CEDA Employee Reviews

Found 131 reviews matching the search See all 209 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant summer job!
Field Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB7 September 2018
CEDA's management team is very well structured with ethically minded caring individuals who strive for excellence. This is a job I was sad to leave due to the perfectly crafted sense of comradery and great pay! These jobs pay generously and have in built over time which for an international student provides an opportunity to save and better their financial standing in a relatively small space of time. CEDA provides off/on-site training which I am truly grateful for! They invest in you before you have given them first hand reason to. This is a company that I am proud to have worked for.
Pros
Great pay, Good people, Supplied training
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic culture
Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB3 October 2018
this is one review that deserves the option of negative star rating. The mismanagement of this company starts at the top with corrupt leadership. The management team lie to the owners and shareholders, they lie to the customers to win the work and finally the workers suffer as a consequence of these poor actions. Safety incidents are covered up. its your fault when the project fails. you won’t be paid on time and if you complain your fired.
Pros
leaving
Cons
toxic
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a experience
Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Bonnyville, AB26 March 2018
Unfortunately this company is not going to receive any high praise as being a outstanding company to work for. With many years of work for them they care more about the $ amount that a employee will work for then the actual skills that they can bring forward. Management was horrible with no understanding how to execute their job. One of the lowest paying outfits around right now does not make this a company anyone really wants to work with or for given the workmanship they attract.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good people on site
Operator (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB24 October 2018
all sites that I've been to with ceda the people have been amazing, the management in the office needs to be more prepaid for all the work that gets done, and the people they got to keep track of
Pros
good people to work with, paid flights from NL with camp
Cons
low hourly wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old boys club
Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB7 June 2018
Ceda is definitely a old boys club. If you’re not friends with foremans or management you will not advance. Ceda management at Syncrude treats their employees,especially shutdown workers really bad. They don’t care about you, you’re only a number who can be replaced. Do not get sick and miss work or they will hold it against you. The trucks they use is so worn out and unsafe,they shouldn’t be allowed to use them. I recommend to stay away from this company.
Pros
Flights and accommodations paid for
Cons
Management. Away from home months at a time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lost when it comes to management
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Conklin, AB25 May 2018
When you fire someone without cause and tell them that they just don't, 'fit in" - that's not a company who cares about their employees... oh wait - I was a laborer ... not a driver. So of course I am replaceable and treated like dirt. The only way you might want to stay with this organisation is if you have a class one license , then they would treat you much better!

So if you are a laborer .... AVOID.

If you are a truck driver, they will treat you a bit better because they need you.
Pros
work away from home
Cons
mismanagement - shortage of pickups to use
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB2 July 2018
Unless you are management you don’t mean nothing.
Was told over and over they needed operators forn14-14 while I was working with them. But speak to mangers there is nothing available. Different sorry if your related to or friends with management.
Pros
Paid training
Cons
Not knowing when your done at all, terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
vac truck water truck driver (Former Employee) –  Conklin, AB24 October 2018
ceda is big company but they treat me good. every day is different becuase the plant we work at is flat out and i gets good hours and has fun and we all has a laugh when we working. i like my bosses and the boys except for 1 but he dont matter good place to work
Pros
good hours good camp
Cons
no flights 1 boss is arrsehole and sometimes hours to long
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved to work there
Lead Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Conklin, AB24 October 2018
I did enjoy working there however, some of the supervisors were not easy to deal with. Especially when you as a qualified mechanic tried to reason with them. Costs seemed to be the only thing they understand and some of them weren't good at that.
Pros
Flights and accomodations
Cons
Very little care about their best assets, people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked overtime
Project Administrator (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK7 June 2018
good pay for overtime, hours were too long away from home a lot no family time off, no chance for advancement, staff were hard to work with, a lot of turn around in staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clicky
Chemical cleaning supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 November 2018
if u weren't part of the boys clubs and spoke ur mind u were outed reguardless if it was for safey or anything there for just follow the line don't ask question company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive great place to work
Driver Operator Supervisor Fork lift Operator (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB11 May 2017
A typical day pre trip Units on site Tool box meeting and designate
tasks to trained personnel,Review Safety procedure and begin Work.
I have learned ,The process in making fuel the dangers of H2s
and other gasses and above all else Safety takes Priority in any work place.
Management was always willing to help no matter
what the issue,weather it was personnel or professional.
Work Place Culture ,very high on safety,concerned every one goes home after work,family oriented.
Hardest part of the day usually during winter on a 12 or 14 hour shift combating the cold.The enjoyable part of the day usually lunch time,having conversations with my crew.
Pros
Free lunches and BBQs
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB9 November 2016
Ceda offers decent pay and benefit packages , but they do not make up for the lack of job security, the fact Ceda has no loyalty to its employees( you are just a number) and it's inferior leaders.
Ceda is lead by the most incompetent management team I have ever experienced , there is constant petty bickering between managers at all levels ,they are self serving and one-upping each other seems to take president over running the company.
Ceda had difficulty turning a profit when times were good, now with the economic down turn I feel they are doomed - avoid this company unless you simply need to use it as a stepping stone to a career in a company with a better future .
Pros
Pay, Benefits and work/life balance
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB8 June 2018
great people to work with, safety was great, learned how to work safe, be efficient, management was good. i liked that it was fast paced and the days went quick
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro Management
Low on the totem pole (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 April 2018
Not all departments were like this but when it was it was horrible. Would never recommend to work here unless you are in the oil field. Work life balance was non existent
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere to work in and all the people were great to work with
GENERAL FOREMAN /SUPERINTENDENT (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB1 June 2018
The overall support from the Calgary office could improve in terms of support where resources are required. Jobs are successful starting at the top and working down to the bottom. They could definitely provide more support for the construction end where I was working. Maybe it is different on other job sites.
Pros
Good pay for where the job was stationed
Cons
Working away from home for long periods of time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please read
Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 April 2013
CEDA is a good company to work for, great benefits @ 100%. They do pay less than everyone else in this field but they have created a performance plan that does give you up to a 3% raise every year, but has only just started this. Upper management hasn't a clue what actually is going on in the field and is extremely strict to the rules. If they want you fired, they will undoubtedly find any reason to fire you. They will tell you reporting incidents no matter how big or small wont get you fired, but it will get you fired. Site supervisors and workers in the field are great, they will help you if you need help. Supervisors will ask you to break policies and procedures, DO NOT DO THIS no matter what.
Pros
overtime, benefits, local work
Cons
management, no life, long hour's
Was this review helpful?Yes 62No 13Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most unprofessional company in Fort McMurray
Operator 2 (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray10 February 2018
Between the lie, poor equipment underpaid worker, lack of common sense and complete regard for safety its hard to find anything positive to say about ceda.

They lack professionalism, will take any contract without the proper equipment, know how or man power to do the job.

All the equipment is in poor condition some even dangerous to use, any complain or remarks will get you dismissed.

Most of the time they don't have PPE at hand and will put the blame on the workers.

Call other business unit on-site, ask about their experience with ceda before signing any contract with them.
Pros
Hard to find any
Cons
List is extremely long
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work for newbies
Operator 1 (Current Employee) –  Conklin, AB9 June 2017
Ceda had good benefits some guys that know stuff but most of the management well lets just say no clue.
Some people that should be supervisors are operators and people that are supervisors have no back bone and don't stand up to management when things are needed like mecanics, parts, extra staff, and extra equipment because a contract they got awarded obviously they thought was a joke or took very lightly and don't plan or think ahead.
Pros
Decent pay, benefits, schedule
Cons
Management, supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They pay for flight and camp
Dredge/Pump Operator (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB21 August 2014
Have learned alot about the oil sands industry and how to run a dredge and pumps. Have not been to impressed with the way management handles the employees, and how the information from management is withheld. Such as job security and wage and flight changes. Hardest part of my job is making sure new operators learn equipment properly and that they preform their jobs according to Shell standards. I enjoy meeting new people and learning new things. The only thing is I was hired for my heavy equipment experience and have only run a loader for a few days. I miss it.
Pros
camp and all the amenities are amazing
Cons
low moral among staff due to job insecurity
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CEDA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 210 reviews
570
455
351
219
115

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture