Chudleigh's Bakery Employee Reviews

Showing all 35 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no diversity at all
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON17 June 2019
long hours, salary is low to start. no advancement . poor diversity .

still, multi culture is a challenge for many people to understand the true meaning of it.
Pros
products are good
Cons
Multi culture issues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The place needs leadership change.
Sorry it would be too obvious. (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON9 May 2019
Chudleigh’s needs to modernize. They need leaders with experience and know how. What have now is people who have been there forever and loyalty is great but not at the expense of progress. You don’t need to fire them maybe but know when they have hit their ceiling. Turn over in the last 6 months to a year is out of control. Management sees this as a money issue, it’s not. It’s culture and management style. A couple sour apples if you will that everyone has issues with ruin a lot of potential. These issues are never addressed directly because the owners for whatever reason protect them.

There are excellent people in positions below management that are great and could move the company forward but as the turn over shows they hit walls get frustrated and or mislead and leave. This company has amazing potential but continues to grab defeat out of the hands of victory. The owners who were once invested seem more worried about planning vacations then the current status of their employees and company.

This company has some good features like great recognition programs, company up time awards, and decent benefits.

Although it is not a good place to be right now it has potential to be more but if it isn’t fixed soon it also has potential to get worse.

I would not recommend this company at this time.
Pros
Reward programs
Cons
Poor leadership, not flexible, little opportunity for advancement, high turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Ministry for moving to latest technology
DevOps Architect\Cloud Architect (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON16 February 2019
It's a good place to work in IT, especially the first Ministry to move to cloud. Management and team staff were very helpful and approachable, great staff on all levels. Busy environment. Good pay.
Pros
Technology on savvy.
Cons
Limited to 7.25 hours a day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and very busy all the time
Maintenance Supervisor/Manager (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON1 November 2018
Maintenance is not your primary function. Lots of setting up equipment pushing machine around change overs. Very little Preventative maintenance done. Management doesn't communicate expectations well. days are long and very fast paced, barely get coffee or lunch breaks with out interruptions.
Pros
celebrate lunchs when targets met in month
Cons
heavy work load, lots of fire fighting not much maintenance done
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and friendly environment
Coop Continuous Improvement (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON12 June 2018
Did not expect the amazing amount of friendliness and positivity here at Chudleigh's. Everyone is really nice and helpful in all situations. Being one of the few co-op students, other coworkers made the environment and workplace very enjoyable to work in. Everyday is a new experience to learn from. And, the products taste amazing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly job environment
IT Analyst (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON25 May 2018
Very Friendly job environment. Opportunity to learn and grow your technical knowledge.
Management gives you confidence to lead projects for continuous improvements in the infrastructure.
Free Lunches and Pie's are common
Pros
Free Lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great so far
Buyer (Current Employee) –  Milton25 May 2018
I've just been hired and so far the experience has been great! I have received great training and have met with most of the staff. It's a good environment to work in.
Pros
great training
Cons
lots to learn
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice environment with nice people
Technical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON19 May 2018
This factory is a clean place to work at. The staff here is very nice and patient. They teach you everything and make sure you learn. The environment is nice to work in.
Pros
Break time was fair
Cons
Night time shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunities, Awesome products, Dedicated Teams
Manager (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON11 April 2018
As Chudleighs is growing, it can be difficult to decide how to integrate new best practices and systems without losing the wonderful family culture that has made the company successful to date. Some people struggle to understand the change required while others struggle to appreciate the past. That is not a bad thing and is a natural transition for growth as we learn to integrate new thinking with historical strength. Not everyone may see it, however the management team spends a considerable amount of time trying to figure out how move forward to benefit both employees and our customers. Sure, sometimes we can miss the mark and struggle. However everyone at Chudleighs is learning and growing together with opportunities for anyone who wants to move forward. One thing for sure, there are a lot of great people who are dedicated to making awesome tasting products while striving to make it a great place to work. I feel privileged to be part of the team. Way to go Chudleighs!
Pros
Great culture & teams, opportunities for growth, Education is key
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No opportunity for advancement
Quality Assurance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON4 April 2018
The owners are good but the management is not good. There is no opportunity for advancement. Every position is micromanaged . You can get in trouble for someone else's mistakes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture is changing
Office (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON28 March 2018
Poor exec management especially production. people go on stress leaves and the owners may not know this is happening more and more. They left too soon.
Sadly the new regime wants to change the culture and what the owners built. Not a positive environment.
Products are delicious and customers love Chudleighs.
The benefits pkg and perks are great thank you Chudleigh’s family.
Pros
Lunch, benefits, recognition
Cons
Terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Packager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 March 2018
Accirding to my experience, i learn different new things regarding bakery. It was very interesting and beneficial for me. The employees of this company was very cooperative.
Pros
Free tea, lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming and helpful environment
Packaging (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON25 February 2018
I started working at Chudleigh's in 2012 and it was a very nice experience. The environment was very welcoming and I got used to it quickly. I made a lot of new friends there had a great time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best choice food processing company in Canada
Production Organizer (Current Employee) –  8501 Chudleighs Way22 February 2018
I have worked at several large companies from being a Manager to a Production Organizer and I must say that Chudleighs company culture, kept me here for close to 8 years and I am very satisfied with my tenure here.

