employee) –  Unionville, ON21 February 2018
Typical day of working in the VIP Kitchen was always hectic, during rushes there's never a moment to stop which isn't necessarily a bad thing.

I learned how to work great under pressure and prioritize situations.

Most of management was great, hours were plentiful, however nothing is perfect.

Culture was open and everyone was comfortable with each other

Hardest part was during popular premieres when everything was sold out.

Most enjoyable was the cast passes.
Pros
Cast passes, plentiful hours, schedule system
Cons
advancement was limited
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for young people
Cast member (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON21 February 2018
I worked at Cineplex my final year of high school and the summer before university. It was really fun as everyone was around my age and the majority of the management is really nice as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really disappointing work environment
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON14 February 2018
No one has any clue what their doing.
The management team is extremely young and they are flexible with the scheduling if the like you. Can get free popcorn but they will write you up if you take more than one bag.
Pros
Movie passes
Cons
Management has no clue what their doing, scheduling problems
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and fun work environment.
Part Time Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON9 February 2018
Cineplex has been a fantastic place to work for the past year, the managers are truly amazing and understanding, my coworkers are tons of fun, and the hours are extremely flexible. I truly enjoy every shift I get to work and I feel safe and comfortable in my work environment, as well as with the people around me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work environment
Bartender/Server (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 February 2018
fellow staff members are very good people. workng at cineplex you'll meet people that will stay present in your life for a very long time! the work load is very light and the mangers are flexible with scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 February 2018
Nice to work there people are nice nobody’s rude. Everyone minds their business . Movies are pretty nice food is awesome customer service is too good .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to start working!
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 February 2018
Cineplex was a great place for my first job, they were always flexible with my schedule around school and had no issues whatsoever about it.
They always always knew how to treat their employees right no matter what!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work if you can get good management
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 February 2018
The theatre I was at was relatively small and the managers cared a lot about their employees. I went on to another theatre where the management was not good, but overall I enjoyed the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cineplex
VIP Cook (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC3 February 2018
The main reason I quit was that of it interfering with my work schedule, otherwise, it was a good starter job.

Working until 3 AM was a bummer, but it wasn't always like that.
Pros
Free movies. Cool co-workers and many friends.
Cons
Working until 3AM.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Very flexible with hours and great coworkers.
FRONTLINE STAFF/BIRTHDAY PARTY COORDINATOR (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL3 February 2018
Cineplex is a great first job for anyone looking to get experience in cash and customer service. Management and staff are great and everyone gets along well. Management does a really good job working around my schedules and I never have a problem if I need a day off all of sudden, they are very understanding and will work with me to help get it covered.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time job for students
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON1 February 2018
Fun exciting place to work, with lots of young people.

Many different customers coming in daily.

Same type of work everyday.

Slow days can get very boring.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Experience
Concession (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON31 January 2018
I had a good experience with Cineplex while working for them, and would recommend anyone to work with them in the future. Great management, flexible hours, and overall a job that always has something for you to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy-going, fun workplace
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  Bridgewater, NS26 January 2018
A typical day at Cineplex usually consists of a 5 hour shift where you have to prepare popcorn and soft pretzels. During a rush we serve about 50-300 customers on any given day. We make frozen yogurt and pretzels during the rush as people order them. It is a fast paced environment but easy-going.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Cast Member, Silver City Oakville (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON26 January 2018
Management constantly absent, hours not negotiable (high schoolers sometimes forced to stay until 1 am closing), no room for advancement. Job culture was disdain for the theatre, salary is minimum wage.
Pros
free movie every 2 weeks
Cons
favouritism from management, hours, pay, upselling every little thing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great First Job
Cast Member (Current Employee) –  London, ON24 January 2018
Very flexible and great work environment, worked their for 4 years and loved the cast and management. Job gets repetitive and boring but the cast makes it worth it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work if you don't need many hours
Floor staff (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 January 2018
I like working at Cineplex, I like watching movies and every once in a while I can ask for a cast pass to see a movie. Just wish they could give more hours. Some weeks I get one 5 hour shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON23 January 2018
Great first job, worked there for 3 years met some great people and had some good times, overall an excellent place to work, flexible hours and good people
Pros
Free movies, screenings, free popcorn
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working for this company
Theatre Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 January 2018
Found that the late nights got to me and really only had one bad taste in my mouth with one person but was no way for me to move to a new location as he shut the door on that faster then it could have opened. The company in general awesome benefits all though not awesome were really good. And working with a lot of great people. Really was just one person.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool benefits but no job advancement
sales associate (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON22 January 2018
Manangment started only carrying about making money. Replaced people with machines at the box office. Also, they have to many people on the roster so you only get a few shifts a month.
Pros
Free movies
Cons
Few shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good flexibility but poor management
Cast Member (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 January 2018
It is an excellent place for a student looking for their first job as the flexibility is great and it's a very basic job. However, at my location there was always a lot of chaos and all of the equipment was broken or old which made our jobs a lot more difficult.
Pros
Flexible, easy, good coworkers
Cons
Poor quality of equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport