Catholic Social Services Employee Reviews

Found 73 reviews matching the search See all 198 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good experience/ Disability Services
CDW (Current Employee) –  Disability Services Edmonton23 June 2019
- management does not address concerns of staff
- if you bring forth wrongdoings they retaliate
- no regard for their clients well being
- unethical practices.
-management/HR does not follow their own policies

I do not recommend them, its very unfortunate that they do not follow the catholic beliefs even.
Pros
Clientel
Cons
Unethical
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A rewarding job for me because I've come to know many people, staff included.
Community Disability Worker (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 April 2019
1. Assisting with the well being of the individuals.
2. Going on outings when time allowed.
3.Medications administered when required.
4.Taking to appointments.
5. Meal preparation and cleanliness.
6. Personal care done.
Pros
Getting to know the clients.
Cons
Some clients move on which can be sad, but also happy for their new beginning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large agency in central Alberta
Residential Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB21 March 2019
A lot of manger support, diverse programs. fitness gym included in building, security and safe, great clients and program support. Believes in a lot of staff training.
Pros
great training
Cons
a lot of senior management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere
Assist individuals (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 March 2019
typical day supporting and insuring best care and meeting needs of people you support and have fun while doing it great team
developed new skills and gain knowledge everyday from people i support and my team
supportive management
welcoming and inclusive

every job is what you make of it .you have the power to make it enjoyable or hard for yourself
Pros
special events, free lunches
Cons
values
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Child and Youth Care Worker (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 January 2019
Catholic Social Services has a number of things in the programs to help staff's productivity grow. Some programs have the opportunity to access all Edmonton libraries and parks.
Pros
good salary
Cons
nil advancement policy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic and fun place
PROGRAM ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 January 2019
I have never worked for a company that I have felt more like a team than an employee. This has to be the best company to work for. I would recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Environment
Residential Disability Worker (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB14 December 2018
Generally a good place to work. The staff are friendly and management is accessible. Salary could be a little higher, but for a non profit its not that bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Children’s Programs in Red Deer
Child and Youth Worker (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB11 December 2018
The Youth residential homes in Red Deer are simply amazing to work for. I have had an opportunity to work for most of them and although they can be challenging, the program supervisor gets it. The Program supervisor goes above and beyond, demonstrates the skills we all want to have and if we are asked to do something the program supervisor is always prepared to do the work along side you. It’s clear that this has been passed down to the Service Coordinators in the program and addiontally down to the front line staff. Such a great role model and influence, the program supervisor works quietly in the background to ensure that the child and youth care workers are set up for success, and everyone seems to notice. The whole agency should take note of this style of leadership and mimic this is other programs. The Community Disability workers in other areas in the company would benefit from stronger leadership at times, particularly the more challenging homes. The programs are friendly, fast paced and are typically awe inspiring, CSS children’s management supports the front line staff through the tough stuff. I would recommend the Youth homes to any staff working in the field.
Pros
Friendly, supportive, lots of team bonding, training, program events, management
Cons
Training (agency not program) can take awhile to get into
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Css
Health Care Aide (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB8 December 2018
I have never worked for a company that I have felt more like a team then an employee. This has to be the best company to work for. I would recommend it to anyone.
Pros
amazing staff and management
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Student Placement (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 November 2018
I loved the work, I loved the environment, I thought it was extremely beneficial to my career advancement. I was not a n empolyee I was only a student worker.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eagles Club.working with mentally challenged children and adults.
Youth Worker (Former Employee) –  Wetaskiwin, AB2 November 2018
As part of the Eagles Club,we would take clients on outings to CFL football games, hockey games, participate in games and activities at the club such as table tennis, Kareoke nights,bake sales, cooking class,cultural participation.
Pros
Fun clients and great staff/
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Work Environment--Steer clear of the Disability Department of CSS
Community Disability Worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 September 2018
-Toxic work environment
-Threatening and intimidating attitude from team leader and co-workers.
-Absolutely atrocious care given to the individuals within the home.
-Zero accountability for bullying behavior in the team.
-My position was in one group home within the Disability Department of Catholic Social Services.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not enjoy my experience
Child & Youth Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 September 2018
I struggled with the lack of concern for the employees which directly impacted the quality of care for the clients. Though it has been years since my involvement, I am not sure I would return.
Pros
Experience
Cons
Minimal concern for employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Community Development Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Lacombe, AB16 July 2018
Awesome organisation to work for and be affiliated with
staff and residents were easy going.
Work loads were not bad and were always completed in a timely fashion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Infrastructure & Asset Management Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 June 2018
Work/Life balance was good. Given 10 sick days and 2 wellness days each year. Never had a problem getting time off.The immediate management didn't micro manage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Outreach Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB29 May 2018
Catholic Social Services is a very family orientated company allowing for great work place and home balance. The salary and benefits are a great perk aswell.
Pros
Balance
Cons
Working weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
care giver
Home Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 May 2018
not working at the moment.learned how to help others from different cultures.help people to understand me and they me. I like to help others better there condition.
Pros
working with people with developmental disability
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but enjoyable work experience
Disability Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 May 2018
I have been working in disability services for 10 years, the hardest part of my job is working night-shifts. I enjoyed caring for the individuals that I cared for, sometimes they are hard to work with others are easier.
Pros
i enjoy our teamwork
Cons
no raise
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Respite Worker (Current Employee) –  Wetaskiwin, AB20 February 2018
Decent place to work. I work when I am needed by clients and their families. Management is good. It's a really great experience if you enjoy helping disabled clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a good job,
Disability Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB16 January 2018
We help get the individual up and ready for there day. Make sure they have their meds and make meal planning's. We also have to clean up there house and make sure they are bathed
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Catholic Social Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 198 reviews
585
450
338
28
117

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Catholic Social Services Reviews by Location