Carmacks Enterprises Employee Reviews

Showing all 28 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good pay for short contracts
Equipment Foreman (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 January 2018
the company is based on health and safety since it deals with oil sands but the job period could end in an-predicted time the stability is a problem the job could be tuff but you get what you work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Flag girl (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 January 2018
The management teams were always good with letting us know when and where site was and how long we were expected to be there. They always had water/food for the employees on site
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning opportunity
Lead Hand Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Yorkton, SK10 January 2018
Great guys to work with, I had never built a bridge before and ended up getting a really good friend of mine to teach me. I have a goal to do most if not all forms of carpentry and they made that happen in a small part.
Pros
They stand by their word
Cons
Had to work in Saskatchewan
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Foreman/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Nisku, AB11 December 2017
start at 5 and 6 am daily finishing your day usually between 7 and 9 pm.har5dest part of the job is being in the summer heat for extended hours.the most enjoyable part of the job is working with the men and women at carmacks we really have a family based crew or crews
Pros
great company to work for your not just a number at carmacks
Cons
long hours few days off all summer then getting laid off in fall even if your a foreman
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work environment
Concrete Foreman/Lead Hand/Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 November 2017
Just need to be respected and they will normally do the same, but they have zero patience when it comes to someone questioning their integrity as a company
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teams
HIGHWAY MAINTENANCE LABOURER / SNOW PLOW OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 October 2017
very good teams, excellent management not afraid to get their hands dirty and their feet wet. Busy nights maintaining highways in and around Calgary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
goal oriented
truckdriver (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB6 October 2017
Best work crew in my career as truckdriver. Supervisor was terrific. Everyone knew their jobs, no delays in starting the days work. Recognized for a job well done.
Pros
look after their employees, lots of overtime
Cons
absolutely none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working there
General Construction Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 January 2017
For me it was all about the people, I enjoyed working with the people there. Some days where more busy then others but I don't have anything negative to say. It was always a pleasure to work with these guys, and the days would just burn away because your always busy. I miss these guys, wish I could go back.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worker
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 November 2016
overall a good company to work for, although they do tend to slave drive meaning they do not give you appropriate time off when wanted, The main superintendent wants everyone to work 7 days a week, 24 hours a day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not recomended
Machine operator - plow truck & loaders (Former Employee) –  Revelstoke, BC24 June 2016
great pay but they never wanted to bring people on full time or give benefits equipment poorly maintained, and even when laid off they expected you to be on call
Pros
great scenery alot of work winter
Cons
stressful on road, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good place but due to down sizing people have started to back stab so they dont get fired but others do
Equipment Operator/Labourer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 June 2016
used to be good, people in general where good, good pay and benefits, 7 day on 7 days off 12 hour days schedule switching from days to nights. due to the economy some people have started to back stab others to keep there job and have others fired due to company downsizing
Pros
decent pay and benefits, outdoors, some times super easy
Cons
some of the people, some days super hard work, stressful on the road
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company
Traffic Accommodation Designer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 May 2016
This company is well run and staffed by a great bunch of people. I enjoyed my time there. There is a wide variety of occupations.
Pros
Birthday cake once a month
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stable job, great coworkers, fun environment.
Operator/Labourer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 May 2016
Going into work you never know what your day with consist of, some days may be harder then others.

Working as a sub contractor for the provincial government gives employees a comfortable feeling know that they have good job Securement.

Management may favour employees who are hard workers and strive to move up in the company vs people who aren't/don't.

Great work life balance as you technically work 6 months out of year and have 6 months off. (Depending on your position; area of work. Not all employees are on the schedule but most are.)

Very friendly employees, great foremans and open door policy to the front off.

Great benefits with Merit Contractors Association, Rrsp match dollar for dollar up to a certain amount.

This company has there negatives just like any other company, but all in all is a very good company to work for, especially if you are starting out in the industry.
Pros
Friendly coworkers, great foremans, 7 on 7 off in town work, decent pay.
Cons
Lack of sleep when working due to long hours, zero overtime, management may tell you what you want to hear.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, working enviornment, where one can work on there own.............
Flagger & piloting driver (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 March 2016
Working for Carmacks, is benificial, for each and every employee.... One knows there job and every morning, just goes ahead and does the job, or at times does other jobs.... The other employees are all nice to get along with....
Pros
If one likes, lots of overtime, this is so perfect..............
Cons
Actually, I have know dislike about Carmacks............
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting wage but long 12 hour days
a labourer in various aspects of road construction (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 March 2016
learned many aspects of plow work and sidewalk sweeping, the hardest part of the job is long hours and very menial tasks.
Pros
week off at a time, free lunch sometimes, high pay
Cons
long hours, minimal sleep on weeks on
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job cecurity
traffic technician (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 March 2016
Typical day is: not knowing what is happening" lead hand" will not tell us. Company don't like to have a woman to do a man's job, chances to show knowledge and experience are shot short, ideas are not excepted. Co-workers are like family :some are really good. Hardest part of the job is that we have rotations 12 hour for 7 days,7 off and 12 hours for 7 nights. After 60 hours on the job I am so tired that I am more prone to make mistakes. I look forward to work on the same jobs we prepared previous shifts and knowing what to do next without asking questions.
Pros
Some times we have a chance to work over time.
Cons
"Hino" work trucks and having poor saspentions and they are hard on workers backs
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well organized company that care for every worker.
Traffic Technition (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 March 2016
Every day was different working for Valley Traffic Systems: from job placement ,co-workers , crew and public to weather changing and length of work. Challenging and fun. I learned to be : better team player, teacher, leader, ready for anything life throws at me. Management was very personable and caring. Co-workers :over 300 people were all different and I did get along whit allot of them we helped each other and acted as family. Hardest days or nights in the job was the long hours in the summer 14-16 per day for months at the time. I loved the challenges and how nice is to feel needed to train new people and turn them into good and safe on the road workers knowing that they all have families to go home to at the end of the day.
Pros
I was able to take home my work truck.
Cons
Winters we are hard to work outside.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB12 February 2016
Long hours of work and the pay was great
traveled across alberta and sask
safety is taken very seriously
worked with helpful and encouraging supervisors
Pros
bonus at xmas
Cons
work away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work if you can put up with babysitting
Concrete Finisher (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 November 2015
carmacks is a good place to work but has poor structure and very little leadership it seems like the more you do the worse you are treated. you cant be fired by a forman all you have to do is call the superintendent and you have your job back. if you try to show leadership and inishitive more is expected of you and if you refuse to keep pushing even though every one else slacks off you are looked down apon, good place to work other then that decent wage, you can keep in good shape. but make sure you get promises in writeing
Pros
good hours ride to work decent wage
Cons
long hours, lots of driving if you pass drug test and class 5
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very long hours
Heavy Equipment Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 September 2015
Was working very long hours and could not get a pay raise in the years that I was there. There was no balance of life and work as I was left on call for the entire time I was there. Sometimes working 18hrs a day.
Pros
none
Cons
Very long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Carmacks Enterprises. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 28 reviews
511
413
33
21
10

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.9Culture

Carmacks Enterprises Reviews by Location