CBC/Radio-Canada Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, stimulating, fun
Radio Intern (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 March 2018
The CBC is a great place to cut your teeth. I interned in the Network Talk division, and was given the opportunity to polish my current media skills as well as develop new ones under the guidance of employees who were more than happy to lend a helping hand and deliver constructive criticism as I went.
Pros
People, work culture, work standards
Cons
Depending on department, some slow office days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Canadian Cultural Beacon slowly fading.
Administrative Specialist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 March 2018
If you've ever wonder what working on the digital equivalent of a factory assembly line is, then you have to look no further than Administrative Support at the CBC.

The people are fantastic and everyone really cares about Canadian culture and entertainment but sadly as more and more people turn to the internet for entertainment, fewer and fewer are watching scheduled broadcast content through traditional means. Larger, private companies have colossal budgets by comparison which makes competing for broadcast contacts and licenses extremely difficult for the once great public broadcaster.

If you want a job for the next 25 years, you can have it at the CBC, you will however be a dull, empty husk of a human being long before you reach the end.
Pros
likely a job for life
Cons
the most boring job for life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great newsroom
Journalist (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC12 March 2018
CBC is a great place to work. It's a stimulating newsroom. It's a place filled with very smart and funny people who are trying to make a difference in this world by informing the public with the highest journalistic standards.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive. Expert team to learn from.
SENIOR WRITER (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 February 2018
This was easily one of the best jobs I've ever held. Great team atmosphere provided ample opportunity and welcome atmosphere to learn in. I felt a lot of pride working for the national broadcaster, and I would return to work here any time an opportunity became available.
Pros
Great health care package
Cons
Some long hours, but not unreasonable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
J'adore les tache demander
Assistante gérante coopérative des employées (Current Employee) –  Montréal-Est, QC30 January 2018
malheureuse la coopérative est en déficits donc zéro avancement moi j aime les nouveau défi
Pros
horraire
Cons
pas d'avancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Réseau
Chef communications régionales (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC21 January 2018
Radio-Canada est une famille qui perdure dans le temps et qui offre une vie complète
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate culture
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 December 2017
Corporate culture with strong possibilities to advance a career in a mixed environment. Rewards good relationships with colleagues and supervisors by way of promotions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bien payé mal traité
COMÉDIEN (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC13 December 2017
Bousculé par la production, les journées sont longues et demandantes. Par contre, le salaire est très haut.
Pros
Bon salaire
Cons
Demandant
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sports Announcer
Morning Show Operator/Technician (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON9 November 2017
Used software to edit audio clips to appropriate times for radio broadcast. Connected telephone interview participants to live radio. Read sports scores every hour.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of learning oppurtunities
Event Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 October 2017
I volunteered for 16 hours at their Kids Day event, and they gave me an opportunity to work with new people and learn new skills necessary in the work field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 October 2017
no advancement opportunity
very bureaucratic
good pension, decent benefits
some areas are really forward thinking, fun and innovative
many areas stale, dated with old processes
dictator "fear based" style management
blames union for anything that is "wrong" with the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beaucoup de turbulences due aux nombreux changements technologiques
Realisateur terrain à l'information (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC2 October 2017
Il faut beaucoup d'ajustements pour travailler à Radio-Canada la technologie change à la vitesse grand V, n'y voyait pas de jus de mots avec la compétition maintenant il faut incapable de travailler avec des outils très performant et à la vitesse de l'éclair
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to work
Sales (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 September 2017
From where Canada’s been to where we’re going together, CBC/Radio-Canada is there, informing, enlightening and entertaining, sharing Canada’s journey step by step, day by day, with the news, content and commentary and culture that Canadians need today, tomorrow and in the future.
Pros
Overtime
Cons
Overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsupportive environment, internal politics difficult to navigate
Reporter, Editor (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS7 September 2017
I was hired under the pretense that the job would continue full-time. However, internal politics and pre-judgements made it impossible to navigate the system. I was hired by a new manager who has little to no experience managing people. He had trouble maintaining a neutral, open workplace environment. Others within the organization passed judgement and he trusted them without giving me the benefit of the doubt and the opportunity to defend myself. There were questions about my ability to do the job, but when asked for specifics and why the trust and respect was absent, he was unable to answer the question. Instead, he took the word of others whom he'd work with for a long time at face value. I was promised full-time work, and suddenly the work dried up and I was forced to ask for a lay-off notice. This allowed me to collect employment insurance while looking for a job.
Pros
Salary and benefits
Cons
toxic work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture, great company
Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 August 2017
The CBC is everything you would expect from our public broadcaster and more. It's a pleasure to come into work each morning with staff who care about their job, our content, our culture and our brand.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
BI Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 July 2017
Even though they lack processes but good place to work. Management was easily accessible and appreciative. I loved working at this place. Very hard working people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with strong support.
2016 Summer Olympic Games Edit Suite Producer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 July 2017
The CBC is one of the most professional work environments I have ever been a part of. The management is direct and goals are clear. The challenge is keeping up with changing technology while the most enjoyable factor is always having the necessary resources to complete the tasks at hand.
Pros
Good compensation
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Virage bureaucratique contrôlé de Toronto
Réalisateur Solutions Media (Former Employee) –  Maison de Radio-Canada11 July 2017
Bonne chance les amis! Peut-être qu'un jour cette entreprise retrouvera sa vision sa vigueur et son implication culturelle qui ont fait ses plus grands succés
Pros
Bassin de gens professionnels et impliqués
Cons
Entreprise court-circuitée politiquement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avis Receptionniste
Receptionist - Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 May 2017
Emploi très pertinent ayant aidé à l'enrichissement de l'expérience en tant que réceptionniste et agent de sécurité d'une édifice importante logeant CBC-Radio Canada et le Sénat du Canada.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very political working environment
Senior Network Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 May 2017
It is a crown corporation, politics is the priority and work is after. Treat their employees very good but do not expect any excitement on your career
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CBC/Radio-Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 96 reviews
533
434
322
25
12

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.7Culture