Chatters Limited Partnership
Happiness score is 49 out of 100
3.5 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Chatters Limited Partnership Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
Canada221 reviews

Ratings by category

3.2Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 221 reviews matching the searchSee all 333 reviews

Fun fast pace working environment. Some small let downs but overall not a bad place to work.

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Chatters wasn’t a bad place to work at. I worked there for many years though and never got a raise or reward. Sometimes it can be toxic as there is lots of drama. But, besides all that you learned a lot about beauty products and it was nice being able to help customer find what they were looking for. Also working there you got great discounts on products and hair appointments.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Chatters Limited Partnership

12 May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad to hear that you were apart of the Chatters family for many years, and were able to enjoy the perks and product discounts offered to our team members. Our goal is always to provide a positive team environment where all team members are respected and heard. We would like to hear more about your experiences. Please feel free to reach out to recruitment@chatters.ca for further comments and feedback.

Garbage

A chain company only worried about how much money they made. Known predator on staff. They won’t do anything about them. Very unorganized at the Nanaimo location

Pros

Lots of products

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Chatters Limited Partnership

12 May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.At Chatters, providing our team and clients with a positive and welcoming environment is always our top priority, where everyone feels safe and valued.We would like to hear more about your experiences. Please feel free to reach out to recruitment@chatters.ca for further comments and feedback.

Insights into Chatters Limited Partnership

Based on 28 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Fair pay for job
  • Trust in colleagues
  • Sense of belonging

Great Company for those interested in the Hair Industry

Overall really good experience with the company, you go to work every day to help people feel good about themselves. Perks to working there are good, great for anyone wanting to get into the hair industry
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Chatters Limited Partnership

9 May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a thoughtful review. We are so glad to hear of your positive experiences during your time with Chatters. Our goal is to always provide a positive "style happy" environment to our staff and clients. We wish you the very best!

Don't work management here!!

If you are thinking of applying for a Management position, just don't. Seriously, don't. It'll sound like sunshine and roses and a great paycheck but you will be at your kitchen table at 11 pm trying to get all your management work done, because you spent all day covering your store.There is no work life balance. Every day off you have somebody will need something or there will be a client esculation that you have to deal with to keep the salon running.When speaking to head office including HR about such issues they tell you 'to keep hanging in there it gets better'. There is no getting better when you are working 6 to 7 days a week to keep the doors open.Was told from the CEO 'Sometimes that's just what it takes to be sucessful'. Made the company A LOT of $$$ was not compensated for extra hours. Was promised extra lieu time and never able to take it. Just kept being told 'it will get better', and it never did. Don't do it.

Pros

Discount on product is great, training from companties on products is great

Cons

Long hours, working on days off, no work life balance, working for free, no lieu days given
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Chatters Limited Partnership

12 May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the discounts on the amazing products Chatters offers. At Chatters, we value providing all of our team members with a work and life balance and fair compensation; we are sorry to hear that we may have missed the mark.We would like to hear more about your experience, please feel free to reach out to recruitment@chatters.ca

Horrible upper management, negative work environment with a lack of respect for mental health

Chatters has no respect for any employees mental health I contacted human resources twice about how horrible it was and absolutely nothing was done, This was such a negative environment to be in. Upper management is disgusting will never shop at chatters again nor will I encourage anyone else to!

Pros

none

Cons

everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Chatters Limited Partnership

2 May 2022
Thank you for leaving a review. At Chatters, we take the utmost priority in ensuring we provide everyone a respectful environment where all team members feel heard and listened to. We would like to hear more about your experiences. Please feel free to reach out to recruitment@chatters.ca for further comments and feedback.

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Lot's of opportunity for growth

Chatters has alot of great tools for learning and they have lot's of great programs for staff. I also love that the location is busy, it's great for building a clientele.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Chatters Limited Partnership

18 April 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a thoughtful review! We are so glad to hear that you are enjoying all the great development opportunities Chatters offers to our team members! We know it is our team member's talent that makes Chatters successful, and that is why we want to ensure we provide everyone with effective training tools! We wish you the very best during your journey with us!

Dynamic and Focused on Growth

Positive team and always an opportunity to grow and develop, with lots of education and classes available to the team. You can really hone your skillsets and challenge yourself.

Pros

Great team and perks

Cons

Could be demanding hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Chatters Limited Partnership

11 April 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy a positive team environment and the great benefits and discounts available to our team members! At Chatters, education and furthering one's growth is one of our best assets. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors!

Met some really great people

Not many opportunities to advance further, rather you end up in the same position with the same pay rate just more responsibilities the longer you are there and it seems more and more incentives are taken away
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Chatters Limited Partnership

4 April 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide all of our team members with opportunities to further their growth, development and education, with compensation to match. We are sorry to hear that we have missed this mark and would like to hear more about your experience. Please feel free to reach out to recruitment@chatters.ca

not great work environment, no sales commission!

ABSOLUTELY NO sales commission for beauty consultants and front counter associates. They make product sales goals extremely unattainable , so bonuses are never a possibility! Also, management and other staff like to gossip about other employees. It is Nonstop at my location. When you try to address anything, management brushes it off, or picks sides. Thanks but, i’ll go to a salon where I am valued and treated with kindness and given a liveable wage.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Chatters Limited Partnership

25 March 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We strive to be able to provide an environment for all of our team members to grow and develop in their career and skillsets. We are disappointed to hear that you experienced anything less than a approachable and welcoming atmosphere and team setting.We would like to hear more about your experience, please feel free to reach out to recruitment@chatters.ca

Beginner stylist, broken dreams. Depends on location if you will feel welcome or not.

Chatters was a lovely workplace at the first location I worked at, they were willing to help me with the things I didn’t feel confident in and had some patience for me. The staff at this location were majority very lovely to me and had little to no issue with anyone. Then I moved and transferred to another location and felt completely unwanted. I wasn’t able to meet their standards due to my lack of speed and experience since I had only been out of school a few months. It crushed me to feel so unwelcome and made me decide to no longer pursue hairstyling. Unfortunately I was not insanely amazing instantly like some expect in the industry which is unrealistic in general. I hope others can have a better experience than I did.

Pros

Kind coworkers

Cons

Lack of patience for beginners
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Chatters Limited Partnership

25 March 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your time with Chatters. At Chatters, we implore our stylists to pursue their passions to further their growth and development in all our salon locations, regardless of where you are in your career. We are sorry to hear that you did not experience the sense of inclusivity reflective of our organization.We would like to hear more about your experience, please feel free to reach out to recruitment@chatters.ca.

Good for a discount on things

Chatters has a lot to offer in terms of education, benefits, and discounts, but it doesn’t add up to the awful executive management who don’t know what they are doing in terms of hair salons

Pros

Discounts, benefits

Cons

Toxic upper management, payroll issues
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Chatters Limited Partnership

25 March 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your time at Chatters. We are so glad to hear you were able to enjoy the education and development tools as well as the employee perks Chatters has to offer!At Chatters, we strive to reflect a work culture that is inclusive and approachable where all team members feel supported.We would like to hear more about your experience, please feel free to reach out to recruitment@chatters.ca.

Awful company, they steal from you, blame you for everything that goes wrong even of you weren't working that day.

They are shady, to the point they will throw you under the bus to make them look better. Just overall not a good company to work for or work with. They randomly delete your vacation too

Pros

None

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Chatters Limited Partnership

25 March 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so sorry to hear that your experience was less than stellar during your time at Chatters. Our goal is to provide each client and employee with a memorable and enjoyable experience, and an environment that is inclusive, welcoming and fair to all team members.We would like to hear more about your experience, please feel free to reach out to recruitment@chatters.ca

You are just a number too them if you are unhappy their only response is for you to quit and find somewhere to work

At this company, I have given so many years to them and have never even gotten anything in return, management is not there for you to help you succeed, my sales speak for themselves yet I have never seen compensation. Even for taking on more responsibility’s you are not given any wage increase such as being a key holder or training people you are not shown any gratitude. Also working in the beauty industry there does need to be some beauty upheld on our part but waving in someone’s face and saying that, that is the problem because they don’t have a full face of makeup is completely absurd and extremely rude. No one should be shamed for not wearing a full face of makeup if their hair and clothes are completely professional. I have nothing really good to say about this company except you meet some good people who you can become friends with but the management is complete trash.

Pros

Making customers happy helping them feel beautiful

Cons

Awful management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Chatters Limited Partnership

25 March 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review during your time with Chatters and the many years as a valued team member. We are committed to celebrating and creating an inclusive space free of judgment, where team members and guests feel welcomed and valued. We provide our stylists with a style code that allows them to be creative and express themselves as the artists they are and apologize if we have missed the mark.We would like to hear more about your experience, please feel free to reach out to recruitment@chatters.ca.

The company is about money and doesn't care for their staff

I thought this was a great canadian company but in reality it is not. They have Unreachable quotas so its impossible to get bonuses, they don't back up the staff when an internal conflict occurs, they terminate people without cause without directly asking both sides of the story, upper management in head office are unethical and unprofessional. Training is too basic.

Pros

90% off services

Cons

Pay is not great, Too much work for such low pay, Unprofessional upper management, Don't pay overtime, Don't pay mileage for banking, HR is not fair when investigating a so called issue, they say it's a safe environment to talk but when you bring up any issues they back lash you, upper management has favorites
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Chatters Limited Partnership

14 February 2022
Thank you for sharing your feedback. At Chatters, we strive to provide the best experience we can for our team. Our dedication to creating a collaborative environment for all is what sets us apart in the beauty industry. We are happy to hear that you were able to build meaningful relationships with your co-workers!We are growing quickly, which at times presents its challenges. Your feedback is crucial to us as we continue to build a culture that encourages growth, development and collaboration. We are disappointed to hear that you feel as though your experience wasn't always that, so we'd like to learn more! Please feel free to reach out to recruitment@chatters.ca with any further comments, concerns or suggestions.

Slow, no room to grow, good employee discount

Pretty slow, but good employee discount. No room to grow as a beauty consultant, so it’s a good job if you’re a student or looking for part time work.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Chatters Limited Partnership

14 February 2022
We know it is our team member's commitment, loyalty and talent that makes Chatters successful, and that is why we want to ensure we are providing our team members with the best environment! We would like to learn more about your experience, If you'd like to share your feedback please email us at recruitment@chatters.ca

Treated very poorly and paid poorly as well

Getting yelled at and called names yet having good reviews at odds with one another. Lots of people quit and went on stress leave because of the terrible treatment. Higher ups didn’t care

Pros

Discounted product and service
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Chatters Limited Partnership

14 February 2022
Thank you for sharing your feedback. At Chatters, we strive to provide the best experience we can for our team members. Our dedication to creating a comfortable, transparent and collaborative environment for all is what sets us apart in the beauty industry! Your feedback is crucial to us building a working culture that would encourage team members to see Chatters as their second home. We are disappointed to hear about your experience, we'd like to learn more! Please feel free to reach out to recruitment@chatters.ca with any further comments, concerns or suggestions

Not bad starting job

Working front was okay. The people there were great and the company places importance on customers. You can learn a lot of useful skills. There isn't much room for advancement though, and no pay raises. They also cut your hours with no warning. Fun job, but not a long lasting job

Pros

Good people, product discount, few selling incentives

Cons

Unsteady hours, low pay
Was this review helpful?

Low wages

They will provide you with lots of hours. However the quality of clientele here can be quite low. Many people do not care who they revived as a stylist as they are not loyal. Management is lacking and more fixed on numbers then a good business culture.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Chatters Limited Partnership

14 February 2022
We know it is our team member's commitment, loyalty and talent that makes Chatters successful, and that is why we want to ensure we are providing our team members with the best environment! We would like to learn more about your experience, If you'd like to share your feedback please email us at recruitment@chatters.ca

Be careful with your interview process.

A lot of lies, to be blunt. Impossible incentives. Poor district management, due to lack of salon knowledge. Zero opportunity to advance your career to professional levels.

Pros

None

Cons

Lies lies and more lies.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Chatters Limited Partnership

21 October 2021
Thank you for your feedback. At Chatters, we strive to provide the best experience we can for our team members. We would like to learn more about your experience. Please feel free to reach out to recruitment@chatters.ca with any further comments, concerns or suggestions.

Save your time

Management is very selfish and picks favourites with both the hairdressers and the girls working at the front desk. The stylists also acted very self entitled and rude, it was not a nice environment to go to every single day.

Pros

Nothing

Cons

Manager
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Chatters Limited Partnership

21 October 2021
Thank you for sharing your feedback. At Chatters, we strive to provide the best experience we can for our team members. Our dedication to creating a comfortable, transparent and collaborative environment for all is what sets us apart in the beauty industry! Your feedback is crucial to us building a working culture that would encourage team members to see Chatters as their second home. We are disappointed to hear about your experience, we'd like to learn more! Please feel free to reach out to recruitment@chatters.ca with any further comments, concerns or suggestions

worst management

manager has no relevant management skills for job. abused their power and took advantage of employees and expected them to do their work. this made my experience pretty miserable. hours and shifts would get cut minutes before i would arrive. very unprofessional

Cons

management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Chatters Limited Partnership

21 October 2021
We know it is our team member's commitment, loyalty and talent that makes Chatters successful, and that is why we want to ensure we are providing our team members with the best environment! We would like to learn more about your experience, If you'd like to share your feedback please email us at recruitment@chatters.ca

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chatters Limited Partnership. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 333 reviews

Ratings by category

3.2 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
2.7 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
2.6 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
2.7 out of 5 stars for Management
3.0 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare Chatters Limited Partnership with

  • Companies
  • Chatters Limited Partnership
  • Employee reviews