Centrica Employee Reviews

Found 21 reviews matching the search See all 1,249 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 June 2018
The hours are good and flexible
Pay and benefits were ok and competive within the market
Safety standards is very good
Fleet vehicles well taken care of
Management lacked knowledge of industry
Office staff very negative unsupportive and only there to keep chairs warm very unsupportive.
Field techs are very good and knowledable
Change took to long and suggestions were ignored
Hiring process takes a month or so to actually start work
Work quality not supportive all about high pressure sales
Expect way more out of a person then what the person is paid to do
Work culture not good
Pros
Safety and fleet excellent
Cons
Unsupportive
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very sad
Gas plant operator (Former Employee) –  Edson, AB10 November 2017
Most profitable area was ran into ground by the incompetent management. Don't let the sale of Canadian assets to canlin fool you, it's still the same terrible managers working there, that gas field is doomed until management changes. Just a different name on the sign now. Worst company I have ever worked for in my entire adult life.
Pros
Literally none
Cons
Managers. Pay. Childish way of managing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
HSE and Emergency Response Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 October 2017
Strong management team with a solid HSE culture.
Typically 8 hour shifts with some overtime required when needed.
Strong management team who care about their employees
Pros
Pay, HSE commitment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive with a very adequate drive
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Southampton, PE29 June 2017
Fantastic work life balance
equal opportunity employers
fair enough package
diverse range of workers
internal opportunities
friendly staff
some envious and unfriendly staff
good training packages
team leaders were always very encouraging even if they didn't mean it
team bonding time
freebies
very rewarding
Pros
training, internal opportunities, equal opportunity employers, work life balance
Cons
strictness at lunch break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Joint Venture Accountant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 May 2017
I enjoyed working at Centrica Energy. I was able to apply my creative style to improve many processes during the Suncor acquisition. This was the most enjoyable part of the job. The workplace structure of an open concept was challenging to concentrate. I adapted and continued to perform very well.
Pros
Freedom to Create
Cons
Systems needed to be adapted to the new business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work with great people to work with.
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Edson, AB22 May 2017
Typical gas plant with routine checks and standard practices. The people are great and plant safety is extremely high.This is a great learning facility with all kinds of things to learn.
Pros
free ride to work
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Operations Improvement Lead (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 October 2016
Excellent place to work, Great leadership that encourages employees to learn and take risks. They promote within and will coach there employees to excel. Unfortunately up for sale.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Currently up for sale
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quite Innovative
Senior java developer (Former Employee) –  20 Rathbone place london13 October 2016
Alertme/BGCH was a amazing place to prove your skills and quite innovative as we dealt with home automation products. There was a good life and work balance with occasional pressure of demos.
Pros
Quite innovative and friendly environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging a differnt on a daily basis
Intervention OIM (Current Employee) –  Offshore East Irish Sea1 June 2016
My typical day involves flying via helicopter to a remote gas platform to conduct planned and preventative maintenance

I manage a team of multi disciplined Technicians during a 12hr day

I work well with my team and we have a strong bond which helps create a great work ethic

The hardest part of my job is working 14 days continual sometimes stretching to 14hrs

My most enjoyable part of the job is working with a great team and keeping the Gas flowing from the platforms.
Pros
Pension and SIP share scheme
Cons
Working away from home for 14 Days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor culture.
Project Manager, Infrastructure (contract) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 May 2016
Decent work, but not much of an environment. The culture was poor and the working conditions were also very poor.

No privacy in the minimalist open cubicle and glass wall environment.

There are definitely better places to work.
Pros
Decent pay.
Cons
Poor working conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 9Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning experience and friends made
Pigging/ Operator (Current Employee) –  Edson, AB12 March 2016
i really enjoyed my job on a day to day basis. from the beautiful landscapes that i had the pleasure of working in, too the cooperation and guidance of fellow co workers. i learned a lot about the transportation of natural gas and oil through pipelines and facilities. i would say the hardest part of my job was working in highly dangerous atmospheres with h2s gases. i try to learn as much as i can in any surrounding. the only thing someone can never steal from you is your knowledge. in which in this state of employment i reached my limit of learning and advancement, which is the reasoning for my search for something new and exciting.
Pros
great schedule. benefits. landscape
Cons
dangerous gases. no room for expanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company in Canada
Service Desk Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 March 2016
Everything is great about the company minus the control that Centrica UK had over operations and ultimately caused lay offs due to decisions despite Canada being cash flow positive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is under experienced for the times
Operations Super. - Wildcat Hills Gas Plant (Former Employee) –  Cochrane, AB25 February 2016
Oil and gas price took the fun out of this company. Safety and well beingof employees and contractors was always paramount.
Pros
Technically challenging
Cons
Oil and gas price
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Centrica Canada highly recommended.
Senior Buyer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 February 2016
There is a myriad of talent at Centrica that enjoys collaboration and keep things simple to get the job done.

Most of the noxious personnel inherited during takeover from Suncor is gone, and the remaining people is good to work with.

Good work life balance.
Pros
Most of the people is nice to work with
Cons
Centrica Canada will sell all its assets; conditions may change with new management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work,
Manager HSE/Operations (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 November 2015
I enjoyed my time at Centrica working with a great group of people. There is lots of room for advancement and opportunities to relocate to Europe.
Pros
Great People
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Millwright (Former Employee) –  Cochrane, AB26 October 2015
great place to work
would go back in a second if I could
great people
clean and safe place to work
management could be a little stronger and define roles better
work place had a lot of changes since Centrica took over (formerly Petro Canada/Suncor Energy)
Pros
great pay, close to home
Cons
economy caused a staff reduction which I was a part of
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Actual employee from Canada and not from UK
Accountant (Current Employee) –  Calgary30 October 2014
Over the last 2 years multiple employees including two long term VP's have left this organization. Turn over is high and there are questions as to why they are not paying their vendors on time.
Do yourself a favour and investigate fully before taking any position within this organization. The Canadian company makes all of the money for the organization but was recently partially sold to Qatar.
Most people I know are looking for positions elsewhere right now.
Pros
We receive flex days each month
Cons
Hr
Was this review helpful?Yes 57No 9Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Learning experience
Joint Venture Contracts Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 August 2014
Centrica is a great company to work for, there's lot of opportunity to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Nuclear Commercial Manager (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ENG1 January 2014
Great Place to work. Strong focus on learning and development of the teams.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 8Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1st Job Expierence
Pricing and Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Oxford, UK25 June 2013
Worked part time for approx 6 months while studying in UK towards my masters degree. my supervisor was very helpful and taught be everything from scratch.

The co-workers were also friendly and helpful.

Pros
common room was well equiped
Cons
none that i can identify
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Centrica reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Centrica. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,249 reviews
5398
4412
3271
286
182

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture