CFIB- CANADIAN FEDERATION OF INDEPENDENT BUSINESS
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews
CFIB- CANADIAN FEDERATION OF INDEPENDENT BUSINESS Employee Review

Great cause!

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 February 2018
Lots of freedom to manage your own schedule. Very little sales team culture due to geography and a lack a funding for sales meetings / sales gatherings. Amazing resources and benefits for small business owneres
Ratings by category
5.0
Work/Life Balance
2.0
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.0
Management
2.0
Culture
Pros
Freedom
Cons
Compensation is not anywhere near what is promised.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from CFIB- CANADIAN FEDERATION OF INDEPENDENT BUSINESS
13 February 2018
Thanks for the feedback, particularly about the terrific cause that drives us at CFIB. I completely agree that the resources and benefits for members are second to none and I know our District Managers take great pride in sharing our victories and battles with members. You also noted the benefit of the freedom the job allows. This is certainly one of many benefits of working at CFIB, but it should be noted that the degree of freedom can create challenges for those who do not treat the District Manager role as a full-time job. Our new compensation plan delivers on our promises to staff, but only when team members ensure they are holding up their end of the commitment. As for sales meetings, we have made many recent investments in training and coaching our team members. In fact, early today, I spent an hour with 4 new recruits taking on District Manager roles in various parts of Canada. Obviously, as a non-profit association, we don’t have unlimited funds, but our training and coaching is at a higher level than ever, including paid DM orientation in Toronto and regional meetings across the county. Feel free to share any other thoughts directly with me anytime. Again, thanks for your helpful comments. Dan Kelly, President and CEO.
Similar reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
12 October 2017
Same roleSame location
Business Development Manager (Former Employee) - Toronto, ON
If you are looking to make a career, this is not the job for you. Great for University Grads or People looking close to retirement.
This concept of helping small to medium side businesses is good however be prepared for a lot of rejections. You spend a lot of time on your own. Support is there at the beginning however it quickly vanishes.


Not meeting your sales numbers, Management make's your life like VERY DIFFICULT


100% COMMISSION IS A THING OF THE PAST. NO CAR ALLOWANCE OR VERY LITTLE FOR NEW HIRES.


THE BONUS STRUCTURE IS OUTDATED AND VERY HARD TO MAINTAIN.


TOP MANAGEMENT HEAVY AND LOT'S OF CLOSE FRIENDS WORK IN MANAGEMENT.
Pros
It's like running your own Franchise however your are not paid that way.
Cons
Long hours, lots of rejection, very little support and too much favouritism.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from CFIB- CANADIAN FEDERATION OF INDEPENDENT BUSINESS
2 November 2017
Thanks for the feedback from your time at CFIB. I’m glad you identify with CFIB’s mission of helping small businesses. After our giant campaign against the federal tax changes, small businesses are recognizing more than ever that they need an advocacy organization that has their backs. We’re certainly seeing a nice uptick in membership as a result.

You are right that there is a lot of time on your own in the District Manager position. I know it wasn’t for you, but for many others, the independence of the position is one of the attractive features of working at the federation. While you note the initial support you received, we are working harder than ever to provide more ongoing support and coaching. Of course, we do count on our employees to let us know when additional support is needed. To be in a position to offer ongoing support to our 200 District Managers across Canada, we do need to have a fairly large group of strong managers. In fact, we just added a few new talented managers to ensure we can improve the help we can provide to our new District Managers.


We’ve also made significant changes to our commission, bonus and expense allowances based on feedback from District Managers. I’m sorry the position wasn’t for you, but we work hard every day to make CFIB a terrific place for our staff to build a meaningful career.


Dan Kelly, President and CEO
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 April 2020
Same location
National Bilingual Training Specialist (Former Employee) - Toronto, ON
CFIB is a place where everyone works towards supporting the local economy. It provides Purpose to your routine. There are people of all ages and there is no time to be lazy. Everyone rolls up their sleeves. The President and CEO is very personable and approachable. For those bilingual, it's a great place to be to use your French as a large number of employees are bilingual.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from CFIB- CANADIAN FEDERATION OF INDEPENDENT BUSINESS
17 July 2020
Thanks for the very nice message. Yes, I hear the President is quite personable too (ha!)

I appreciate your support of the team and cause. We really do have an awesome group of people working at CFIB and it is a big part of why we have so many staff with 10, 20, 30 and, in a few cases, 40 years of service at the Federation. It is also great to work in a bilingual environment in Toronto and across the country. I am so impressed with how many of our colleagues speak both French and English fluently, especially as I continue to push myself to use French more every day.


Wishing you nothing but the best in the future.

Dan Kelly, President and CEO
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 May 2019
Same location
Bilingual Recruiter (Former Employee) - Toronto, ON
Working for a company with such a great philosophy and a great team work environment is the reason why CFIB is in my opinion the best place to work at. As a recruiter i was really happy with the office environment and the amazing management. EVERYONE, is very supportive and happy, it brought some great experience and knowledge to myself. After moving on from my position, i would go back to CFIB in a heartbeat! GO CFIB
Pros
free coffee, donuts, cookies, great teams, happy environment, minimal stress
Was this review helpful?
Official response from CFIB- CANADIAN FEDERATION OF INDEPENDENT BUSINESS
13 May 2019
Thank you very much for the encouraging words. I just celebrated my 25th anniversary with CFIB and I agree that the mission and corporate culture are hard to beat. Our Toronto office is filled with committed professionals who help serve our 110,000 members and 400 employees. I really appreciate the time you took to write and wish you the best in your new role. As you likely know, we have many colleagues that return to CFIB after gaining experience elsewhere and we’re always happy to have strong performers come back in the future.

Dan Kelly, President and CEO
Claimed Profile
Want to know more about working here?
Ask a question about working or interviewing at CFIB- CANADIAN FEDERATION OF INDEPENDENT BUSINESS. Our community is ready to answer.
Overall rating
3.5
Based on 34 reviews
5
9
4
12
3
4
2
5
1
4
Ratings by category
3.8
Work/Life Balance
3.0
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.4
Culture
CFIB- CANADIAN FEDERATION OF INDEPENDENT BUSINESS Reviews by Location