CBC/Radio-Canada Employee Reviews

Found 109 reviews matching the search See all 113 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing culture, friendly people, open-door policy, but low salary and zero freebies.
Senior Developer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 December 2018
Let me get the negatives out of the way:
-much lower salaries than comparable positions with other companies
-no free lunch (literally)
-no Christmas dinners
-no parties
-no snacks
-no coffee makers anywhere
-massive salary deductions (beyond taxes and EI)

Positives:
-very friendly atmosphere
-every manager has open-door policy
-employee's input is valued
-regular employee satisfaction surveys
-many (free) opportunities for training
-some departments have 20% policy - use 1 day a week for education, self-improvement, or other work, not directly related to your current tasks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 November 2018
A great company to work for. We supported the internal applications and infrastructure. We supported Canada wide which meant the responsibilities were larger and also increased the experience among the support teams.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love CBC
Master Control Switcher (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 October 2018
Productive and fun and fair workplace.
Work life balance, excellent communications, best place to learn.
Excellent diversity, it is the oldest TV and Radio station in the country. CBC is Canadians Voice.
Pros
Many Pros to mention
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bonne ambiance
Technicienne vidéo pour Mtl en fête (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC16 October 2018
Équipe agréable, professionnelle et méthodique
bon salaire
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hands-on experience
Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC18 September 2018
Gained hands-on experience in the newsroom. Good for journalism graduates looking to get experience in radio journalism. Lots of experienced journalists on hand.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multiple opportunities,comparatively well resourced, good start point
Supervisor/Field Operations (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 September 2018
National multi-platform media organization with foreign bureaus. Classic media morphing to on-line
Strong moves to digital presence on web and social media. Technology progressive.
Generally people care and strive to do good work. Time and event driven. Adaptability an asset.
Good employee benefits. Good place for multi-skilled self starters.
Pros
varied media opportunities
Cons
24/7 operations means variable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB3 September 2018
Working as an Ambassador for one of the best public companies in Canada is something very challenging and fun. Every shift we have a different role to play in different kind of events.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respectful environment
Associate Producer in Sports (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 August 2018
Working at CBC was a great experience, the work was fun for me because I get to do my passion which is working in Sports. The hardest part of the job is sometimes you have to work fast when things pile up but that's easy for me because it's what I love doing.
Pros
You get to watch sports
Cons
You might not like the sport but still has to do it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Belle place pour le travail
Technicien-coordonnateur (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC12 August 2018
Cafétéria, excellents collègues, quarts pas trop long, bons avantages sociaux, assurances
Pros
La durée des quarts de travail
Cons
Temporaire pendant longtemps.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail agreable
service du courrier (Former Employee) –  montreal26 July 2018
bonne place pour travailler, super condition de travail
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
English news desk.
On-air script assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC23 July 2018
Started as an observer till a training spot opened which allowed me to graduate to script assistant in the Sports segment of Newswatch with Dennis Trudeau. I learned everything about packaging a 6 to 8 minute segment that would fit the 6 pm show and the 11pm show. My experience in film helped a lot when editing the material that we covered. Just a terrific place to work.
Pros
Great team spirit
Cons
very very stressful, you need nerves of steel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Une belle place pour travailler
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC17 July 2018
Bel environnement de travail, salaire décent, bonne conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Belle reconnaissance
Chargée de compte Télévision, Solutions Médias (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC16 July 2018
Vendredi pm en congé et un bel environneement où travailler et évoluer
Pros
Beaucoup avantages sociaux
Cons
Stationnement dispendieux
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement très agréable.
Comédien (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC9 June 2018
J'ai beaucoup apprécié y travailler.

Je me suis senti respecté et apprécié.
Pros
Cafétéria
Cons
On n'y voit pas la lumière du jour.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Work Experience
CBC, the national broadcaster for the Olympic (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 May 2018
Worked as a shotlister for the 2018 Winter Olympics, lots of overnight shifts but a good crew and positive mindset kept everyone focused and on top of things.
Pros
Food provided
Cons
Overnight Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work environment - Good Pay
Electronics Technician (Former Employee) –  Toronto, Ontario, Canada2 May 2018
Serviced TV Studios, repairing Equipment in Shop. Fellow Employees were great and helpful to work with/
Management was helpful and guided employees on training and advancement.
Enjoyed working here
Pros
Pay Good - Work Environment good
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, stimulating, fun
Radio Intern (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 March 2018
The CBC is a great place to cut your teeth. I interned in the Network Talk division, and was given the opportunity to polish my current media skills as well as develop new ones under the guidance of employees who were more than happy to lend a helping hand and deliver constructive criticism as I went.
Pros
People, work culture, work standards
Cons
Depending on department, some slow office days
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Canadian Cultural Beacon slowly fading.
Administrative Specialist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 March 2018
If you've ever wonder what working on the digital equivalent of a factory assembly line is, then you have to look no further than Administrative Support at the CBC.

The people are fantastic and everyone really cares about Canadian culture and entertainment but sadly as more and more people turn to the internet for entertainment, fewer and fewer are watching scheduled broadcast content through traditional means. Larger, private companies have colossal budgets by comparison which makes competing for broadcast contacts and licenses extremely difficult for the once great public broadcaster.

If you want a job for the next 25 years, you can have it at the CBC, you will however be a dull, empty husk of a human being long before you reach the end.
Pros
likely a job for life
Cons
the most boring job for life
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great newsroom
Journalist (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC12 March 2018
CBC is a great place to work. It's a stimulating newsroom. It's a place filled with very smart and funny people who are trying to make a difference in this world by informing the public with the highest journalistic standards.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive. Expert team to learn from.
SENIOR WRITER (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 February 2018
This was easily one of the best jobs I've ever held. Great team atmosphere provided ample opportunity and welcome atmosphere to learn in. I felt a lot of pride working for the national broadcaster, and I would return to work here any time an opportunity became available.
Pros
Great health care package
Cons
Some long hours, but not unreasonable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CBC/Radio-Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 113 reviews
542
440
324
25
12

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.8Culture