Caron Transportation Systems
3.3 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

Caron Transportation Systems Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
Canada72 reviews

Ratings by category

2.9Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 72 reviews matching the searchSee all 76 reviews
dispatchdriverequipmenttrucktraininglongyearthing

Fast paced stable job, on your feet all day

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Atmosphere was great, walking in hard steel toed boots kinda sucked but got used to it. Learned how to deal with dangerous chemicals and was muddy transport trailers
Was this review helpful?

Terrible place to work,management lies constantly

Worst company ever,lost twelve years of my life with them,would never recommend the place to anybody lies and cheaters on my pay, constantly,stay away it is a dead end,just be used by them

Pros

None

Cons

To may to list
Was this review helpful?

Insights into Caron Transportation Systems

Based on 10 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Energizing work tasks
  • Sense of belonging
  • Support from manager

I do not recommend this job to anyone

There are a few good things about Caron, like they have their own mechanics and also a washbay. They have assigned trucks and your own parking stall. The pay is fair and for the most part I enjoyed working there. However, every time I had an issue, the manager would show me the door and say, if you don’t like it here then leave. I tried to contact HR But was ignored completely! I found my work/life balance was compromised and dispatch to be arrogant. I STRONGLY do not recommend this company and neither do alot of their drivers, but there not alot who can afford to quit.
Was this review helpful?

Best Company I've worked for

I loved my time as a dispatcher in Medicine Hat. My co worker was really great to work with and for the most part the drivers were great. I would still be working for Caron had they not shut the Medicine Hat Office down.
Was this review helpful?

Busy place with lots of work. Make good money if you like working

Good place to work if you like working. Equipment is well kept, management is friendly. Expect a lot of online orientation’s (50+) and in house training.

Pros

Steady work Good pay

Cons

Don’t expect to be home often. Asked to work days off often.
Was this review helpful?

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

pas mieux qu'ailleurs

pas mieux qu'ailleurs, conditions de travail correcte la gestionnaire était gentille et bienveillante

Pros

pas grand chose

Cons

pas vraiment de pauses ni d'heure de repas
Was this review helpful?

Good place to work, good environment

Worked there as an apprentice mechanic, good group of mechanics knowledgeable, some can be hard to deal with but that’s how she goes. Management is good if you need time off, welders are nice guys too. Expect lots of tanker type trailer work, as 75% of the fleet is chemical based.

Pros

Good management, smart group of guys

Cons

rotating days and nights
Was this review helpful?

Consistent work, limited growth

Consistent work but limited opportunities for growth. Supervisor is fair and honest offering opportunities to cross train just not many opportunities to climb. Low turn over means there is only opportunity if someone leaves.
Was this review helpful?

A very professional organization

A very professional organization Good people to work with. Dispatch does its best to give good work/life balance. Equipment is regularly replaced and well maintained

Pros

Good training

Cons

Hours can be long
Was this review helpful?

The revolving door of Caron

Welcome to the company that promises everything but once you are here they deliver nothing. You will be promised a dedicated unit but you’ll end up slip seating while others drive your unit. Your paycheque will always be short and you won’t get paid for extra hours outside of your run, which is on a load rate not hourly. You will get every second weekend off but when you finish your load late Friday night and have to start shift at 4am on Monday it doesn’t leave much of a free weekend. There is a reason why they are constantly hiring and have the lowest driver moral I’ve ever seen. The revolving door of Caron seems to be spinning quicker this year as so many long time drivers are leaving and the new drivers only stay a short time it’s perplexing why they haven’t changed their ways or management, but don’t fall victim to them and look elsewhere for employment.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Caron Transportation Systems

26 May 2021
Thank you for your feedback.We do appreciate you taking the time to provide a review on our company.We would like to opportunity to discuss your concerns further and understand how we can improve the experience for our current and future drivers.Please reach out to us directly at 587-414-2854 or at hrc@carontransport.ca.With thanks,Human Resources

Good place to work

Good dispatch and management. Well maintained equipment and well trained drivers and support staff. No pay issues and all necessary work related job training was always up to date. Scheduled days off were adhered to and you usually knew well in advance were your next load was going. Superior wash facilities that paid you for washing your own truck so no need for running dirty equipment. All in all was great place to work.

Pros

Great perks like matching RSP and healt benefits

Cons

Some favouritism
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Caron Transportation Systems

5 April 2021
Thank you for sharing your review and motivating us! We strive to be an employer of choice in the industry and provide a safe and fun work environment! We appreciate your dedicated services with us.With thanks,Human Resources

One of the top companies to work for!

Equipment is well maintained with regular PM service. Scheduling time off is easy. Dedicated routes and tractors make planning easy enough. All safety gear provided by the company.

Pros

RRSP Matching
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Caron Transportation Systems

8 January 2021
Thank you for sharing your review and motivating us! We strive to be an employer of choice in the industry and provide a safe and fun work environment! We appreciate your dedicated services with us.With thanks,Human Resources

Great to work but need to pay employees better

Working at the company is great most of the workers are great people and work hours not too bad. But the salary is too cheap for the level of work done by the various departments groups. Form the drives all the way down to the Washbay technicians they could be paid much better.

Pros

Work culture is great

Cons

Cheap salary
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Caron Transportation Systems

8 January 2021
We do appreciate the constructive feedback so we can improve the Caron experience for future employees. Your review is extremely valued! Thank you for sharing, we appreciate your dedicated services with us.With thanks,Human Resources

Enjoyed my time there

I worked in a management position up till early 2019. Caron was a very organized and efficient employer and treated their employees with respect. I met some really good people at the company and some of them I still deal with in my current role as being my customers. The dispatch team was incredible and could say the best in that role I have ever worked with. The Human Resources team were also very talented and put a lot of time and energy into helping employees engage in the company and make felt part of a team.

Pros

Teamwork

Cons

Training
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Caron Transportation Systems

8 January 2021
Thank you for sharing your review and motivating us! We appreciate your dedicated services with us and wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.With thanks,Human Resources

They were a GREAT Company... Can't say that any more...

2015\16 Something happened at Caron... I think they opened up to the USA market and hired new HR people... and since then MOST DRIVERS and other employees can say it has gone bad.Personally:They gave everyone a 3% cost of living raise... Then took it back months later.They laid off approx 1/3 of the drivers ( I volunteered with the understanding I was going to be hired back when it picked back up again). HR decided no...Good drivers are being let go for silly problems while others are having accidents and other problems get to stay on...

Pros

Newer trucks, lots of work

Cons

special treatment, pay structure going south, work safety is almost just a suggestion
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Caron Transportation Systems

5 April 2021
Thank you for your feedback.We do appreciate you taking the time to provide a review on our company.We would like to opportunity to discuss your concerns further and understand how we can improve the experience for our current and future drivers.Please reach out to us directly at 587-414-2854 or at hrc@carontransport.ca.With thanks,Human Resources

Great place to work

I personally loved working at Caron . The people were amazing and management was great and on the ball with issues. Trucks were fixed when needed . The only problem that I didn’t like was they run automatics . They do have some standards but not many . Disbatch at the time was my issue . But they were later moved out of the position . Other then that I would say a great place and would love to go back. As a female driver I generally get treated fairly bad at my work places but I didn’t have really any issues that didn’t get resolved by the manager
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Caron Transportation Systems

14 October 2020
We strive to be an employer of choice in the industry and provide a safe and fun work environment! Thank you for sharing your review and motivating us! We appreciate your dedicated services with us and wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.With thanks,Human Resources

It’s a job

It’s a job .. just be prepared to have no life . Not going to be home not a job for someone that wants a life a family or a relationship. There is complete disorganized. Site information is incorrect most times . Pay works out to same or lower than general freight risks are higher for the product you carry could kill you and it’s always moving in the tanks . Very basic just get by safety gear if want any good safety gear must buy it yourself good safety wear you m
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Caron Transportation Systems

14 October 2020
Thank you for your feedback.We do appreciate you taking the time to provide a review on our company.We would like to opportunity to discuss your concerns further and understand how we can improve the experience for our current and future drivers.Please reach out to us directly at 587-414-2854 or at hrc@carontransport.ca.With thanks,Human Resources

Un bonne entreprise

Sara a ne de meilleur compagnie que j’ai travaillé et si ma situations familiales étais adéquate j y retournerais mais avec une résidence près du terminal
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Caron Transportation Systems

14 July 2020
Thank you for sharing your review and motivating us! We strive to be an employer of choice in the industry and provide a safe and fun work environment! We appreciate your dedicated services with us.With thanks,Human Resources

Good place to work.

Very good place to work. Frendly staff, good equipment, steady runs. I was working about three months before economic going down. Hope it's gonna be great again.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Caron Transportation Systems

14 July 2020
Thank you for sharing your review and motivating us! We strive to be an employer of choice in the industry and provide a safe and fun work environment! We appreciate your dedicated services with us.With thanks,Human Resources

Not for everyone

reasonably fair dispatch. Company is entering a new training program with consistency. Company has technology that is capable of much more than they are using it for. Basically, only for electronic logging. All in all, they have treated me well, and I look forward to rejoining them after the work increases.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Caron Transportation Systems

14 July 2020
We do appreciate the constructive feedback so we can improve the Caron experience for future employees.Your review is extremely valued! Looking forward to having you re-join the team.With thanks,Human Resources

Great

Was a great company to work for. I really enjoyed my time there and could ask for a better dispatch. Knew a day ahead of time what you were doing before you were empty
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Caron Transportation Systems

13 April 2020
Thank you for sharing your review with us! We strive to be an employer of choice in the industry and provide a safe and fun work environment! We appreciate your years of service and best of luck in your future endeavors.Sincerely,Human Resources

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Caron Transportation Systems. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 76 reviews

Ratings by category

2.9 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.1 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.0 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.0 out of 5 stars for Management
3.1 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare Caron Transportation Systems with

  • Companies
  • Caron Transportation Systems
  • Employee reviews