The Company has a great benefit plan, a matching contribution to your RRSP plan and great people all around. This may be the only company you may be privileged to work at because of the friendliness of most of the people in the plant, it is a home away from home. The HR and Payroll department led by Amanda and Jana is the best that I have encountered to date.

This company is a food processing plant producing some of the highest and tastiest deserts in the world and boast of over 100 full time employees.
The company reward people with efficiencies and high fives . When efficiencies are met the company provide lunch for all full and part time employees, company harvest party, Summer barbecue, not forgetting Walmart and Gusto cards to employees
Pros
Benefits package, RRSP contribution, Gusto, Walmart and High Fives, and great people
Cons
Floor Management needs more attention than ensure consistency
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report

Comment – 23 February 2018

In addition to the above review, I just wanted to add a note in commenting that " Chudleighs" is the brand of the family name and they have been very generous and down to earth people that I know. They are great contributors to many charities and we are honoured to work for such a fine group of owners.

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sweet Treats and Even Sweeter Team
Employee (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON21 February 2018
Chudleigh's makes the most delicious and savory treats- the atmosphere also reflects that. Great people to work with, very collaborative, innovative, and genuine! Chudleigh's is HUGE on recognition, and appreciating the employees that work here. Great pay, competitive benefits and even a very generous RRSP matching program. Personal and professional development are of very high importance to the Owners and Executive committee- yearly educational allowance to top it off!

Great team to be apart of!!
Pros
compensation, team and treats
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun place to work
Past employee (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON16 February 2018
Wonderful family company. Management are great to work with & great work/life balance. Doesn't hurt that you get to sample the amazing desserts & give back to the community & all the fun events!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best culture around!
Employee (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON9 February 2018
Chudleigh's has a family friendly environment and really cares about their employees. The appreciation for hard work and great values goes a long way. There are a lot of recognition programs including gift cards, monthly draws, and celebration events. It's a great company to work for if you want to have an impact, share your ideas, and grow! The company not only cares about the employees but also the community. They support the Darling Home in Milton which cares for children with critical disabilities. Other benefits include RRSP matching and 100% benefits coverage, education allowance, employee sale! (so you can take home the delicious desserts that are made) I love Chudleigh's and highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long term employement with a family feel
Manager (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON9 February 2018
Chudleigh's is a great place to work if you are looking for long term stable work. The hours are reasonable and predictable with overtime offered in the busy season. Work can be physical and demanding at times but achieving targets comes with reward and recognition. There are several programs that the company offers to thank their employees for hard work.
Pros
recognition and rewards, friendly environment
Cons
need to fill gaps in departements so running lean at the moment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming atmosphere with strong core values
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON9 February 2018
Chudleigh's is an amazing company to work with strong core values and people who really make the workplace environment enjoyable. Everyone is very friendly and hard working, making the customers the ultimate priority. Chudleigh's is an important part of the Milton/Halton community and I feel proud of the work that is done at this facility.
Pros
Company lunches, rewards and recognition, good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Work Culture and Environment I Have Ever Experienced
Employee (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON9 February 2018
I have been employed at Chudleigh's for a couple years, but I was also employed at various places prior to Chudleigh's. I can honestly say the work culture they have created and built off of their roots is truly something to admire and appreciate. I do not think you will find anything like it. It is upbeat and positive, innovative, collaborative and has a "family" feel to it.

And hey to comment on the other "reviewer" yes the work in production is mess, but that's because you are making deserts, you are working with a variety of messy ingredients like flour and chocolate; the process is messy, but the end products are always superb.

I also think that there is a suitable management team to help drive Chudleigh's to the new heights they are trying to reach. The Executive committee is open and transparent, and make a point to personally learn everyone's name.

At Chudleigh's you are not just a number, and it makes a world of difference!
Pros
Great Culture, Great Team, Solid Foundation to Grow off of
Cons
Not enough exposure (always gets confused with the farm, people don't know the 110, 000 sq ft bakery exists)
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chudleigh's Bakery. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 35 reviews
512
49
37
24
13

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Chudleigh's Bakery Reviews by Location