CFIB / FCEI
Happiness score is 75 out of 100
3.6 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

CFIB / FCEI Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
Canada58 reviews

Ratings by category

4.0Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 58 reviews matching the searchSee all 59 reviews

good communication with management. friendly environment.

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Typical day work: pocurment, bank reconciliation, update database.Learned: CRM, CF400, MS officeManagement: good communication with employees, very quick response for different inquiries.Workplace culture: friendly environment, concern about employee safety.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CFIB / FCEI

10 February 2022
Thanks for sharing your perspective on your time at CFIB. I am grateful that you found so much of your job to be positive, including the communication and environment. We’ve worked hard to build a positive culture at CFIB and, while we don’t always get everything right, it is terrific to see that it is noticed. Wishing you well in the future.Dan Kelly

Noble cause, I be learned a lot about small businesses

Company has a great cause trying to protect small business. Unfortunately CFIB has become less effective years over the years, I do not think CFIB is being heard. Pay has not kept up with the changing times despite the SPIN they have. Very fast paced with high metrics and transactions and low base. Compensation is designed for high activity The role is very engaging and you meet some amazing business owners. But don’t expect to make a descent income in the first 2 years.
Was this review helpful?

Insights into CFIB / FCEI

Based on 11 survey responses
What people like
  • Support from manager
  • Time and location flexibility
  • Clear sense of purpose

Great place to work

Flexible schedule, supportive team members and management. Base salary plus commission. Harder you work, the better you get paid. There are minimum requirements every week but they are not hard to attain.

Pros

Flexible schedule

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

A great place for a career

A great organization to work for. They treat employees very well and very fairly and provide load of support when needed. This company believes in promoting from within and they do so wherever possible. From the CEO on down, management makes employees feel valued and respected. Everything they do is with the goal of helping small business succeed.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CFIB / FCEI

8 April 2022
Thanks for the excellent review and I’m so glad you are enjoying your career at CFIB. We do work hard to treat our employees well as it is critical to ensuring our members are well served. I hear the CEO is a great guy too (ha!). Thanks again for sharing your views – and please don’t be shy to offer any constructive criticism with me directly. Dan KellyPresident & CEO

Awesome workplace and work environment. Everybody is so helpful. GREAT MISSION

Managers are so understanding and very supportive. Flexible schedule, constructive feedback, solution-oriented environment. We make a change when we workYou make a difference when you work at CFIB.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CFIB / FCEI

15 February 2022
Thanks for the great review and helpful comments. I am really pleased to see that you have found our managers and work environment to be helpful and supportive. I entirely agree that one of our strengths is the feeling of making a difference for our members, the economy and our country. I know that is why I am still with CFIB after 28 years. Thanks again for writing. Please feel free to share your perspective with me directly anytime. Dan Kelly, President & CEO

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Great organization!

Fantastic group to work with and be a part of. This is not a corporate-type of "sales" position. You have to have passion for small business and you'll have great satisfaction in supporting independent business owners and growing the membership. Management are extremely knowledgeable and supportive.

Pros

Sense of value to your role (that matters a great deal). Great family/work balance, opportunity to advance or move within Canada, supportive management/leaders.

Cons

A lot of information to keep on top of, it's a non-for-profit organization so you may make less than a similar role in the corporate sector.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CFIB / FCEI

10 February 2022
Thanks for sharing this positive review and providing so many great comments. I completely agree that our District Manager role is not your typical sales position. The people who do best in this role are those who want to make a good income and are motivated by making a difference for our members and the country. Our organization continues to shine through the pandemic as we advocate for support programs and policy changes while directly serving our members. In fact, we’ve taken 140,000 calls from members since the pandemic started.It is true that there is a lot to keep up with. COVID programs and rules have changed on a dime and many small business owners are looking to our team to provide them with answers when governments can not. Thanks again for writing.Dan Kelly

Fantastic organization

From my initial interview to my final days with the organization, I enjoyed my time with CFIB. My immediate manager was always understanding and willing to work with me and provide extra training when needed. I felt appreciated by the entire organization. I highly recommend a career with CFIB
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CFIB / FCEI

10 February 2022
Thanks for writing and providing this positive review. I am so glad you enjoyed your time at CFIB and wish you nothing but the best in the future. I appreciate you sharing the compliments to your manager – it is great to hear that they provided you with support and understanding along the way. We are blessed to have so many colleagues who build a career with us at CFIB. We have dozens of employees with 10, 20, 30 and a few even at 40 years with the Federation. I always take this as a sign we are doing something right!Dan Kelly

Great organization and amazing people to work with

Personally, I had a very good experience working at CFIB. People are always helpful. My best work experience so far! I had the opportunity to work in a great team and also to develop my skills. I also love the mission of the organization which is helping small business in general. I can’t think of any cons at the moment.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CFIB / FCEI

10 February 2022
Thanks for the terrific review. I am very pleased you are motivated by our mission and note our helpful colleagues. I will soon celebrate my 28th work anniversary and those are the same two elements (our mission and our people) that keep me excited about my work everyday. Keep up the great work and let me know of any areas for potential improvement along the way.Dan Kelly

Job is enjoyable but underpaid compared to other companies

CFIB is a great organization that does amazing work for small business owners. Every business owner really should join the CFIB. Your job is to show business owners this by booking a meeting, presenting to them, and closing. You are inviting business owners to join the CFIB. There’s a lot of benefits to membership as well.That being said it is a numbers game at this company. Initially 18 new business is easy to hit, but once your cancels start rolling through it really does become a grind. You also have to do account management and renew accounts which is the more enjoyable side of the position. Speaking with business owners is the best part of the job.However, the job is difficult, they take back commission if a member cancels before they’ve participated for 6 months, and your travel allowance is a joke. I spend 2x what they give me in a month in a week. And I do plan my routes properly to be effective.You’re not gonna break $100k here unless you live in a dense area like Toronto with a lot of leads and opportunities being fed to you. Smaller cities it’s all hunting your own leads. The marketing branch really could do better but I’m sure their resources are small as well. This means leads that do come in are often poor. The organization is reputable and you will feel good about your job. You’ll work hard for a modest income for today’s standards. There are companies out there where you can certainly earn significantly more for the same effort but CFIB is a great starting position.

Pros

Flexible schedule, good mission, nice coworkers

Cons

Pay is not competitive
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CFIB / FCEI

10 February 2022
Thanks for sharing your perspective and providing details on where we can do better. I am really pleased that you identify with the mission of the organization and feel good about what you are doing. Those who are motivated by making a difference do very well at CFIB. You also flag some of the challenges you’ve faced, particularly with compensation and marketing. I recognize that the pandemic required us to make many quick changes to our approaches (particularly personal visits during lockdowns) and this had an impact on us all. We continue to work hard to find new ways of reaching our members and enhancing the income of our District Managers. It is true that there are other sales related positions out there that may pay more, but we are working hard to find ways to enhance our compensation structure and improve both the quantity and quality of leads. I appreciate the time you took to share your views – this is super helpful to me. Thanks again.Dan Kelly

Feel pride with your work

You get to work with an amazing group of people that are all rooting for your success, feel pride in the company (federation) you are working with (for), know that you are helping the small businesses in and around your community and across the country and make a great living while doing that. The base salary gives you the confidence to know that you are covered, but when you put in the work and follow the system that has been created you can make so much more.Great to know that you can create an amazing work life balance, and the management team helps you do so.When you are having difficulty or need some pointers or tips there is a great crew of managers and trainers that can help you get back on track and give you the tools you need to succeed.In short as long as you are coachable and do the work you can succeed in this position!

Pros

Great management team

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CFIB / FCEI

8 December 2021
Thanks very much for the generous review. As 2021 is CFIB’s 50th anniversary, I am really happy to see that our organization’s culture remains a supportive one for our team. Our colleagues really do take great pride in supporting each other while focusing on supporting small business owners across Canada. I’m also pleased that as a District Manager, you recognize the balance of the base salary and the significant upward earning potential based on performance. I really appreciate these positive comments, but continue to welcome any constructive criticism or advice on how we can do better. Thanks again for writing. Dan Kelly, President and CEO

Good work/life balance, you determine your own income

I accepted this position 2.5 years ago based on good reviews of the President, who turns out to be a great person and he definitely has the heart for people. Grateful to be working for such a wonderful organization helping independent businesses. The organization's culture is very welcoming, you are never left alone, the support is tremendous. My immediate manager is also wonderful, who manages me the way I want to be managed, very understanding, which makes me feel I have to do well in order to return the kindness. The income potential is there for sure, but you have to work really hard (just like any other job I guess). Flexible working hours means you really have to have self-discipline. But if you are successful, no one cares if you work only 4 hours a day. The support from admin is also very good, you always get the help you need, almost instantly. Great organization to work for. I left because of COVID, I can't handle the thought of interacting with so many business owners everyday, wondering when you will catch COVID. If you are not meeting business owners face-to-face, you really cannot get the message across. You control your own income based on how hard you work. The downside to this job is you will be faced with many objections, not everyone would support the organization even though it's doing great work for small business.

Pros

Flexible work hours

Cons

Faced with many objections
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CFIB / FCEI

1 November 2021
Thanks very much for the positive review and kind words about me and the organization. We do work hard to ensure a positive culture for our employees at CFIB – and I agree that our support team is the best. While I am happy that we are back to being able to visit members again in person, I know that, for some, this causes concern during the pandemic. Our District Managers are currently using a blend of in-person and telephone based visits with members and prospective members. Once the pandemic is fully over, we’d be keen to have you back serving and growing our membership.Thanks again for sharing your perspective of your time at CFIB. Wishing you the best in the months ahead. Dan Kelly, President and CEO

Wasted time and money

Brutal experience. Its a slow death working here. You might feel great at the beginning and then after your launched - you're alone WITH A BUSINESS OWNER with no protection and no idea if they;ll become a member. Your job depends on it and its a mean mean environment with management. The grind you to no end so they get their bonus. Wasted time and money. Government should shut them down.

Pros

Nil

Cons

Lots
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CFIB / FCEI

23 June 2021
Wow, this is certainly a negative review. As readers of CFIB’s profile on this site know, I’m not at all offended by reviews that offer constructive criticism of their time at the Federation. We do many things well, but we are not perfect, and I always benefit from reflecting on the feedback, even when it challenges my perspective.While I am sorry your work at CFIB was not what you expected, I am puzzled that you found no positives at all in your time. We are super clear about what the job entails – including all the wonderful and more challenging elements of the membership sales role. It seemed you were surprised that you would be alone with a business owner who may or may not become a member. I’m not sure how one could read our job descriptions or participate in our interview and training processes and miss this.For nearly all of our 50 years, CFIB has visited the vast majority of our members and prospects in person, regardless of where they are located in Canada. During much of the pandemic, we had to shift to do these meetings by telephone or online, but a direct visit or call is still one of the most critical elements of our sales model. We’ve worked very hard to ensure our staff complies with all COVID related restrictions throughout the pandemic. Perhaps you were expecting only to contact those who were already members, but renewing our existing membership is only one part of the job.As for our sales management team, they work very hard to ensure working at CFIB is a rewarding experience. They want to help our team members have meaningful work that allows them - 

Door to Door sales.

The role is very challenging with moderate pay. In order to even come close to the income level they purport, count on working 50 hours weekly, every week. The organization IS bonafide and it does actually serve it's membership very well however.

Pros

Some members really do appreciate the work that CFIB does; many don't however.

Cons

Strictly scripted presentation with no room for creativity, income opportunity is far below what they present to recruit people, sadly.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CFIB / FCEI

23 June 2021
Thanks for sharing your comments on your time at CFIB. I'm pleased you recognize the important work of the organization in serving our 95,000 small business members. I agree that most of our members really do appreciate our work, but like in any group, there are those who may not. The role of the District Manager is to help our members and prospects better understand the ways a CFIB membership can benefit them. We can always do this better.As for the challenges you faced, I agree that the District Manager role is not for everyone. But we do have many DMs earning very strong incomes while doing incredibly meaningful work. Time management in following up on leads and membership renewals is a critical element of the job as we work to ensure our annual meetings with members are kept tight. It is not clear on when you left your CFIB position, but our new member presentation is far less scripted than in the past. We do ask District Managers to consistently present the benefits of belonging to CFIB in order to protect the integrity of the organization. But in recent years, we have encouraged our staff to share presentation this using largely their own words.Thanks for the constructive feedback – I wish you nothing but the best in the future. Dan Kelly, President and CEO

The best sales career available for unlimited earning potential if you have the discline, drive and determination to succeed.

I worked there for close to 10 years and it was by far the BEST career I have experienced and I expected to retire there. If you are driven, motivated, disciplined and can keep your eye on the ball and believe in the organizations' mandate - you will be supported to succeed.My reason for leaving - Management style changed - this is not a reflection of right or wrong, but it wasn't for me. I have many lifetime best friends from this career that are either no longer there, many for the same reason .... others who are still there and flourished to senior management roles as a direct result of their effort. Love you guys!CFIB is legit and is the leader in supporting privately owned SME's in Canada!

Pros

Unlmited earning potential

Cons

rejection for uncontrolled financial circumstances
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CFIB / FCEI

6 May 2021
Thanks so much for the note and your decade of service to our members and colleagues. I really appreciate your recognition of the many strengths of the organization, particularly the support our team provides to help all staff become successful. I took special note of your comments on the change in management style and how it has worked for some, but not for others. I’d be interested in learning more about this, so please don’t be shy to share any other observations. Again, thank you for your time at CFIB. I wish you nothing but the best in the future. Dan Kelly, President and CEO

Loved the job, compensation structure not in line with other companies.

I worked for CFIB for nearly 3 years. When I was hired I was lead to believe that after a year or so I would be making around $80,000 per year. Even during the pre-pandemic era, this was extremely difficult to do. The compensation structure and goals associated with it have not been adjusted to account for the pandemic, which has been gravely disappointing. Although I have managed to meet quarterly goals, business closures have led to claw backs of commission, leading to pay cheques that do not even cover my household expenses. The CEO is a wonderful man and my Direct supervisor was great, but I feel upper management could have done more to support us during the very difficult time of the pandemic. I will miss this position and my co-workers.

Pros

Great co-workers, independence, great hours, life-work balance

Cons

Poor compensation
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CFIB / FCEI

6 May 2021
Thanks for sharing this important message – I do take it very seriously. There is no question that COVID has had an impact on CFIB as we depend on independent businesses for nearly all of our organizational revenue. So many small firms have been struggling and some have been forced to close their doors. This has had an impact on all parts of CFIB’s operations, especially as we made the commitment to continue to serve members during COVID who were not in a position to pay our annual membership fee. Management understood the pandemic would have an impact on District Managers’ overall compensation – making bonuses more difficult to achieve. We worked hard to shore up field compensation to insulate staff as much as we could during the pandemic.But things really started to turn around in the fall of 2020, and incomes began to return closer to normal levels. A big part of this was the surge in new business membership sales in the fall, which was helped by our non-stop media profile. In the end, CFIB delivered nearly 15,000 new paying memberships to businesses across Canada. Thank you for the kind words about me. I really appreciate them and wish you the best in your next role. Dan Kelly, President and CEO

Employeur Exemplaire

Pour quelqu'un qui est organisé et structuré, c est l emplois parfait. On n a l opportunité de bien comprendre la réalité des propriétaires de PME tout en leurs offrant des ressources pour les aider. Il faut être prêt à faire du '' Cold Call '' pour le développement des affaires, mais c est ce qui nous permet de rencontrer des gens passionnés dans une multitude de domaines et ainsi éviter la routine. Excellente condition de travail, on a toutes les ressources accessibles au sein de l entreprise. Salaire très intéressant quand on rencontre nos objectifs. Plusieurs opportunités disponibles au sein même de l entreprise. Programme de reconnaissance et plus encore. Je suis fier de travailler pour cette organisation depuis plus d un an. Ca dépasse toutes mes attentes.

Pros

Salaire, avantages sociaux et excellent support de l entreprise

Cons

Cold Call, semaine chargée pour rencontrer l atteinte des objectifs
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CFIB / FCEI

21 May 2021
Quel gentil message! Merci beaucoup! J’apprécie sincèrement que vous ayez pris le temps de partager votre point de vue sur l’expérience que vous avez eue jusqu’à maintenant à la FCEI. Je suis tout à fait d’accord que c’est une entreprise formidable pour ceux qui sont organisés et structurés dans leur travail. Même si ce n’est pas toujours facile, à la FCEI, on peut avoir une carrière très enrichissante, tout particulièrement si on veut faire une différence sur le plan professionnel. Merci encore pour votre message. -Dan Kelly, président et chef de la direction

Great atmosphere, collaborative and great support

Working at CFIB has been an incredible experience. The director in the Calgary office works with great ethics, leadership and empathy. I constantly learn from her. My colleagues are always willing to reach out. The work environment is very healthy and harmonious, and I think that greatly helps productivity.Having started working at CFIB when COVID started showed me how an organization like this is constantly concerned about the mental well-being of the employee, knowing that empathy towards its employees generates empathy towards its members.It has been truly a blast working here.

Pros

Flexibility, great environment, great benefits.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CFIB / FCEI

19 March 2021
Thanks for the kind words. We are very lucky to have such terrific leadership in many of our regional offices, including in Calgary. We’ve worked hard to ensure we have a solid working environment for our team, especially during COVID. The work is definitely not easy, with so many of our members in need of our help. As it has been a stressful time for everyone, we’ve been happy to provide extra supports for our staff along the way. Thank you for taking the time to write.Dan Kelly, President and CEO

Environnement de travail axé sur le partage de connaissances.

