Caron Transportation Systems
3.3 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Caron Transportation Systems Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Found 62 reviews matching the search
See all 65 reviews
Featured review
Caron Transportation Systems selected this as a representative review
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Was a great company to work for. I really enjoyed my time there and could ask for a better dispatch. Knew a day ahead of time what you were doing before you were empty
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Caron Transportation Systems
13 April 2020
Thank you for sharing your review with us! We strive to be an employer of choice in the industry and provide a safe and fun work environment! We appreciate your years of service and best of luck in your future endeavors.Sincerely,Human Resources
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Equipment is well maintained with regular PM service. Scheduling time off is easy. Dedicated routes and tractors make planning easy enough. All safety gear provided by the company.
Pros
RRSP Matching
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Caron Transportation Systems
8 January 2021
Thank you for sharing your review and motivating us! We strive to be an employer of choice in the industry and provide a safe and fun work environment! We appreciate your dedicated services with us.With thanks,Human Resources
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Working at the company is great most of the workers are great people and work hours not too bad. But the salary is too cheap for the level of work done by the various departments groups. Form the drives all the way down to the Washbay technicians they could be paid much better.
Pros
Work culture is great
Cons
Cheap salary
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Caron Transportation Systems
8 January 2021
We do appreciate the constructive feedback so we can improve the Caron experience for future employees. Your review is extremely valued! Thank you for sharing, we appreciate your dedicated services with us.With thanks,Human Resources
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I worked in a management position up till early 2019. Caron was a very organized and efficient employer and treated their employees with respect. I met some really good people at the company and some of them I still deal with in my current role as being my customers. The dispatch team was incredible and could say the best in that role I have ever worked with. The Human Resources team were also very talented and put a lot of time and energy into helping employees engage in the company and make felt part of a team.
Pros
Teamwork
Cons
Training
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Caron Transportation Systems
8 January 2021
Thank you for sharing your review and motivating us! We appreciate your dedicated services with us and wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.With thanks,Human Resources
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
2015\16 Something happened at Caron... I think they opened up to the USA market and hired new HR people... and since then MOST DRIVERS and other employees can say it has gone bad.Personally:They gave everyone a 3% cost of living raise... Then took it back months later.They laid off approx 1/3 of the drivers ( I volunteered with the understanding I was going to be hired back when it picked back up again). HR decided no...Good drivers are being let go for silly problems while others are having accidents and other problems get to stay on...
Pros
Newer trucks, lots of work
Cons
special treatment, pay structure going south, work safety is almost just a suggestion
Was this review helpful?
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I personally loved working at Caron . The people were amazing and management was great and on the ball with issues. Trucks were fixed when needed . The only problem that I didn’t like was they run automatics . They do have some standards but not many . Disbatch at the time was my issue . But they were later moved out of the position . Other then that I would say a great place and would love to go back. As a female driver I generally get treated fairly bad at my work places but I didn’t have really any issues that didn’t get resolved by the manager
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Caron Transportation Systems
14 October 2020
We strive to be an employer of choice in the industry and provide a safe and fun work environment! Thank you for sharing your review and motivating us! We appreciate your dedicated services with us and wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.With thanks,Human Resources
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
It’s a job .. just be prepared to have no life . Not going to be home not a job for someone that wants a life a family or a relationship. There is complete disorganized. Site information is incorrect most times . Pay works out to same or lower than general freight risks are higher for the product you carry could kill you and it’s always moving in the tanks . Very basic just get by safety gear if want any good safety gear must buy it yourself good safety wear you m
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Caron Transportation Systems
14 October 2020
Thank you for your feedback.We do appreciate you taking the time to provide a review on our company.We would like to opportunity to discuss your concerns further and understand how we can improve the experience for our current and future drivers.Please reach out to us directly at 587-414-2854 or at hrc@carontransport.ca.With thanks,Human Resources
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Sara a ne de meilleur compagnie que j’ai travaillé et si ma situations familiales étais adéquate j y retournerais mais avec une résidence près du terminal
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Caron Transportation Systems
14 July 2020
Thank you for sharing your review and motivating us! We strive to be an employer of choice in the industry and provide a safe and fun work environment! We appreciate your dedicated services with us.With thanks,Human Resources
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Very good place to work. Frendly staff, good equipment, steady runs. I was working about three months before economic going down. Hope it's gonna be great again.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Caron Transportation Systems
14 July 2020
Thank you for sharing your review and motivating us! We strive to be an employer of choice in the industry and provide a safe and fun work environment! We appreciate your dedicated services with us.With thanks,Human Resources
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
reasonably fair dispatch. Company is entering a new training program with consistency. Company has technology that is capable of much more than they are using it for. Basically, only for electronic logging. All in all, they have treated me well, and I look forward to rejoining them after the work increases.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Caron Transportation Systems
14 July 2020
We do appreciate the constructive feedback so we can improve the Caron experience for future employees.Your review is extremely valued! Looking forward to having you re-join the team.With thanks,Human Resources
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Worked at this company 2 times only to be let down in financial failure. The manager(s) stated that I would make $85,000 to $120,000 a year but they failed to meet at least the minimum they claimed I would make. Long story short, I was ready for work each time and when work was done I did it on-time, safely and reliable never turning down any loads. The company needs to stop claiming they start drivers at $85,000 a year because in reality you would be lucky if you made just over $50,000 for your hard work
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Caron Transportation Systems
13 April 2020
Thank you for your feedback.We do appreciate you taking the time to provide a review on our company.We would like to opportunity to discuss your concerns further and understand how we can improve the experience for our current and future drivers.Please reach out to us directly at 587-414-2854 or at hrc@carontransport.ca.With thanks,Human Resources
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The HR department makes you all these promises of a good wage, a good life work balance, and to many other promises to get you onboard. Once you are onboard all those promises get tossed to the curb or the trash can. The trainers they have training you when you get hired are the worst people to train people. According to senior drivers at the terminal the head trainer is the person who has had the most spills. He has had 3 spills since I have been with the company. There is no open door policy like they claim. All issues stop at the terminal manager and you get told and I will quote here, "If you don't like how things are run here then you are free to leave". That is a direct quote, from the assistant manager and the terminal manager, when I complained that my truck kept breaking down and not getting fixed properly. STAY AWAY FROM CARON UNLESS YOU LIKE DISAPPOINTMENT I am just staying till I can find another job.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Caron Transportation Systems
3 April 2020
Thank you “Driver – Sherwood Park” for your feedback.We do appreciate you taking the time to provide a review on our company.We would like to opportunity to discuss your concerns further and understand how we can improve the experience for our current and future drivers.Please reach out to us directly at 587-414-2854 or at hrc@carontransport.ca.With thanks,Human Resources
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Nothing wrong with the company other than slow chance for advancement. The atmosphere in the office was friendly but if you want to move forward in time, this is not the place for you.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Caron Transportation Systems
4 March 2020
Thank you for sharing this update! We appreciate your dedicated services with us and wish you the best in the future!With thanks,Human Resources
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Nice place to visit wouldn't want to live there.Certainly not as advertised your not going to make nearly what they say you will.Going to have to fight to get stuff fixed the usual BS.Work like a dog.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Caron Transportation Systems
11 February 2020
We do appreciate the constructive feedback so we can improve the Caron experience for future employees.Your review is extremely valued!Thank you again for sharing your review with us. Feel free to reach out to hrc@carontransport.ca so we can address your additional concerns.With thanks,Human Resources
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
A really enjoyable place to work. Good atmosphere. I enjoy working here and the days go by quickly. Good benefits and RRSP program. I would recommend this company to anyone applying.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Caron Transportation Systems
3 February 2020
Thank you for sharing this update and motivating us! We appreciate your dedicated services with us.With thanks,Human Resources
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
They stated I would earn $85,000 to $125,000 a year but only earned $56,000 a year the two times I was hired and quit because they didn't provide what they claimed for wages.
Pros
Nice trucks
Cons
Poorly paid
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Caron Transportation Systems
31 January 2020
Thank you for sharing this! We do appreciate the constructive feedback so we can improve the Caron experience for future employees.Your review is extremely valued!With thanks,Human Resources
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Unfortunately my last review was removed after it was cleared and posted. Hopefully it's not company practice to do that. Us drivers are made promises that are never kept from day one. You expect honesty and transparency at a company. 1. Pay won't be as promised. 2. HR are inexperienced and deceitful 3. Safety conditions are overlooked 4. Work is inconsistent 5. Stay Clear
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Caron Transportation Systems
31 January 2020
We do appreciate the constructive feedback so we can improve the Caron experience for future employees.Your review is extremely valued!Thank you again for sharing your review with us. Feel free to reach out to hrc@carontransport.ca so we can address your additional concerns.With thanks,Human Resources
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The work isnt all that hard but they need to earn better contracts. The sales team sucked at lining up solid work. The work I was hired for was becuase a different party starved a mine out more than once. Caron transport thought they had the work locked in and lost the contract within a month of getting it back tonthe company that provided worse service to the costumer.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Caron Transportation Systems
16 January 2020
Thank you for sharing this! We do appreciate the constructive feedback so we can improve the Caron experience for future employees.Your review is extremely valued!Thank you again for sharing your review with us. We strive to be an employer of choice in the industry.With thanks,Human Resources
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
This is one of those companies that you plan on retiring from. They changed over the years, now they are losing senior drivers and employees and no one feels valued. On the other hand they have more people in Human Resources then any company I have ever worked for!...
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Caron Transportation Systems
13 January 2020
Thank you for sharing this! We do appreciate the constructive feedback so we can improve the Caron experience for future employees.Your review is extremely valued!Thank you again for sharing your review with us. We strive to be an employer of choice in the industry.With thanks,Human Resources
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Management an personel were all very helpful an took the time to train me properly an had the patience to make sure I understood everything before they left me alone
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Caron Transportation Systems
13 January 2020
Thank you for sharing this update and motivating us! We appreciate your dedicated services with us and wish you the best in the future!With thanks,Human Resources
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Dangerous equipment. No brakes, lights. Trucks kept stalling. Dangerous with loaded super bs. Interlock doesn't work. Live in the back of the truck. No shower facilities. My last truck caught on fire. 47 below and frost bite hands and head.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Caron Transportation Systems
13 January 2020
We appreciate the constructive feedback so we can improve the Caron experience for future employees.Your review is extremely valued!Thank you again for sharing your review with us. Sincerely,Human Resources