Centerplate Employee Reviews

Found 39 reviews matching the search See all 990 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Couldn't get more than 20 hours a week
Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB11 February 2019
Other people were getting over 60 hours a week. I was begging to get more than 3 days, I ended up quitting to work another job so I could pay my bills. They came in and too over our kitchen at the local Sports arena, I was 40 hours a week before they came in, after they came in I was less than 20, they've ruined the kitchen's reputation for quality and quantity buffets, more often than not they will run out of food during an event, and then blame the staff, who were just following the managers directions, while the manager washes his hands of any wrongdoings. They also changed the quality of the meat we served and attempted to introduce a new fancy menu even after being told the people in this area want roast beef on a bun, not some fancy thing that takes up 1/4 of the plate and doesn't fill you up. This company is going to sink the kitchen they took over in my city.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok part time job
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 November 2018
Hours are good in season otherwise not great. Commission is good though when working. Unfortunately the company favours employees through much nepotism. hard to move up in the company and get adequate shifts sometimes because of this. Cuts off a lot of opportunities for progression.
Pros
Half off some products
Cons
Nepotism
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS6 October 2018
We get to see the hockey games right in front of our eyes and a lot more other big shows that happening in the city. The only pressure we get was when the gates open and at the time of the interval, so that was pretty fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace with food
Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC25 September 2018
The work was pretty good, I had someone to help me when I did not know what to do, the management was good, the job is quite exausting but I could know some people and they were very friendly
Pros
free dinner
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer to work for
Banquet Captain (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL6 August 2018
The most enjoyable part is getting to meet new people all the time.

You can Work as much as you can and want.

Management is excellent. There is no hard part of this job, its all fun.

If you have an eye for appeal then this job is for you, its all about eye appeal and making the customers happy.
Pros
Free Lunches and Gadgets
Cons
No Parking downtown
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, variety of staff
Concession Worker (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC20 February 2018
Working at centerplate is a great experience. It has allowed me the opertunity to meet many interesting staff members, and be apart of a team. The shifts for a stand worker are not very consistent, however the work place environment is supportive and fun.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Unpredictable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work at
Concesson cook (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 February 2018
I enjoyed working there but there was the odd time where I didn't.i would definitely work there again if I got the chance. The people that work there are nice and friendly and take care of the customers whenever they need anything
Pros
Make new friends
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place to work in
Food and Beverage Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 January 2018
Over all fun place to work.some times hard but coworkers are awesome. Couldn't ask for anything better out of a work place . The mangment team tat bell mts place is one of if not the best I have ever worked for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
concession stand environment
Concession beer server/cashier (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC21 December 2017
its great the first break is paid, if i bet an amazing stand leader i get longer breaks and get to leave earlier they are awesome when i make a mistake
Pros
free lunches and paid breaks
Cons
some people i dont get along with it but im surviving through it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
some great people, management is useless
Bartender/Stand leader (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB7 December 2017
theres so much potential to make working for centerplate a great experience, but if the long standing managers continue to just screw up everything they do as they have been for 10 years, then nothing will ever change. there have been some great people to work with over the years, but there have been more useless, unmotivated, incompetent ones. management doesnt care about the employee, doesnt take constructive criticism well, and doesnt think anything through in the way of new products and booth layout. training of new staff is very poor, burden is pushed onto existing staff to train new people.
Pros
seeing events for free
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
DECK SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 November 2017
Centerplate is a great company to work for, sometimes can be a little unorganized, but is an all around great experience. They have lots of staff so they can easily accommodate for any days that you cannot work, and will get the work schedule out for up to a month in advance.
Pros
Discounted meals, great staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced
Hawker (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB6 November 2017
Extremely good management, Fast paced environment and easy communication with the manager. Constantly moving around and doing things. Great energy between all staff.
Pros
Flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN workplace and very easy
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB5 November 2017
My boss was a very mean person so I had to quit but overall great learning experience. a lot of the time I was standing doing nothing which also why I did not like it. I like to keep busy
Pros
Free food
Cons
Disrespectful coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work
Food and Beverage Server/Bartender (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON23 October 2017
Every shifts have a variety of responsibilities. Its been fun working there as you can assume a lot of roles, from retail to bartending to catering to serving, etc.
Pros
Free food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Cook/ concession lead (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC10 October 2017
Great management. medium paced environment. Great security in job. As long as you have a degree there is always room for advancement. overall awesome place to work for
Pros
free lunches uniform
Cons
no benefits since there is no real fulltime position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work for a first time.
Concession Cashier (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC14 March 2017
No training and more like a trial thru fire. However, the head cashier was nice and willing to walk me through it. This is a decent place to work, Break room is cramped at all events.
Pros
Free lunch, coworkers are great and friendly.
Cons
Not enough hours, no employee discounts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Flexible hours
Cashier/Stand Leader (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB29 December 2016
It is a fun job to meet new people every time you work, and the hours you work are really flexible as you pick and choose the shifts you want to take.
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy laid back work environment,
Cashier/Server/Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB30 September 2016
It's easy as h*ll to work here. A typical day has like 3 rushes during the games and when it's not busy you can chill with some pretty cool fellow employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best part time job out there.
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC26 August 2016
Show up a couple hours before the event would begin.Get your stand set up and your stations prepped up. Doors open and you serve people till the event starts, it's quiet for a while. Half time is insane but you get through it, you clean up and you go home. after the event ends.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
dealing with thousands of people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, Fun,
Concession Worker (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC5 August 2016
I enjoy working at center plate because we have a fun, hardworking environment. I learned a lot about hard work and dedication to your job while working at center plate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Centerplate. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 990 reviews
5350
4339
3190
263
148

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture