Centre for Newcomers Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and learn
LINC/ESL Instructor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 April 2019
Fun place to work with students that are open to free discussion on different issues affecting immigrants. Management also listens to employees' inputs. I learned teamwork here. We collaborate in creating modules and lesson plans. the most enjoyable part is taking students on field trips.
I love the level of formality at this work place, for example, wearing name tag, formal dress except during Calgary Stampede week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 February 2019
It's an interesting place to work, with lots going on. I enjoy meeting and working with people from all different cultures, but it can also be difficult sometimes. I don't find there is a lot of job security - due to it being nonprofit and funding dependant.
Pros
Holiday lunch events, friendly people
Cons
lack of job security, disorganized, lot's of unnecessary staff parties, last minute planning
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for Volunteer work, but not much else.
Mentor (Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 December 2018
I have volunteered with them for over three years as a mentor for at-risk youth. While the volunteer work was fulfilling, they expected you to be fully responsible for all the expenses required to meet the youth at their homes, as well as the events.

I thought I would at least get a better shot at career opportunities with how much time I've dedicated with them, but even when I referred job posting to my manager, he did not make the effort to help me in the application process.

Only volunteer there if you really do care about immigrant youth and have the money to pay on events and transport expenses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounts payable, Excel, Coding, Filing, Sorting, and other administrative tasks
Accounts Payable Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 September 2018
I enjoyed working at the Centre for Newcomers. I got to meet with professionals working together toward a common goal. It was like a family there. I would like to recommend Centre for Newcomers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Assistant Language Instructor (Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 January 2018
I have served at Centre for Newcomers as a volunteer.
It has been a very good experience working with the staff there.
They lend free services to all the new immigrants and provide with full support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Settlement Practitioner (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 August 2017
Every day new learning experience.
I learned peoples skills.
Supportive management
Excellent workplace culture.
Meeting clients is most part of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of variety in culture
Full-time Participant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 June 2017
Full-time participant, learned lots of job skills from basic to essential. all very important to me. Learned lot about the Canadian work force and culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversity of staff
Career Practitioner (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 March 2017
It is a nice environment for people who appreciate diversity as there are people from different countries, religions, races, etc. There is a spirit of service to the clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place for newcomers from across the world
Career Development Job Search Services (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 May 2015
best place to get started for new job in Calgary for newcomers.Provide help to get jobs and help to learn new things and achieve our goal
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multicultural
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 May 2015
Answering and forwarding phone calls
Manage client relationship and answer clients’ questions
Assure high standard and quality of service
Elevate customers satisfaction by investigating and solving complains
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and got some experience
Tax preparer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 January 2015
Enjoyed working with different colleagues. The most thing I liked was preparing tax for my clients.
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace Environment and opportunity to work with multicultural staff
Administrative Support Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 January 2014
The Center is open from 8:30 am to 4:30 pm walk in services are available for immigrants looking for settlement counselor and Career counselor upon appointment.
Co- workers are very helpful and knowledgeable about services available in the center and out.

The hardest part of the job sometimes is language barrier when a client walk in and they are not able to communicate in English and sometimes we do not speak the same mother language as the client.

I enjoy seeing the clients leaving the Center satisfied with services provided.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet new people from different cultures and values
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 May 2013
Volunteering with centre for newcomers was really entertaining and it was really good experience to know people from different backgrounds. I learned about their life and situation they are going through and if they need help. I loved volunteering with centre for newcomers.
Pros
Multicultural
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to wrok with
Youth Practitioner (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 May 2013
Helping youth and families
Culturally sensitive place
The food is excellent
Pros
Very good food
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Centre for Newcomers. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 15 reviews
57
44
32
20
12

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
4.2Culture

Centre for Newcomers Reviews by Location