Employeur de qualité qui a à coeur la réussite de chacun. Emploi stimulant au possible. Excellente équipe de gestion.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CFIB / FCEI

21 May 2021
Je vous remercie beaucoup pour vos compliments à l’égard de la FCEI. Il est vrai que la FCEI offre une expérience de travail intéressante et enrichissante. C’est justement ce qui explique que j’y sois depuis 27 ans. Vos gentils mots sur notre équipe de gestion me vont droit au cœur. Et vous avez raison : l’équipe de gestion est très efficace. -Dan Kelly, président et chef de la direction.

Belles valeurs

Une journée de travail typique est de parler à des proprios de PME et de faire connaître les avantages d'être membre.

Pros

Belle culture d'entreprise, belles valeurs qui s'alignent à mes valeurs. Tous les employés veulent aider, et aller dans le même sens, j'ai bien confiance que si un membre appelle, il sera servi de façon professionnelle, et sera satisfait.

Cons

Les PME sont trops occupées pour nous donner du temps, et découvrir la FCEI. Il faudrait trouver des façons de faire plus de publicité, faire connaître la FCEI lors du démarrage d'entreprise, etc.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CFIB / FCEI

25 March 2021
Merci pour vos précieux commentaires. Je suis ravi de voir que vos valeurs coïncident avec celles de la Fédération. En général, les personnes qui tiennent à faire une réelle différence dans la société s’épanouissent pleinement à la FCEI. Chaque jour, on peut être fier de l’aide que nous sommes en mesure d’apporter aux propriétaires de PME. Je suis d’accord pour dire que l’un des aspects les plus frustrants de notre travail soit qu’après 50 ans d’existence, de nombreux propriétaires d’entreprise ne savent toujours pas ce que nous faisons. Cela dit, nous arrivons mieux à nous faire connaître. Cette année, la FCEI a été mentionnée 75 000 fois dans les médias grâce au travail que nous avons fait durant la pandémie. Cela a amélioré notre visibilité dans tout le pays. Sachez que vos idées d’améliorations à ce niveau sont toujours les bienvenues.Dan Kelly, Président et chef de la direction.

Interesting...challenging...exciting work

Upper management unrealistic with target setting and expectations Especially during pandemic crisis Focus on new business far too strong consequently harming solidifying and servicing existing business. Thus making renewal process more challenging...Paid expenses too weak and minimal to be of benefit Gas allowance drastically lacking on personal vehicle use

Pros

Working and traveling with General managers.

Cons

Compensation value vs productivity insufficient
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CFIB / FCEI

12 February 2021
Thanks for the review and comments. I completely agree that the work at CFIB is interesting, challenging and exciting – this year especially. I just completed a round of Zoom meetings with all of our District Managers across English Canada and was so pleased to hear how proud our team is with the work of the Federation in serving small business owners.During the pandemic, we took many measures to enhance the earning capacity of our District Managers, despite the challenges COVID presented to our overall membership revenue. I am pleased to report that we also managed to avoid any short-term layoffs as well. But 2020 was a challenging year for us all, particularly our small business owner members who had to endure many months of lockdowns in most regions across Canada.New business growth is indeed a priority for us at CFIB. In fact, last year, almost 15,000 businesses made the decision to join CFIB with a paying membership during the pandemic. I can tell you that we have never had this many business owners calling us to inquire about our services as we have over the past 10 months during COVID. I do appreciate your feedback on our compensation and expense policies. We are constantly reviewing ways to ensure we make CFIB a great place to work for strong performers. Thanks again for sharing your perspectives. Dan Kelly, President and CEO

Good organization but reps paid poorly

Very difficult to make a decent living. If you have a side gig and need freedom it's great. Compensation for District manager is very complex and difficult to understand. Prepare to cold call your butt off!!

Pros

Freedom, make your own schedule

Cons

Very small base, poor auto expenses
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CFIB / FCEI

12 February 2021
Thanks for the note. I agree that the flexibility of the District Manager role is one of its many strong features. But it would be a mistake to look at the role as a part-time job or a side gig. The DM job is a challenging, full-time position and those who look at it this way make a very solid income.CFIB is working hard to provide more and better quality leads as well as improving and simplifying our compensation and sales dashboards. Again, I appreciate your feedback along the way.Dan Kelly, President and CEO

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CFIB / FCEI. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 59 reviews

Ratings by category

4.0 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.3 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.1 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.7 out of 5 stars for Management
3.6 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare CFIB / FCEI with

  • Companies
  • CFIB / FCEI
  • Employee reviews