Cascades Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accountant
Accountant (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON22 June 2018
Stay away from 17th century company. Accounting system is horible. There are more than 20 systems and funny thing is they don’t talk each other. It is a manual company that’s why there are too many, most of the incompetent, staff.
Too many problem due inefficient system.
Pros
Stay away
Cons
No work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working here consisted of...
Pre-sorter (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 May 2018
A workday would consist of punching in and going to your station to be disciplined aggressively on either who is coming or that we aren't doing enough followed by breaks and a lunch (latter part not in that order).
I learnt here how to sort recyclables from trash while the conveyor belt is moving at ten miles per hour.
Management seemed to have a 'God-Complex' and they viewed the employees as expendable. They loved to remind us of this.
Obviously, the workplace culture wasn't a utopia for me. I found it to be rather one-sided.
The hardest part of this job was having to go through this mental anguish especially when it became directed.
The most enjoyable part of this job was making it a memory.
Pros
They paid.
Cons
Bullying
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Maintenance Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON31 March 2018
I have progressive expertise in emergency repairing, preventive and corrective maintenance, hydraulic and pneumatic systems installation, automation of production systems, consulting with internal cross-functional units for definition and design of product requirements.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Décourageant
Production (Former Employee) –  Drummondville, QC18 March 2018
J'ai fais les 2 compagnies a drummond... Chez multi-pro ma première journée un employé m'a plaqué pour ensuite me reproché d'être sur son passage... Chez inopak c des horaires de 12 heures, le personnel administratif est incompétent, la job est ennuyeuse, le responsable des ressources humaines est arrogant et j'aurais pu mettre 2 🌟 s'il avait un bon salaire mais non!!
Pros
Engage beaucoup d'handicapé... Dans les bureaux
Cons
Chaleur et poussières suffocantes
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Un grande entreprise avec des belles valeurs!
Coordonnateur des communications (Current Employee) –  Saint-Bruno-de-Montarville, QC6 March 2018
C'est agréable de travailler pour Cascades parce que les gestionnaires savent reconnaître le talent et encourager la performance tout en restant humains!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company good benefits
Roofing Labourer (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC11 February 2018
Would love to go back to work with this company
But the job was too far for me to travel unfortunately so I had to find other employment closer to home at the time
Pros
Good benefits good hours good boss
Cons
Too far to travel daily
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
FORKLIFT OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON11 February 2018
goog place to work the company is caring and receptive to immediate resolutions to promote a work safe environment to give employees a feeling of dependency upon ones career
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it`s ok if you get the right crew
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON8 January 2018
Cascades is a great place to work if you can handle working in all weather elements and sorting through the pile of plastics,cardboard and garbage. i would definitely return there to work again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement productif et agreable
Opérateur de machine (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 January 2018
j ai passé un peu prés un mois chez cascade comme opérateur de machine,l entreprise est très bien organisé que se soit au niveau de la production ou bien la gestion,
Pros
la sst est bien appliqué
Cons
la retation des shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for.
Backtender (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON14 December 2017
I've worked my entire career at Cascades paper mill in Mississauga, wages, benefits and job security are well above average.
The company also has profit sharing and a share purchase program.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement agréable
Informaticien niveau (Former Employee) –  St.-Bruno-de-Montarville, QC18 August 2017
les gens sont sympathique et agréable
bon environnement de travail
Pros
bonne relation
Cons
la distance
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked here as a temp
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Cobourg, ON29 March 2017
Enjoyed working here. Worked through a temp agency and this was one of my jobs. Enjoyed the work hours and the people that work there were friendly. Overall great place to work
Pros
great people
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employees
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON7 February 2017
Good employees good shifts good pay good vacation
Lots of places for furthering career in management or in production. Lots of training for employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entreprise demandant beaucoup et donnant peu
Service à la clientèle (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC9 November 2016
Cascades est en grand changement.
Le but étant évidemment de faire plus d'argent.
Les employés en ont tous beaucoup, beaucoup trop à faire. Les changements sont fait au détriment des employés et de la logique de préserver les clients. Manque de personnel, manque de respect envers les employés donc les employés se désengagent à la longue et les employeurs ne font rien pour améliorer la situation et répètent les mêmes erreurs au fil des ans. En bout de ligne, les clients payent pour, on se demande pourquoi ils restent. Et les employés sont malheureux à cause de l'ambiance malsaine et d'en avoir toujours trop à faire. On est loin des bonnes années avec une gestion plus proche des employés.
Pros
Concept de portes ouvertes...
Cons
salaire et avancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 51No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Converting operations where moved out of Ontario.
Team Leader/Line Operator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 September 2016
Rotating shifts , 12 hours long, Was a noisy environment. co-workers were good to work with. There was some heavy lifting and repetitive work. Management was fair to a point.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Très bonne compagnie
Team Lead, développement organisationnel (Current Employee) –  Kingsey Falls, QC27 January 2016
Très bonne compagnie
Belles valeurs
Encourage le développement des gens
Pros
Respect
Cons
Aucun
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respect
Opérateur de machines (Former Employee) –  NORAMPAC KINGSEY FALLS13 January 2016
Chez cascade une journée de 12hres se passait bien. J ai appris le respect car les contremaitre nous respectaient .Les compagnons de travail étaient respectueux. j était opérateur machine le plus dur c était la programmation . Le plus agréable c était de savoir que les contremaitres et les freres Lemaire respectaient beaucoup les employÉES
Pros
Respect
Cons
Chiffres de 12hres
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Catcher (Former Employee) –  Cobourg, ON9 November 2015
cascades was a fun place but very demanding as well.
i enjoyed working with my co workers they were amazing people.
it got very stressful at times but i always pulled through.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emploi très indépendant
Commis à l'entrée de données (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC3 September 2014
Ca été mon premier travail de bureau. J'ai beaucoup aimer très responsable de mon temps de travail.
Pros
Bonne compagnie
Cons
Aucun
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entreprise papetierière en difficilté
JOURNALIER (Current Employee) –  East Angus, QC28 November 2013
Lorsque j'ai débuté dans l'entreprise CASCADES, les emplois étaient agréables et démontraient une bonne avenir dans cette domaine. Avec les années, les conditions de travail et l'ambiance se sont détériorées. J'aime travailler dans une bonne ambiance de travail et à un endroit qui démontre une certaine valorisation. Alors depuis quelques temps, j'ai la crainte de fermeture de Cascades.
Was this review helpful?Yes 46No 16Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cascades. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 64 reviews
519
419
313
26
17

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture